We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old money extravaganza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Ranked #202 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Arild
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old money extravaganza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

It hits you immediately as you enter the stairways in the main hall: the smell of old money and the taste of the good life. Starting its career as the Hyde Park hotel this palace is strategically situated opposite Harvey Nichols and overlooking the finest parts of the park in the other direction. I had the privilege of having "a room with a view", also attached to that view was a French balcony. And what a view! In the morning, stretching with open doors in front of the still peaceful park, I swore they must have mixed me up with some kind of foreign dignitary. That is in fact how you feel like at the Mandarin Oriental. Its kitchen is of course top notch, run by no less than molecular gastronomy doyen Heston Blumenthal. This means two things: it is virtually impossible to get a table and the guests are boring. More cheerful, the Mandarin bar is second to none when it comes to serving refreshing cocktails and smaller delicious dishes, often with a touch of Asia. It’s a place to see and to be seen in. The slightly more up-market Bar Bould is French all the way down to the head sommelier. Service is exquisite and discreet. You hardly notice the army of servants that carry out their business as you relax, or as I did, work. Knowing this review is slowly becoming a bit over the top I must end with a remark: Why the lack of Wi-Fi in the public areas? And why charge for Internet access, even in the junior suite I inhabited? Petty-minded, mind you.

Room Tip: Aim for the park view. Book on line and upgrade to junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCallert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    228
    106
    61
    38
See reviews for
198
362
56
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

It is an old building , traditionally furnished rooms, excellent loaction with superb facilities and dining options. Some rooms can look a bit dated and could do with a bit of moderniastion, but the feel of this hotel is traditional combined with excellence. Staff throughout are brilliant and attentive. Excellent bar and two top class resturants. Dinner by Hetson and Bar Boulud. One of the best spas we have been too. Rates do fluctaute so it is all in the timing. Rooms overlook Hyde Park ( quiet) and Knighstbride ( can get noisey during the day as on the main road)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

A luxurious hotel lacking nothing so far as I could see! Fabulous location close to great shops, and having breakfast overlooking the park and watching the horses ride past was just amazing. service as always was exceptional. The bars and restaurants were excellent too, with lovely staff.
A pricey hotel but if you can afford it, go for it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loverofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was lucky enough to have some friends over from the states who stayed here, and invited me to spend a few days with them. It certainly is a luxurious hotel, and we were here just before Christmas. The Decorations were expertly put up, and the hotel looked beautiful. In fact with or without the decorations it's a very pleasing hotel in many ways. It has excellent restaurants, a friendly bar where the range of vodkas is frightening!! - a little on the expensive side, but it's 5* - what the hell. Treat yourself you won't be disappointed. Book early to get a good deal. The Concierge was fantastic, and helped us arrange a guided tour of London by private car - which was awesome. The rooms are a good size (although I believe we were upgraded -so what a normal room is like I don't know) - but the suites are magnificent, very comfortable, and luxurious. Door staff, waitresses, reception staff - everyone involved at this hotel was pleasant - not a miserable face amongst them. It's ideally located for Harrods and all the top shops, and there are several eateries close by - we tried Mr Chows which was excellent and worth the money. Altogether a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Book early and try and get a deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petematthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I visited the London Oriental for New Year's Eve. Everything about this hotel is exceptional. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. The hotel is well located in London and within walking distance of great shopping and many attractions. The hotel atmosphere is a stunning example of a Victorian era London gentleman's club. The concierge set up several opportunities for us to see special sites in London. The room was very nice, and very well appointed. We stayed seven nights and enjoyed the hotel restaurants every night. Dinner is an experience not to be missed - Meat Fruit and ice cream made table side. We entertained guests at Bar Baloud. The staff at both restaurants did everything to make us feel welcome as they did for all guests. I don't know where else you can have breakfast while watching the Horse Guards pass on their way to Buckingham Palace. This couldn't be more London. When I say we recommend the Mandarin, I mean it, and when I say we will return, I mean that also. It is now June and my wife and I are returning this month.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC, Beirut
Level Contributor
165 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

The location is perfect. Great staff. The restaurants are really good especially Boulod. The hotel has what some may refer to as old world charm. We tend to prefer more modern hotels. I felt the rooms could use a renovation. If you can get a room overlooking the park you will love the view.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank baci2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed various nights over a week period with my girlfriend and alone. Rooms need attention, do not get room 910 it's curtains are coming apart and the shower floods (told hotel - no action taken). You want a room on the Hyde park side not on the main street side as its very noisy and plenty of emergency services sirens during the night.

Breakfast was hit and miss, poached eggs were under cooked so sent back. New poached eggs on now cold toast were under cooked again. We reverted to just cereal for the other mornings.

We were on American Express package and it was only on the last stay that they told us of one dinner or lunch in Hestons restaurant was included! I am used to the Asian MO's and for value they are much much better. I would recommend picking another 5 star hotel in London, I won't be back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Circumnavigator222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#58 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Belgravia
The Berkeley
The Berkeley
#69 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#25 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#38 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Property: Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Address: 66 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in London
#90 Business Hotel in London
#137 Romantic Hotel in London
#146 Family Hotel in London
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With bustling Knightsbridge on its doorstep and leafy Hyde Park at its rear, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park is London's most prestigious address. Blending sumptuous guestrooms with a world-leading spa and a stylish bar, it is the definitive destination for a luxury escape. With two award-winning restaurants including Bar Boulud, London and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal, and a new Afternoon Tea salon, The Rosebery Lounge, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park stands at the culinary centre of the capital. On 19 September 2016, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London will be embarking on an exciting restoration designed to significantly enhance the facilities of the hotel. The property will remain open throughout the 18-month renovation, which will be undertaken in two phases in order to minimise disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London Hotel London
Mandarin Oriental London
Mandarin London
London Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Hotel London
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing