We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old hotel but reasonable prices”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #506 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed in President hotel in early March 2013 for a few days, this hotel is really old, the keys are old styled with a long metal stick attached to it (so you wont accidentally take it out of the hotel) but it still annoying.
The beds were awful, too soft and I felt like I'm sucked in the middle of the bed each time I came from a long day of walking around town, didn't had much good sleep on it and my beck ached in the morning.
At breakfast is dull and boring, they split the dining room between people that bought the continental breakfast and and "Premium" breakfast, the first one contains serials, bread, juice and coffee, while the premium contains all that with few extra lousy stuff like eggs and sausages.
Staff was nice and friendly and gave a good service, and off course the location was great, but for an overall experience it was a bit poor and I wont be going back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,800 - 1,806 of 3,659 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've stayed here (luckily) only one night. The lobby looks quite nice, but don't get fooled. The overall feeling of this hotel is quite poor.

The bad
I got a room on floor 7. If you get it as well, ask for another floor (they're hopefully at least a bit better). Although it has a separate lift, which only goes to this floor, it takes ages.

The hallway is quite depressing (looks like in the Shining movie, but 10 times smaller), the floor is wooden (covered with carpet), so you can hear all the noises. Walls are paper-thin, so it's the same. I could basically hear all my neighbours.

My room was really tiny, however it was equipped quite well (no shampoo or shower gel, only a bar soap). The most fascinating thing was the bathroom sink. It had separate taps for cold and hot water.

The breakfast was terrible. They called it continental, which meant you could choose between bread with jam and awful cereals.

The good
Staff was really nice and helpful. I had no problems overall. Despite the overall feeling of the hotel the room was clean (although heavily used).

The location is perfect, as the tube is just across the street and Oxford Street is like 10 minutes of walk away.

Overall
For the price (95 pounds / night) I could imagine a better stay. If you're desperate or just don't care about where you'll stay and you want this location, then you might like it (sort of ok value for money). But I know one thing - I'm not going back there.

Room Tip: Don't take the seventh floor. I suppose the rooms on the lower floors are better. You might as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pavolmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just back from weekend in London stayed in President Hotel this our 2 visit to hotel room good value for money and towels changed daily.The staff were very helpful ,the porters helped us plan travel round London as my husband is disabled and uses wheelchair . The location is excellent the Russell Square tube is less than five minutes , buses run directly from Russell Square and you can walk to Covant Garden etc

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Two nights in this budget hotel ,the staff on reception were very helpfully also the porters they will spend time giving directions and helpfully tips .The rooms small and clean with everything you need for a city stay .The location is great handy for all transport The breakfast was not for me ,but is it is there if you want it The bar area is a nice area for chilling out after a busy day ,I would stay there again without hesitation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently spent a week in London staying at The President Hotel, Russell Square and it represented very good value for money, the location is excellent, Russell Square tube is less than five minutes , buses run directly from Russell Square and are every few minutes and a walk from the hotel into Covent Garden took around 20 minutes. The rooms were clean and comfortable although the walls are quite thin, on our first night we had a three course complimentary carvery meal which was very nice. The hotel allows you to use the facilities of its sister hotel The Imperial and we made very good use of the Night and Day Bar which is open every night until 1am and was one of the few places to get a good pint of John Smiths, they also have an extensive menu with every meal under £10 and the service is excellent and the food served in generous portions from friendly staff. My only complaint about The President Hotel is the breakfast was very poor mass catering on a help yourself basis but the food was always cold and not very good at all, some days there wasn't even fresh orange juice just orange squash and no continental breakfast is offered, that said the location is very central and it offers good value for money and I would gladly stay here again but go elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel has a nice atmosphere; it somehow manages to have the feel of a much smaller hotel. Our twin room was at the front of the hotel and a good size. The beds were very comfortable and although a little dated the room was very pleasant.
The breakfast is continental and cooked, with a good selection, the tea, however had the consistency of treacle and tasted awful. But if this is the only complaint that's not bad going!
The hotel is ideally situated for the tube and there are lots of bars and restaurants nearby.
I've stayed at the President's sister hotel the National several times but have to say I much preferred the President.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pre-RapheliteGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Find it hard to know where to start with this hotel - the room was quite clean - not immaculate but o.k. No frills like shampoo or hair dryer (obtainable from housekeeper £10 deposit). The staff had taken lessons in being surly and rude - so bad, you had to laugh. The breakfast was quite probably the worst we had ever had, cold, greasy, everything just hanging around (even when we got in very early) The whole place was sad and shabby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#560 of 1,078 in London
2,093 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#572 of 1,078 in London
2,693 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#880 of 1,078 in London
8,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#392 of 1,078 in London
2,181 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#472 of 1,078 in London
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: $105 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London, England
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing