We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money hotel”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #508 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value for money hotel”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked to stay at The President as part of a city break we decided upon at short notice. We've stayed here before and found it to be an ideally situated hotel giving good value for money.

We booked with two days notice and asked for a twin room overlooking a quieter part of the hotel, the rooms overlooking the front of the hotel and main road are noisier. We got exactly what we wanted, a room overlooking Queens Square was much quieter.

This hotel is always busy and is popular with foreign tourists. It is located a two minute walk from Russell Square tube station which is three stops from Leicester Square. The hotel is a five minute walk from the British Museum. All in all, very close to Central London attractions.

The Atrium bar is very spacious and comfortable for an evening drink, this is also where there are some shops for guests such as a newsagents etc.

Very well priced hotel, especially if all you need is somewhere to base yourself during a visit to London. Have stayed here before on several occasions and would do so again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room not overlooking front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JockMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    1,327
    1,128
    354
    194
See reviews for
629
1,501
258
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

this is our second stay in this hotel, really pleasent, nice staff, nice comfy bed (always a must).
breakfast is always busy but that comes with being in a big hotel i suppose.
really nice shower as well, some places dont have such nice ones, (like the water being to slow) but ours was quite powerful..
not far from certain theatres & also covent garden as well, just a little walk if you dont mind walking!
we've already booked for a nother stay in a few weeks time....cant wait!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at The President in May. It is an excellent location close to everything. Compliments particularly to night staff - Philip Kennedy, Mariolo (not sure of spelling) and others whose names escape me. They were so accommodating- nothing was too much trouble. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was my third stay st the President. My room this time - as before - was very comfortable, the towels were new and the key replaced by the card system - I almost missed the long stick!
Always a safe, secure and comfortable place for me to stay in London. Concierge and staff pleasant, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryGrace2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Staff - helpful
Beds- springy and uncomfortable
Location - good
Rooms- old fashioned
Breakfast - cold stale toast but cereal was edible
Wifi- only available in lobby with poor connection
Towels- weak, worn and seen better days
Leaving the key at reception became annoying
Desperately in need of a revamp

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nothing fancy about this place but if you want a good value hotel that's convenient to the subway and is in nice neighbourhood then this is your place. Lots of restaurants nearby and very close to The British Museum. A breakfast is included each day and although the food isn't fantastic there's lots of variety. Nice little pub to come back to after a long day of sight seeing. We've stayed here several times and are always quite happy with it.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the park and the main roads. Its much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We used this hotel without knowing anything about it.Shabby, sadly lacking in visitor comforts.Small things such as towels (thin and poor quality) no provision of toiletries only a basic soap) even the type of toilet paper ( thin and Narrow) Black boot marks three feet up the wall in the bedroom. I could go on. I know that this week-end was busy (German football final in the city) but I hate to think what our German visitor guests thought.

Room Tip: Look else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#562 of 1,067 in London
1,987 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#345 of 1,067 in London
2,062 reviews
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#239 of 1,067 in London
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London, England
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing