We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills, free wifi, great location, good for a short term break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
President Hotel
Ranked #521 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No frills, free wifi, great location, good for a short term break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

The main reason I´ve picked it was its location. It takes you only 15 mins on foot to reach Leicester square. Upon arrival the impressions were not so good; dated rooms and not so large in size. But it all got better as the days were passing by. Surely, I´ve been to better hotels in the same category, but way more expencive. The rooms are clean, carpets recently changed, free wifi (ask fot the password at the reception), a mere 2 min walk to the tube station. If you do not want to be disturbed by housekeeping personnel, they will give you a call around 1 pm to check if you would still need your room to be cleaned. By default, the breakfast is continental, very basic and somewhat dull, but sufficient to start the morning. Best of all - windows can open, which doesn´t seem to be the case with many hotels in London. All in all, if I would find the same price of 80 eur for a double room incl. breakfast, I would pick it up again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pero305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    1,253
    1,096
    345
    191
See reviews for
596
1,440
243
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Seven of us stayed in 3 rooms for 4 nights in late March. We are seasoned travelers who enjoy good hotels, but after a week's tour in Ireland we were looking to save money. We were able to check-in upon arrival at 12pm. The rooms were clean and the beds fine. The shower was the strongest I'd ever had! The breakfast buffet was equal to the fine hotels we stayed at in Ireland. Our room had always been cleaned when we returned from breakfast. The staff was very friendly. I imagine it might be hot in summer (no AC), but we were very comfortable. Good value for a great price (Keep in mind it's a budget hotel, not luxury - 3 bath towels per double, soap, no other toiletries).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike20260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the President for seven nights. It's not a luxury hotel, but it was adequate. The staff was helpful. The room was clean, although it could use some redecorating. We found a great deal through British Air, and continental breakfast was included. For an extra 4.50 pounds each, we could buy the hot English Breakfast. No complaints about either. The location is about a block from the Russell Square tube station.
One thing: there were only bath towels provided in the bathroom, and just bars of soap. No facecloths, hand towels, and no shampoos and such. If you like a facecloth, be sure to bring one.
We had a room in the front of the hotel, and it was noisy up until about midnight. We were so tired from sightseeing that it didn't matter to us.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilltowngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, bed and breakfast, hotel rooms are small but really clean, the maid who cleaned our room changed the sheets the whole time we were there.
Evening meal was a carvery which was excellent, also the breakfast in the morning was a self service buffet which was great. the hotel is also a street away from the tube, which myself and my husband got on through the stay of our break it only cost 13 pounds for both to ride the tube all day,.
Would regommend this hotel to any one on a short break to london really comfy hotel and the staff are really frendly.......

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOKE ON TRENT
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

This is my 2nd visit in as mant weeks the first was bad (see last review) but the doors are still slaming and this time children were allowed to play football and ball games as well as running up and down banging into your door while you are trying to sleep on the 6th floor. If you want a good nights sleep do not stay here. (Try its partner hotel the Bedford its alot better) one thing check in was very good

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHIL-N-D-JIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

I was a little worried about staying at this hotel after reading some of the negative reviews. I am pleased to say that I was pleasantley suprised. The check in was efficient and friendly and the room was clean with a fairly comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were also in the room although I would say bring extra tea or coffee as you only get 2 tea bags and 2 coffee sachets. Bathroom not big but clean with shower over the bath, plenty of hot water and 4 bath towels which were changed daily, there is also a hairdryer. The corridors are carpeted which helps keep down any noise when people walk past your room, I am a light sleeper but did not get woken up at all. If you put your do not disturb sign on your door the maid does not wake you up as mentioned in earlier reviews.English Breakfast Buffet if included in the price is okay. We went down at about 8am and it was not very busy at that time. The usual items of sausage, bacon, eggs fried and scrambled, tomatoes, beans, toast and some sort of fish are available. Also cereal and porridge. The location of the hotel is the winner for me just around the corner from Russell Square tube station and not far from Brunswick shopping centre which has a cinema shops and a selection of nice restaurants such as Strada, GBK, Nando's and Carluccio's.
I found this hotel to be clean friendly and yes a little old fashioned (I quite like that) but for the price and location it would be hard to beat. I would stay again when visiting London.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cassa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Stayed here for a two night break, and having read some of the reviews, walked in with some trepidation. Yes it needs a lick of paint, and I have thicker hankies than thepillows, but for a great location hotel for the cost it is great!! The staff are very friendly - especially the guy I think is the head porter/security officer, and if you need anything just ask. Breakfast can be a little busy, but come on this is not a small place, the room is always being checked and the tables are clean and tidy.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwade58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#93 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#667 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#244 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: 56-60 Guilford Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #521 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — President Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel London, England
Hotel London President
Hotel President London
President London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing