We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Return Visitors” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colonnade London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colonnade London
Ranked #266 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return Visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, very good location, mix of business and pleasure. Have stayed before and would recommend. My wife had to wait for a breakfast table one morning but not too long. The room was clean and spacious for London. We will stay again. Great pub next door, and would recommend the 'Red pepper' restaurant round the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear John F,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you've enjoyed your time here and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

On behalf of all of us here at The Colonnade, have a wonderful festive season, and best wishes for 2013.

With kind regards,

Mario Ovsenjak, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    348
    112
    59
    34
See reviews for
137
531
73
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

One of the best hotels in London, ideally located opposite Maida Vale Tube station (Barkerloo Line) and just a short walk to Paddington. Very quite, leafy, and posh neighbourhood. Very traditional type of hotel, very British and lovely large rooms with high ceilings. Best hotel and good value to stay in the Paddington area; and have even already seen some TV celebrities there too.
Very good breakfast!

Room Tip: Choose the Club or superior rooms to get the full four poster bed experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Mitch B,
Thank you very much indeed for staying with us, and for your review via TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our product, service, and general area that we are in - close to Paddington and 12 min tube ride to Oxford Circus. You are certainly right to note that Little Venice, together with Maida Vale and StJohn's Wood are quite exquisite and delightful. I am told that a boat-ride via Regent's Canal or towards Camden Lock is lovely way to enjoy the area. I am keen to try this myself.
Indeed, we are popular with the media and production companies, both British and from over-seas (with confidentiality in mind - there is recording of an interview going on in our lounge as I write this!). Excitment of bright lights, cameras and microphones...

Thank you very much indeed for the time taken to write about The Colonnade. Should you have future needs for accommodation in this area, please contact me directly - I will be delighted to help.

On behalf of all of us here at The Colonnade, have a wonderful festive season and best wishes for 2013.

Mario Ovsenjak, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved this place -- excellent, helpful staff and very comfortable room. It is only a block or so from the Underground and in a quiet neighborhood with shops and restaurants just a few blocks away. Although the hotel is very old, it has been updated with all the modern conveniences and nice furniture. For history buffs, Sigmund Freud stayed there for a while early in his relocation to London from Vienna.

Room Tip: We asked for a deluxe room to avoid getting one of the lower-level rooms that we understood were sub...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cpn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear cpn46,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review via TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

On behalf of all of us here, have a great festive season and all the very best for 2013.

Mario Ovsenjak, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Colonnade is incredibly charming. I look forward each year to returning and going to the Prince Alfred Pub just next door, seeing Minnie the cat, and all of the little touches like personalized cards on arrival and classical music playing when you enter your room to compliment the ambience. I'm glad to see they are making some upgrades as there are a few things that need it aesthetically, but the decor, bed, rooms and overall quality is perfect for me. It's definitely a boutique hotel and doesn't come with frills like a fitness facility or anything, but it's perfect for relaxing and getting away from the hustle and bustle of business travel, and ideal for a couples getaway in London. The neighborhood of Little Venice is a gem and the colonnade is surrounded by three incredible restaurants. Very easy tube access - just across the street!

Room Tip: Go with a club room or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0rdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear j0rdie,

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your experience via The TripAdvisor. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to have you back as a returned visitor, and I hope that we will remain the hotel of choice for your future trips. Whenever you make your next travel plans back to London, please contact my Reservations Manager Yvonne or myself directly - we are happy to help.

Have a great festive season, and best wishes for 2013 on behalf of The Colonnade team,

Mario Ovsenjak, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this charming hotel on Thursday, 1st November, we have family who live nearby and this was a very convenient place to stop over! We were so impressed that we shall most definitely visit again, access is so easy from the Colonnade, the tube just across the road, a quiet leafy place to chill!! The team are obviously very happy in their environment, we didn't meet the Manager but credit to him for employing such a great bunch! Minnie the cat was also most welcoming, she most certainly deserves her title, 'Customer Services Manager', we came home quite late from dinner locally and she was there to welcome us!! Rm 32 was great, the lift not for the faint hearted but we loved it!!! Breakfast was freshly cooked, a big plus! Well done everyone, we shall be in touch soon!! Gaye and Bill

Room Tip: I agree with some of the other reviews, take care to be on a higher floor, pref away from street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaye_mayger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Gaye and Bill,

Thank you so very much for staying with us and for your kind comments. We are particularly proud to be the hotel of choice for our local residents and their friends and families who come to visit. We also host a great number of social gathering for our neighbours as well.

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay, and we all hope to welcome you back soon. When you do, please feel free to contact my colleage Yvonne in reservations, or myself directly - we will be happy to assist.

Thank you again, and have a wonderful festive season.

On behalf of everyone at The Colonnade

Mario Ovsenjak, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our son was on a flying visit from Australia and was staying at The Colonnade, so we booked in too-just for one night and the staff could not have been more helpful. Parking is at a premium in Little Venice but the hotel Manager allowed us to park our car in their very small 'yard' for just £20. Our room (no 36) was beautiful. Very nicely furnished, spacious and comfortable. We were on the third floor and it was quiet and peaceful.
The Colonnade is not cheap but for a treat it's just lovely.

Room Tip: Can only vouch for room 36 which we stayed in and we have no complaints. Our son had room 35, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank posy262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear posy262,
Thank you for your feedback.
It was a pleasure to meet you both, and I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel. Should you have any future travel needs to this area, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, I would be happy to assist.
Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

With best regards,
Mario Ovsenjak - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at The Colonnade in October 2012 for one night and we were hoping for a "tranquil" break as advertised on the hotel's website.

To ensure we had a good room we contacted the hotel a few days prior to our arrival and asked to be allocated in a quiet part of the hotel.

When we arrived we were shown to our room on the ground floor. However, we later found out that we were directly above the bar. Music was played loudly, so we asked reception how long it would go on for. We were told 11pm - this in fact turned out to be 12am.

My husband asked for another room but was told that there were no free rooms available.

The duty manager closed the door downstairs to try and remedy the problem but when the music is coming through the floor there is not much you can do about it.

Our room was at the front of the hotel so we were kept awake by police sirens, countless taxis pulling up outside the hotel (doors slamming) and people making their way back from the bar. There was an outdoor area of the bar..presumably for smokers, outside our window.

So not the best night's sleep I have ever had.

However, the hotel itself is very beautiful. The furnishings suit the hotel very well and it has a very "grand" feel.

The location of the hotel is second to none. Warwick Avenue tube station is just a few minutes walk, if that.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again BUT I would need to confirm that our room preferences had been looked into and that there was not a disco in the bar.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise832007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMColonnade, General Manager at The Colonnade London, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Louise832007,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review viaTripAdvisor. I am dissapointed that your stay was disturbed by the function In our restaurant. We have very few evening functions in our hotel and we usually manage to keep the party atmosphere away from our bedrooms. Clearly - we didnt succeed on this occasion and I appologise for that. Would you be so kind as to give me a call or drop me a line - I would be very keen to try and put this right for you in the future?
My details are 0207 2861052 or marioovsenjak@theetoncollection.co.uk.
Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With best regards
Mario Ovsenjak - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#207 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#231 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Danubius Hotel Regents Park
#318 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Royal Park Hotel
#109 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
London Elizabeth Hotel
#575 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
South Kensington
Cranley Hotel
Cranley Hotel
#455 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonnade London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonnade London

Property: The Colonnade London
Address: 2 Warrington Crescent, London W9 1ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Family Hotel in London
#193 Romantic Hotel in London
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
#210 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colonnade London 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the sweetest smelling flowers in the lobby to the temptingly plumped sofas in the lounge, it's the attention to detail that makes The Colonnade London distinctively different. For each of our guests, there's something that especially appeals. The prospect of stretching out in a bath of bubbles at the end of the day. For business facilities - wifi, dual phone lines. But one thing is for sure: at The Colonnade London we've got the mix just right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Colonnade London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonnade London Hotel London
The Colonnade Hotel London
The Colonnade London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing