We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good weekend”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #514 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good weekend”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for second time 28 October until 30 October theatre break staff very pleasant breakfast really good would certainly stay there again tea and coffee facilities and if you need more which we did we were given it no problem tv in room but not there to watch it so much to see and do the hotel is being refurbished

Room Tip: We were on second floor and had no problem plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    1,311
    1,120
    352
    193
See reviews for
622
1,487
255
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our base for a family weekend in London.
It is only a short walk from Euston station and a slightly longer walk (about 20 mins) into theatre land.
The hotel is clean, tidy and friendly if a little dated in places (they are updating at the moment)
The buffet breakfast was getting a little busy as we left the dining room but when we went for breakfast at 08:00 it was quiet, the food was hot, tasty and not too much was put out at any one time so it wasn't drying out.
The staff smiled and were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clotguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights having booked via Thomas Cook who was offering a hotel & rail package, I probably wouldn't have booked this hotel if I'd not been getting a deal. First of all this hotel looks really strange, like it's from another time, perhaps the 70's? it's really ugly from the outside and inside doesn't get much better. The room was an ok size, nothing special at all, average budget accommodation in a big city, rooms could definitely do with updating deco and furniture wise but not as much as the facade and public areas, the hallways reminded me so much of The shining. The service was good, staff friendly and we requested and extra pillow and received 2 just minutes later, the pillows were like lumps of lead but I'll not dwell on that. breakfast was a joke, huge dining hall packed with people, no queues being formed for the buffet just people darting in and out grabbing food, it was like feeding time at the zoo, the food was dire, just gross, i wouldn't give it to a dog. The location of the hotel was excellent, just a 2 minute walk from Russell Square tube station, probably the only good reason to stay here. It's ok if you're on a budget, i'd say it would suit young travellers, students etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanGirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I booked this hotel for myself only so required a single room, It turned out to be good value for money, Firstly it is very central - just off Russell Square and about 10 minutes walk from Euston Station. My room was on the 7th floor and was well equipped and clean and had a TV and coffee and tea facilities etc. Although there was a queue for breakfast it only took about 5 minutes to get in the diningroom and I did share a table which was fine as I was on my own and there was plenty of food, There were two bars - the larger one wasn't open on the Friday night but it was on the Saturday and there are numerous bars in the vicinity. For a hotel in such a central position in London it represented good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatB558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

my 2 sisters and my niece and myself, were in london september 2012. we stayed at this hotel. one stop on tube from kings x station. near a lot of restaurants shops and bars.the staff are very helpfull and friendly, the breakfast is buffet style, so as much as you want and great choice. room cleaned every day.room was quite small but adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERSEYSIDE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for Two days on a B&B basis and we booked the hotel from the Imperial Hotel website and we did the deal with staying two Nights we got the Three Course evening Meal included in the price once you check into the hotel we got given a voucher type of thing to use in the restaurant for the evening and you can use at any other hotel that is stated on the list.

I have added a couple of pics to my review so you can see room and its facilities. Now with reading reviews on this hotel me and my partner were suprised at the Hotel it was really nice. We was a bit confused at the postcode saying that the hotel is in the District of Camden but it isnt really it is opposite Russel Square Gardens its main Entrance is on the side street. The Hotel Reception was really nice and clean and was well impressed with the cleanliness of the reception area and the staff were really polite and we checked in with no problems at all. We did find it funny with the key to the room I have added the picture of the key it was quite big and we decided to call it the pointy thing. We was given a room on the 5th Floor and used the lift all was okay in the lift very clean once we left the lift all the hallways was clean and bright we did notice a couple of rooms with the Do Not Disturb on them and the cleaners had left a couple of fresh towels outside of the rooms.

When we got to the room when we opened the door to the room was very nice and clean and aired nicely. There was everything you needed including two small packets of coffee, tea bag and spoon with little pots of milk, Kettle and even a trouser press. The bathroom was really nice and clean and even fresh towels in the bathroom. The room had a double bed and I checked the bed and sheets and all was clean the only thing that I would say is that for the television it is a bit outdated and you do not really get that many Channels you do get freeview but not many. There was plenty of Storage with a wardrobe and units at the side of the bed a drawer set and other things in the room. The view from the window was lovely of Russel Square and with it being on the main road yes it can get very busy with Taxis, Buses and everything else and they love beeping there horns till all hours but that was understandable with the room being on the front opposite Russel Square Gardens. The one thing I would say to you is watch the windows they are easy to open and can be difficult to close and with them being outdated they can be easily blown in the wind so that they are fully open.

On the first evening we did go to the restaruant for the Three Course Evening Meal and there was a couple of people in and we was given a table straight away they do give you a menu but the staff I may say do not really give you time to read what the Three Courses was, you do get a starter served to you at your table and found that it was really nice myself and partner agreed, The second course you did have to go to the counter to be served the meal but the chef did want to pile your plate up we found that the Pork and Lamb was really cooked well and not dry at all we had the veg that also was fine. For the sweet one of the waiters brings a Dessert Trolley to your table and you can have what ever you like. We did not get offered the Coffee but I dont think that either of us could have managed the coffee because we was full up with the meal.

We will say that you do not get the Free Wifi in the rooms that is the only downfall but you do get a full signal of the Wifi in the reception area.

We went for breakfast on the First Morning and yep it was a bit chaotic because the waiters seem to let people that are on there own a single person to sit down at a four person table which is a real shame because they made us share with a single person we did not mind so much because we knew that the restaraunt was very busy. You serve yourself for breakfast you can have Hot and Cold Cereal and Juice, Tea and Coffee and we did get the Full Breakfast we did not have to pay though there was a sign on the counter where they served breakfast which I thought was unusal on the two days we thought that everything was fine though the waiters do seem to want to rush you for the tables for other people that may be waiting. The breakfast was fine for us all hot and nothing cold at all.

The Second Evening we had a meal out and was actually touring the Tourist Sights for the most of the day and when we went back to the hotel to change and that the cleaners had been in and changed the sheets and towels and we did see the cleaners in the hallway and they were always very poilte to us on each time we saw them.

This is a lovely Hotel really in a great position for a nice walk to the Russel Square Gardens Opposite and we would say that the British Musuem is actually quite near to the Hotel within about 10 mins walk. We enjoyed the hotel and would highly recommend and we would go back to the hotel and maybe try a room at the back to see how they are.

Room Tip: I would say the Rooms at the Back of the Hotel that Face Russel Square Gardens are very noisy with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Week St Mary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just got home from a 2 night stay in London. This hotel is a nightmare. It is so out of date, the rooms are tiny, the bar is pathetic and on the first morning we queued for breakfast with hundreds of others - it was reminiscent of a first world war army canteen. The food was terrible. On the second morning we bought breakfast out despite having paid for it in the hotel.
It was full of visitors from overseas - what a picture of Britain these people must leave with! Never again - it's a disgrace.

Room Tip: A tip for choosing a good room - stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#591 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#83 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London, England
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing