We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, small rooms.”
Review of Hotel 41

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel 41
Ranked #1 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Dormans Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service, small rooms.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Couldn't fault the service - they really did a great job of looking after us. The exec lounge where you check in has a nice feel and is intimate and cosy. Nice little spread of food there day and night so you can graze anytime you like. Only criticism is the size of the rooms (specifically in relation to the price) We paid about £440 for an exec room which was as small a room as I've ever stayed in, and smaller than other rooms I've paid £400+ for. The bath was tiny - strictly 1 person at a time, and a small person at that. Anyone over 6'4" wouldn't even be able to stand up straight in the shower, so low is the ceiling. Overall it was a good experience, but if you suffer from claustrophobia or like a bit of space, the rooms might not be for you.

Room Tip: Ask how big it is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DormansParkTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,489
    177
    50
    13
    4
See reviews for
362
1,643
136
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having read all these gushingly enthusiastic reviews, I couldn't help worrying that it might not be possible for our our Valentine's night away to live up to expectations. How wrong can you be?! That a hotel can generate such high expectations and still surpass them says it all! I won't repeat what everyone else has said except to say that the genuine, personal concern of the staff for each and every guest is what makes this such an enjoyable experience. Well done, and roll on the next excuse to stay at Hotel 41!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked this hotel myself for Xmas week and was so overwhelmed by the staff and everything surrounding us....our suite..the lounge..I can't think of anything that was missed. It as such a joy. Like a home away from home. The staff was superb and they made us feel so special that we'd never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel 41 in January of 2013. As it was our first visit to London, we could not have chosen a better place to stay. We arrived early from our flight from the U.S. and they met us so graciously and immediately put us in a temporary room until our room was ready (less than one hour).

The Staff from the receptionist to the concierge, the waiters and waitresses could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Our stay at Hotel 41 was so great! We would highly recommend this Hotel.

Mr and Mrs Scott
Santa Fe, New Mexico

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max60958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

management has this team so focused on customer satisfaction its quite something to witness. you'll read many reviews that expound on it. however, overall interior design is amateurish, reminiscent of a mid-priced Victorian hotel from 20 years ago. frumpy printed carpet in the lobby, heavy Victorian furnishings, and although there are windows you'll never be drawn to look out of them they're buried somewhere under all those window coverings and behind over-sized furniture. flat screen tvs in an armoire ? what year is this? too much furniture in general in the rooms and so many directories you can't work at the desk. i never did see what was outside my small window, it was covered with a sheer-yes i said sheer-, a very heavy Roman shade, AND curtains. i knew there were issues when i stepped in the lower reception lobby and the small desk had cords draped from all ends and the glass shelves behind it had trinket gold jewelry for sale - ish. this isn't 5 star level design or furnishing, in order to merit this ranking they need a pro to bring the 41 up to other London boutiques (see my other review)

Room Tip: find one with a window you can see out of
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImpossiblyPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at Hotel 41, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of 41 on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was delighted to read that you found the customer service provided during your time extraordinary but was sorry to learn that you found the decor and character of 41 not to be to your liking. We receive so many positive comments with regards our unique rich mahoganies blended with black and whites, but I am sorry that this was not the case for you.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by Lauren and her team, many of whom have been with us for some time. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed guest expectations at every encounter is what we pride ourselves on and what makes an experience at 41 as memorable as many others on this site and others have described it to be.

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to post this review of your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to stay in some of the best hotels in London but Hotel 41 is in a class of its own. A wonderful hotel, with delightful staff and many individual touches that really set itself apart from others in the 5 star category. I felt totally relaxed and enjoyed every moment of my stay. There were so many little details that made it so special, the complimentary glass of champagne at check in, the hot water bottle in bed, free icecream and bottles of water and plunder the pantry (a lovely array of snacks available in the lounge all day long)
The lounge is the real hub of the hotel, a beautiful room where you breakfast, have afternoon tea, enjoy evening cocktails and canapes. My husband and I sat by the fire one evening after dinner with a glass of baileys - lovely.
If you are looking for a hotel where you get treated like royalty but where the atmosphere is calm, relaxed and not in the least bit stuffy then 41 is for you.
I am now dropping hints to my husband so that we can return again - very soon !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

So...if this hotel does not meet your expectations...you need to stay home! Every detail is looked after and more. I think the rest of the reviews say it all. Best of the best :-) and make sure to let them do turndown service. Lots of nice surprises there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
1,904 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,067 in London
373 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 41

Property: Hotel 41
Address: 41 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in London
#1 Romantic Hotel in London
#1 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel 41 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel with club like atmosphere & 21st century business technology; near Buckingham Palace & Westend theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
41 Hotel London
Hotel 41 London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing