We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Vinopolis - CLOSED

Vinopolis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Vinopolis, a wine tasting experience tucked away within beautiful Victorian railway arches, a stone's throw from Borough Market... With eight tasting and education zones and more than 100 wines, spirits and Champagne to taste, you are sure to find something you love at Vinopolis. Do you like crisp and dry wines or prefer more powerful and robust flavours? Chat to our experts and find out more about your own individual taste profile on our interactive machines, sampling at your leisure! Before or after the wine experience, feel free to stop by one of our five onsite bars and restaurants for a bite to eat, or visit Laithwaite's wine shop and the Whisky Exchange to pick up a bottle of your favourite find. Did you know? Vinopolis also has eight fantastic event spaces that can be hired for corporate or private use.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I booked Vinopolis as part of my boyfriends birthday treat, I was really excited and expecting to do lots of walking around a vast area full of barrels of wine, I was disappointed the area was small and crowded with the wine being dispensed by machines!!!!

The wine tasting lesson was delivered using white wine, neither of us drink white wine so that was very disappointing. I wasn't impressed with the overall experience really quite disappointed.

And spirits, please a handful of vodka does not equate to spirits, this section is very limited. Overall poor value for money, I won't be visiting again.

Thank JasNovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Team at Vinopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience. We use Enomatic machines because they allow us to store every wine and spirit at the correct temperature for tasting. They also have the added benefit of allowing customers to avoid long queues to taste the wines, as well as ensuring that each guest receives an equal sample size. The Boutique Spirits Lounge houses unique British spirits including Element 29 Vodka (an English vodka that takes pride in its environmentally friendly approach to production), Bloodshot Vodka (a fusion of exotic spices and hot peppers), Whitley Neill Gin (an exceptional dry gin combined with a variety of flavoursome botanicals with African influence) and four different La Fée Absinthes (the brand that repealed the absinthe ban in France). A wine guide is available in the Spirits Lounge to give demonstrations on how to drink absinthe correctly. We're disappointed to hear that you feel this section was limited and will be sure to take your comments in mind as we continuously strive to the give the best possible experience to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 336 of 698 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had Sunday Lunch and I was a bit sceptical that the food would be good and value for money. But what a great surprise the food was very good and great value. The service was a bit hectic but cordially and attentive. The wine tasting was fun trying the different varieties but the Laithwaites shop was a bit hit and miss some of the staff seemed bored and not really caring . Overall go with friends enjoy lunch and drink wine.

Thank neil024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Team at Vinopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we're sorry that you felt Laithwaite's was a bit hit and miss and will be sure to take your comments into account. However we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Vinopolis Sunday package and would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was my partners birthday treat and we were so disappointed. It wasn't cheap £48 on a special offer for 12 tokens each. Shocking value, hated the lack of interaction, hated the vending machine dispensing of the wine. Such small samples and feel very ripped of for the experience we had and how little we had. Really thought there would be areas where you talked to someone, they helped you choose wines and they poured a decent quantity! I would have had a better experience going to our local majestic and spending the money there and enjoying it at home. They said it was a 2 hour experience, we were out in less than 90 minutes and that included a boring talk for 30 mins that could have been done in 15! This place has no personality and definitely not an enjoyable experience!

1  Thank Suze888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Team at Vinopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for submitting your feedback. We're disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit and greatly appreciate your comments. We do ensure that experienced wine guides are located throughout the wine experience to chat to customers and they are normally very happy to offer tasting advice, recommendations and tips, we do apologise that you did not feel this was the case on your visit. We suggest allowing 2 hours for the Classic Experience, however this is a recommended time as the packages are self-guided and we find our visitors like to take anything from 1-4 hours depending on how much time they wish to spend exploring the different wines and spirits on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just visited for the Sunday Lunch package, I was very pleasantly surprised at the standard of food and service, no complaints at all. EXCELLENT! But Having last visited approx., 10 years ago, we had told our friends who had accompanied us all about the fantastic wine tasting experience they were about enjoy, but we were profoundly dissapointed at the new format and will definately not be visiting again.

Thank TGJCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Team at Vinopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for sending us your feedback about the Vinopolis Sunday package. We're very sorry to hear you didn't like the new changes. We take the views of our customers seriously and would be grateful to hear more details about what you did and didn't like in order to help us improve the experience for future visitors, please don't hesitate to email marketing@vinopolis.co.uk with further feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal at Cantina Restaurant and hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our second time to Vinopolis taking friends as a birthday treat but we can't begin to say how disappointed we are with the new format. There are now no members of staff to dispense and talk about the wine but in their place a vending machine format giving a soulless and clinical atmosphere. Wine tasting should be personal and warm and exciting not like this! Come on Vinopolis you can do better than this. One good note is that your Cantina restaurant remains a great place to eat with fantastic staff and wonderful food. Just a shame about the wine experience beforehand.

1  Thank LinnieB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Team at Vinopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to the wine experience. The new format normally allows us to prevent the build up of queues and gives our wine guides more time to engage with customers, we are grateful for your feedback and are looking into why this may not have been the case on your visit. We are very glad that you enjoyed Cantina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinopolis also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing