We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How relaxing :-)”
Review of Vinopolis - CLOSED

Vinopolis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Vinopolis, a wine tasting experience tucked away within beautiful Victorian railway arches, a stone's throw from Borough Market... With eight tasting and education zones and more than 100 wines, spirits and Champagne to taste, you are sure to find something you love at Vinopolis. Do you like crisp and dry wines or prefer more powerful and robust flavours? Chat to our experts and find out more about your own individual taste profile on our interactive machines, sampling at your leisure! Before or after the wine experience, feel free to stop by one of our five onsite bars and restaurants for a bite to eat, or visit Laithwaite's wine shop and the Whisky Exchange to pick up a bottle of your favourite find. Did you know? Vinopolis also has eight fantastic event spaces that can be hired for corporate or private use.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“How relaxing :-)”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Vinopolis was recommended by a good friend so I took a friend for her birthday. Goodness it exceeded our expectation and such good value. For just £30 each we enjoyed a two course Sunday lunch, which was beautifully presented by a helpful and cheerful waiter. Good portion size and perfectly cooked. Presented with a drink when we arrived, we just had tap water with our meal then after eating we joined the next tour where we received another glass of wine and an interesting talk on how to drink it. Then left to wander through the different rooms, filled with interesting wines and facts ( people are on hand to answer any questions). Included in our £30 was 7 tokens to spend on different wines. We chose wines that were one token each. By our 3rd or 4th we took a seat and chatted for some time. There's plenty of seating and several water stations. The ticket said allow 3 hours, we were somewhat longer! It was as relaxing as sitting in a country manor, hard to believe that outside the door was the hustle and bustle of a very busy part of London. I will definitely go again, for a treat or even just for a lovely Sunday meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Vinopolis, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback, we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to both the Wine Experience and Cantina with our Vinopolis Sunday package. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    192
    97
    101
    121
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“If you like wine, it's a good way to spend a couple of hours.”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We enjoyed the fact that you can wander around, back and forth between wines, information boards, do as you wish in moreorless your own time.
Pity that they only have a champagne selection - which IMHO is highly overrated, i would have preferred a prosecco or some info on how the new worlds are doing the sparkling wines.
Great area to stop for Tapas during the tastings.
And as wine being one of my interests, i thought that the selection and Laithwaites shop was too heavily laden with French wine - the wine world has moved.
Found a great chocolate infused fortified wine called Rubis - delicious!

But the whole experience was enjoyable, recommended and would definitely spend another 3 hours when in London with friends with an interest in Wine o'clock.
(I don't understand some neg comments about the amount of wine dispensed, it is a tasting. If you like the wine - use more credits and dispense a larger volume, if you don't like it - chuck it away and move on and not much wasted. Besides, if you had a half glass for every tasting - you wouldn't remember much!!)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank andyove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Vinopolis, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Wine Experience and appreciate your comments regarding the champagne selection. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WHAT A SHAME”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went a few years ago and loved vinopolis.A real adventure into wine with enthusiastic staff has been replaced with a soulless,expensive experience.The selection of wines was extremely disappointing with numerous sections withdrawn to increase profits.Go to local bar and buy yourself some nice wine.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SEANC480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Vinopolis, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, we do apologise that you did not enjoy your visit to us. All of our staff are trained at a minimum industry standard of WSET level two and are selected for the role based on their passion for wine, with many having worked in vineyards across the world previously. We do have over 100 wines and spirits to choose from with retail values ranging from £8-£100+, we are sorry to hear that you didn't like this selection and will bear your comments in mind for future development. I do hope that you will one day consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive, Impersonal and Lifeless”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We visited Vinopolis again since the refurbishment and were hugely disappointed.

Vinopolis used to be a vibrant place with real people that could impart knowledge about each individual wine, it's now an empty vault with a few vending machines dispensing a small amount of wine which, for the cost of each mouthful, is a very expensive way to drink. The Cocktail Lounge, beer selection and rum selection have been taken away and not replaced, which is a pity as they were a very pleasant way to round off a good evening. It's a shame that all this has been done in pursuit of 'modernisation' and increasing profits at the expense of the customer.

Thanks
Lady P

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyPM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Vinopolis, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent trip to us. We take all feedback into account and have recently launched a selection of new weekly events in relation to your above comments, such as Free Cocktail Friday’s and Craft Beer Flights on Sundays.
I am disappointed to hear that you are not a fan of our Enomatic Machines. They were introduced in order to allow our hosts more freedom and the opportunity to spend more time with you, providing advice and suggestions during your visit. They are located throughout the experience and are always very passionate about wine and sharing their knowledge.
We hope that you consider visiting the Wine Experience again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good way of getting to know wine!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife had been given then tickets as a birthday present. There were many wines from all over the world, giving us the opportunity to try wines we had never heard of let alone tasted. We were given a talk on wines by a French lady, who described the different characteristics of dry and sweet wines. There are places where you can purchase wine and spirits to take home. We were given credit card style vouchers which could be used to dispense the different wines. We enjoyed some breads and cheeses, which we purchased on our way round, they went down well with our wine. It was a worth while experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Vinopolis, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your delightful review, we are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time. Your message will be passed onto our Wine Guides and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinopolis also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing