We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had read the reviews!”
Review of Vinopolis - CLOSED

Vinopolis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Vinopolis, a wine tasting experience tucked away within beautiful Victorian railway arches, a stone's throw from Borough Market... With eight tasting and education zones and more than 100 wines, spirits and Champagne to taste, you are sure to find something you love at Vinopolis. Do you like crisp and dry wines or prefer more powerful and robust flavours? Chat to our experts and find out more about your own individual taste profile on our interactive machines, sampling at your leisure! Before or after the wine experience, feel free to stop by one of our five onsite bars and restaurants for a bite to eat, or visit Laithwaite's wine shop and the Whisky Exchange to pick up a bottle of your favourite find. Did you know? Vinopolis also has eight fantastic event spaces that can be hired for corporate or private use.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was my partners birthday treat and we were so disappointed. It wasn't cheap £48 on a special offer for 12 tokens each. Shocking value, hated the lack of interaction, hated the vending machine dispensing of the wine. Such small samples and feel very ripped of for the experience we had and how little we had. Really thought there would be areas where you talked to someone, they helped you choose wines and they poured a decent quantity! I would have had a better experience going to our local majestic and spending the money there and enjoying it at home. They said it was a 2 hour experience, we were out in less than 90 minutes and that included a boring talk for 30 mins that could have been done in 15! This place has no personality and definitely not an enjoyable experience!

1  Thank Suze888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Team at Vinopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for submitting your feedback. We're disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit and greatly appreciate your comments. We do ensure that experienced wine guides are located throughout the wine experience to chat to customers and they are normally very happy to offer tasting advice, recommendations and tips, we do apologise that you did not feel this was the case on your visit. We suggest allowing 2 hours for the Classic Experience, however this is a recommended time as the packages are self-guided and we find our visitors like to take anything from 1-4 hours depending on how much time they wish to spend exploring the different wines and spirits on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 698 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just visited for the Sunday Lunch package, I was very pleasantly surprised at the standard of food and service, no complaints at all. EXCELLENT! But Having last visited approx., 10 years ago, we had told our friends who had accompanied us all about the fantastic wine tasting experience they were about enjoy, but we were profoundly dissapointed at the new format and will definately not be visiting again.

Thank TGJCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Team at Vinopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for sending us your feedback about the Vinopolis Sunday package. We're very sorry to hear you didn't like the new changes. We take the views of our customers seriously and would be grateful to hear more details about what you did and didn't like in order to help us improve the experience for future visitors, please don't hesitate to email marketing@vinopolis.co.uk with further feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal at Cantina Restaurant and hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our second time to Vinopolis taking friends as a birthday treat but we can't begin to say how disappointed we are with the new format. There are now no members of staff to dispense and talk about the wine but in their place a vending machine format giving a soulless and clinical atmosphere. Wine tasting should be personal and warm and exciting not like this! Come on Vinopolis you can do better than this. One good note is that your Cantina restaurant remains a great place to eat with fantastic staff and wonderful food. Just a shame about the wine experience beforehand.

1  Thank LinnieB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Team at Vinopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to the wine experience. The new format normally allows us to prevent the build up of queues and gives our wine guides more time to engage with customers, we are grateful for your feedback and are looking into why this may not have been the case on your visit. We are very glad that you enjoyed Cantina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Having read some of the negative reviews I was a little sceptical about this visit which was a Christmas present from our daughter last year. Firstly we didn't notice that the voucher has a 6 month expiry date but that didn't cause any problem with the member of staff when I booked the visit.
On arrival we had a drink and snack in the bar beforehand which was good.
The introduction was given by a very knowledgeable member of staff who not only knew his wines but also how to taste them. As we went round the various areas there were plenty of staff available to assist us and recommend wines according to our palate. They also recommended not only which wines to taste but in which order to taste them. Once again they were all very knowledgeable about the wines on offer.
Yes the wines were dispensed from machines but they were kept at ambient temperature and supplied the correct measurement to get a good taste of them.
Our ticket had 16 credits were was ample for the occasion and gave us a good opportunity to try a full range of the wines both at the cheaper end and the more luxury bottles.
We wouldn't class ourselves as wine experts but we know what we like as we drink quite a lot of it!!
Overall a great afternoon out, not overly expensive, which I would fully recommend to anyone.

1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Team at Vinopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Visited Vinopolis for the 2nd time, this time round changes had been made to the way that you sample this experience. I have to say that the changes are not for the better. Rather than staff pouring drinks and being able to converse about the product, cold dispensers are in place and by using a card drinks are poured by a machine. The only information available is what is written on the bottles, and the staff didn't seem very knowledgeable. The wines were enjoyable but it was a pretty soulless all in all it was a bit of a disappointing time. Probably wouldn't return unless the format changed back.

Thank Debjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinopolisLondon, Marketing Team at Vinopolis, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion. The decision to introduce Enomatic machines was made in order to reduce long queues, to ensure that all our guests receive equal measures, and to enable us to maintain our wines and spirits at the optimum temperature for tasting. We require that our wine hosts have a minimum standard of WSET Level 2 and a clear passion for wine and spirits, and are very disappointed to hear that this passion did not come across on your visit. We constantly work to improve and develop the wine experience so your feedback is very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinopolis also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing