We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time and money”
Review of The London Dungeon

The London Dungeon
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$33.91*
and up
London Dungeon Entrance Ticket
More Info
$68.90*
and up
London Dungeon and Thames River Sightseeing Cruise
More Info
$97.50*
and up
London Attraction Pass Including St Paul's Cathedral, The View from The Shard...
Ranked #32 of 385 Fun & Games in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The London Dungeon, one of the UK’s most iconic attractions, has reinvented itself now as a bigger, bolder and better attraction in the vast underground vaults of County Hall on the South Bank, next to the EDF Energy London Eye. The all new multi-million pound attraction will bring 1000 years of authentic London history to life with a unique mix of talented live actors performing in scarily funny shows, stunning special effects, edge of your seat surprises and two exciting thrill rides. Guests will embark on a journey through a dramatic London landscape going back ten centuries. They will be guided through ghastly plague-ridden streets, witness Guy Fawkes’ dramatic plot to blow up Parliament, travel back to Jack the Ripper’s bleak Whitechapel and walk beneath London’s foreboding medieval gates. There are new shows and rides which are more dramatic and surprising than ever, new funnier scripts, more theatrical costumes and styling and more talented actors to play even more colourful villains and blaggards.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We pre-purchased our tickets online to reduce the queuing time, but when we arrived to the attraction, on a regular school day, the queue was still unbelievably long and we were told, by extremely unkind staff members, that we would have to wait outside, in freezing 1 degree windy conditions, for another 2 hours before we go in. Despite the wasted money we decided to skip this thing altogether. What a shame.

2  Thank ogol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonDungeon1975, Manager at The London Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We’re sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience. Since we opened, 1 month ago, we have been very popular. In this ‘newly opened’ period - there is a longer queue time for our guests. You did the right thing booking on-line in advance: though we do advise that there will still some level of queue to enter the attraction. This is because we cap the number of people coming in to keep it safe and comfortable.

As the second biggest operator of visitor attractions in the world, guest satisfaction is really important to us. We’d like to speak to you privately about your experience: please can you e-mail us on LDGuestExperience@merlinentertainments.biz

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,131 - 7,135 of 8,573 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We came rather late and have been told to stay in other queue – queue for tickets. Queue was pretty long and people coming in in groups, so 15 minutes you have to stay in the same spot and after that you make progress of few meters. But, we've been told to expect queues at all attractions, so we were patient.
Only thing that has been bothering us was that we couldn't see any place to buy the tickets and we were afraid that somebody will be ask us to step out of the queue at very end. But don't worry; you're buying tickets just in front of entrance!
Totally, we were waiting less than hour and show was absolutely worth of that! Live actors, numerous great effects (whole group was lost for few minutes in a labyrinth with mirrors), train through history of London and fall of few meters we really exciting! Our two boys (15) absolutely enjoyed every minute of visit and daughter (17) was pretty mad on them to made her go, but on the end she was also very satisfied!!
All in all we had great time in there!!

3  Thank SanjaR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

At £25 per person this attraction is SO overpriced! I would have been hugely disappointed had I paid to get in at this price. We traded in our tesco points for London dungeon vouchers and with these I would recommend a visit! The queue is always long and once inside it is a fun experience but just a shame that they insist on such a high entrance price! It is a good laugh and I am glad I went but I would not have gone without free vouchers!!!

2  Thank beentheredonethat802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had heard good things about the dungeons and expected great things from the new location after looking at the website. We arrived just after 10.30 on a Thursday and there were considerable queues but we were led to believe by the staff that this was because they were not yet open (11.00 on Thurs) However it was 40 minutes before were invited inside, to wait in another queue for half an hour, before being led into a dark corridor to wait for another half hour, once we finally purchased our tickets we were not really in the mood for some mediocre acting, the rides were working, but none of it really ticked the boxes for my teenage children. I used Tescos vouchers of which I am exteremely grateful - I would have felt really seen off if I had paid the full price. Only wish I had looked at trip advisor before we went!

3  Thank Frampton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonDungeon1975, Manager at The London Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed. Since we opened, 1 month ago, we have been very popular. In this ‘newly opened’ period - there is a longer queue time for our guests. We are working to improve this at the moment with:

• additional staff to support and talk to guests about waiting time and tickets
• improved information (signage) outside the attraction
• created a new way of queuing to get into the attraction
• introduced extra entertainment for guests in the queue (Black Jester, Dungeon Keeper)
• provide complimentary treats for guests on particularly busy days

Overall, we're confident that this is a must-see London attraction. We know from customer feedback that people love to have a laugh in the Dungeon - and this is a combination of both scares and fun.

As the second biggest operator of visitor attractions in the world, guest satisfaction is really important to us. We’d like to speak to you privately about your experience: please e-mail us on LDGuestExperience@merlinentertainments.biz

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had came to London to show my friend who had come from abroad to see the London Dungeon, we were really looking forward to the attraction. We arrived at about 2:30 and joined the queue, we stayed in said queue until 4:00pm by which time we had not even reached the 1/2 way point of the queue. We during our time in the queue witnessed lots of people queue jumping through poorly managed queues, 2 fire evacuations took place - obviously not prepared for the new venue, at 4pm we were told it would be another hour before we would go in. So we left for the London bridge experience. Was not an experience I would recommend for visitors.

Thank gyunyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonDungeon1975, Manager at The London Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed. Since we opened, 1 month ago, we have been very popular. In this ‘newly opened’ period - there is a longer queue time for our guests. We are working to improve this at the moment with:

• additional staff to support and talk to guests about waiting time and tickets
• improved information (signage) outside the attraction
• created a new way of queuing to get into the attraction
• introduced extra entertainment for guests in the queue (Black Jester, Dungeon Keeper)
• provide complimentary treats for guests on particularly busy days

Guest satisfaction is really important to us – we appreciate your feedback. We’d like to speak to you privately about your experience: please can you e-mail us on LDGuestExperience@merlinentertainments.biz

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The London Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing