We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is 2nd to none”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Ranked #286 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The service in the Mandarin Oriental London is truly one of the best I've ever experienced, from the car pick up by our chauffeur, James, to check in, I was met at the entrance by the front desk officer who whisked me to my room and checked me in from there, no need to wait in the counter. The concierge services were fantastic, from booking tours to dinner reservations, and even getting us a last minute table for afternoon tea at the Wolseley on a very busy weekend.

The rooms were quite small though, and the bathroom amenities though good especially the towel heater, would stand a renovation. The shower itself was problematic, I was happy to see a rainfall shower, but the water splashed all over the bathroom floors, and the hand held shower had problems with temperature control.

Both restaurants were fabulous and worth the hype - Dinner by Heston Bluemnthal and Bar Boulod. Be sure to reserve early as both get full quite early.

All in all, my daughter and I had a pleasant stay and would stay here again on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momtraveller1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Momtraveller1028, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. We were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much and that the team were able to make you feel so welcome whilst here. We were particularly delighted to read the comments regarding our World Famous Mandarin Oriental service, something we are very proud to be recognised for and work hard to deliver every day. James, the Reception team and Concierge team were particularly touched by your kind mention. We have taken the other points you raised into consideration, particularly remarks regarding the showers, and are looking into these. We appreciate such valuable feedback and would therefore like to invite you to contact the hotel directly to speak with the Resident Manager (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg), who would welcome any further comments you have to make on these issues. Furthermore, having recently completed a full refurbishment of all the soft furnishings in every bedroom and suite in the hotel, including en-suite bathrooms, if you are planning a trip to London in the future we very much hope you will consider staying with us again.

Best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Whilst its in an upscale area of London and had excellent restaurants within the premises (2 celebrity chefs branded ones), the rooms are getting a little tired. I concur that some may find it charming but the rooms could do with a face lift. Like the bathroom amenities but the bathroom itself could be a tad more modern. The pressure of the showers were great. When enquiring about places to go or making reservations at other restaurants, the concierge was of no help and appeared too busy to help out a guest if you aren't someone important - not impressed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank detang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Detang, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. Whilst we were delighted to read the positive comments regarding our 2 restaurants (Bar Boulud, London and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal) and our en-suite shower facilities, we were very disappointed to learn that there were few instances during your stay where you weren’t completely satisfied. In particular, remarks about the condition of the room you stayed in and the service quality that you received from our Concierge. We agree that it is totally unacceptable and would like to invite you to contact the hotel directly to speak with the Resident Manager (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg) so that we can investigate these issues further. In addition, having recently completed a full refurbishment of all the soft furnishings in every one of our rooms and suites, we hope to be able to restore your confidence in us and look forward to inviting you back to the Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London some day in the future.

Best regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is so diasppointing, they cannot get the basics right. Staff are not efficient and are "smiley" at the expense of service.
I also have to question the cleanliness and standards of the hotel.
Not a place for the classier customer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 88Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hello 88Col, thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London; your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated. We were extremely disappointed to learn that we weren't able to delight you on this occasion and we recognise that there were a few instances during your visit where we fell short of meeting the high expectations that Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group has become renowned for; expectations that we are very proud to be associated with and work hard to deliver every day. In particular, we were most upset to read comments regarding service quality and efficiency. We would therefore like to invite you to contact the hotel directly to speak with the Resident Manager (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg) so that we can examine the issues you experienced further and ensure corrective measures are put in place to safeguard against this happening again. We hope to be able to restore your confidence in us and look forward to inviting you back to the Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London some day in the future.

Best Regards
The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel and location
The first thing I want to mention is superb location. Hotel stands in the very heart of Knightsbridge (in front of Harvey Nichols and Harrods is five minute walk away) just across from Hyde Park. Mix of the location and impressive architecture of the building fabulous lobby gives you the feeling of something classy and fascinating. The inside decoration is very nice but a bit excessive to my taste.

Rooms
Our room was pretty big and quite as it was overlooking The Park. Given that the bed was comfortable we could sleep well and we were not distracted by the noise from the street. The room was nice, well equipped and very clean but it gave us a feeling that it needed to be freshen up as it looked a bit run-down.

Service
All staff was well trained very polite, friendly and helpful. But that’s what you expect from 5 star hotel right?
On the other hand I was pretty disappointed with size of the gym, thought it should be bigger with more equipment.

Food
The service at breakfasts was good and the food of high quality. Also there was good selection of things to eat. The only thing to notice that at busy times dining room can be full and you`ll have to wait for a few minutes to be seated or just have breakfast a bit earlier.
I really enjoyed hotel bar (Boulud) as it was nicely decorated, drinks were delicious and prices were ok for such prime location and given that it’s a hotel`s bar.

The stay was very pleasant and I definitely enjoyed the hotel but I guess renovations are needed to make it perfect. Also I believe for the price you pay (unless you are on the special offer) you will be able to find other hotels located in this area that would allow you to enjoy your stay at the same level as Mandarin.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing Hyde Park this way you know that it wont be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smityush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to learn that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed our world renowned Mandarin Oriental service so much. With that said, however, we were disappointed to read the remarks regarding the size of our gym and sincerely hope this didn't impact on the quality of your stay in any way. The hotel is scheduled to open a new gym and pool this year and your comments have been taken into due consideration. We would be delighted if you could visit us at some point in the future and let us know your thoughts on our brand new, state-of-the-art fitness facilities. If you wish to provide any further feedback, please feel free to email the hotel via molon-info@mohg.com with your contact details and a convenient time where by our Resident Manager could get in touch. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was at the hotel 3 weeks ago for a business trip and must say that the location is fabulous. You cannot think of a better one in London. The service is excellent and keeps up with the brands name but they need to do something with their condition. Is not that is falling apart or anything but for a hotel of this location, prestige and price they should spend some money. The size of the room is also not the biggest I have seen at such hotels.Food though was great everything I tried was exceptional quality wise and nicely presented.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1981Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hello John, thank you for taking the time to review Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London. Whilst we were delighted to read the positive comments regarding service delivery and the high quality of the food you enjoyed, we were very disappointed to learn that there were few instances during your stay where you weren't completely satisfied. In particular, remarks about the condition of the room you stayed in. We would therefore like to invite you to contact the hotel directly to speak with the Resident Manager (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg) and would welcome any further comments you may have to make. Having recently completed a full refurbishment of all the soft furnishings in every one of our rooms and suites, we hope to be able to restore your confidence in us and look forward to inviting you back to the Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London some day in the future.
With best regards

The Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is on a great location for shopping in Knightsbridge. But then there are many hotels in the area, some only 2-3 minutes walk from the Mandarine for much less and even half the price. The rooms are not that spacious and I never spend a lot of my time in the hotel anyway, so I cannot see any advantages for spending so much more. It is good service but not amazing and it does feel like a huge hotel, impersonal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hello James. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and recognise that there were a few instances during your stay which made you feel less than completely satisfied. We would therefore like to invite you to contact the hotel directly to speak with the Resident Manager (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg) and we would welcome any further comments you may have to make.

Best Regards
Management Team at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Mandarin Oriental at Hyde Park is an elegant hotel with the perfect service that Mandarin guests are used to. I do have to confirm the reviews of other travellers - if you look a little bit closer, the hotel is getting a little bit tired. It is very clean and well maintained but larger expenditures would definitely help. At this price, guests expect nothing less than perfection.
I stayed for three nights on business and booked one of the less expensive rooms facing Knightsbridge. The room (incl. bathroom) was nice, with all five-star luxuries, but rather small (the hotel does quote the square meters on its web). The constant noise from the street could be annoying, especially if you need a good night sleep.
One night I had a dinner at the hotel´s Blumenthal restaurant - the food was good (modern take on traditional British cuisine), service ok but the main issue was the noise (again). The place was very busy and with no furnishings, carpets, etc. to buffer the noise it was almost impossible to hold a business (or any kind of) conversation. I remember this place from maybe three years ago when it was a standard Mandarin Oriental Asian restaurant and to me, it was much more pleasurable.
The downstairs bar was crowded and fun every night, with very nice service.
Overall, this Mandarin is certainly an elegant, great service, five-star hotel but next time I may try another place. Why not?

Room Tip: The Hyde Park rooms are not necessarily nicer but certainly more quiet than the ones on the Knightsb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_HYDEPARK, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Whilst we were thrilled to read your positive comments regarding the service quality from staff throughout the visit, we were extremely disappointed to learn of complaints regarding noise. We agree that this is totally unacceptable and are currently investigating the matter further. We would like to invite you to contact the hotel directly to speak with the Resident Manager (+44 (0)20 7235 2000 or via email at molon-info@mohg) and would welcome any further comments you may have to make. Having recently completed a full refurbishment of all the soft furnishings in every one of our rooms and suites, we feel confident that the issues mentioned above are now resolved and hope that we are able to restore your confidence in us. We look forward to inviting you back to the Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London some day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#200 of 1,081 in London
454 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#14 of 1,081 in London
289 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,081 in London
3,800 reviews
Belgravia
The Berkeley
The Berkeley
#76 of 1,081 in London
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Address: 66 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in London
#90 Business Hotel in London
#97 Family Hotel in London
#137 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $732 - $1,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With bustling Knightsbridge on its doorstep and leafy Hyde Park at its rear, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park is London's most prestigious address. Blending sumptuous guestrooms with a world-leading spa and a stylish bar, it is the definitive destination for a luxury escape. With two award-winning restaurants including Bar Boulud, London and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal, and a new Afternoon Tea salon, The Rosebery Lounge, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park stands at the culinary centre of the capital. On 19 September 2016, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London will be embarking on an exciting restoration designed to significantly enhance the facilities of the hotel. The property will remain open throughout the 18-month renovation, which will be undertaken in two phases in order to minimise disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London Hotel London
Mandarin Oriental London
Mandarin London
London Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Hotel London
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing