We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Hotel Experience Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 41

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 41
Ranked #1 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel 41 in late September 2012. We traveled from LA to London to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and booked three nights. The class of service is unlike any other experience I've ever had at a hotel. There are only a few dozen rooms in the hotel, which allows the front desk staff to treat each guest as if they were the only guest there. The staff were friendly, helpful, and would work extremely hard to satisfy whatever need or request my wife and I might have. We felt like we were leaving friends we had spent time vacationing with when it was time to check out. It's located in central London, adjacent to the grounds of Buckingham Palace, a short walk to the Victoria tube station, and walking distance to Parliament, Big Ben, and Westminster Abbey. This is the best keep secret in London, but probably not for long.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an interior only view, be sure and ask for view that faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,278
    166
    50
    13
    3
See reviews for
324
1,507
124
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stay here in late October and early November for a week on the recommendation of our trusted travel agent. We loved the hotel. The location was very convenient yet out of much of the London hub bub. It is very small with all the rooms located on the 5th floor. A very attentive staff always tried to go the extra mile for any requests and always remembered our names and asked after our day. Our package included breakfast in the comfy library/reception area. It was always delicious. Food was available in a small area off to the side most times of the day and night as well as a well stocked honor bar. Our room was extremely well laid out and comfortable, but had no view at all. The bathroom was long and thin with an excellent soaking tub and a stall shower that must have been an architects nightmare to design as it was VERY small, though still quite serviceable. Movies are available from their well stocked video/DVD library though our TV was not compatible with the in room DVD player. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ochw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been staying at 41 for a number of years on business and vacation. I have found the location excellent with easy access to London being right across from Buckingham Palace and just around the corner to Paddington station. The staff here is excellent and always available to assist with resturant recommendations, reservations and I have found that in between meetings I can work in the 41 lounge, they always remember my name even when it is a few months between my visits. If you are looking for a unique 5 star experience with excellent service in a great location Hotel 41 is an excellent choice. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

What else can I say, I have never stayed in such a top class hotel that had such a comfortable atmosphere. The staff are the best staff I have ever had the good fortune to meet, they always remembered our names and were truly interested in what we had been doing on our days out and about. We stayed in The Monarch suite and it was nice that it had a seperate living room so I could get up early watch tv and make a cup of tea without disturbing my husband. There is no resturant but they do have a plunder the pantry were they provide snacks ect that are complimentary. I think they change the food 3 times a day, so it was nice to come in from a shopping trip and have scones with jam and cream. There was always what I would consider a good selection, crisps, cold meats fresh fruit, ice cream and more.I could go on forever it was great

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harcster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent 7 nights here in October '12--small hotel several blocks from Buckingham Palace. All rooms on the 5th floor--no voew but nice rooms. The best thing is the staff-absolutely fantastic. They have large "lounge" tha is decorated like a British men's club--breakfast is served there daily with superb service and cooked to order eggs ets. In the evening (after 8:30) they put out a large buffet of "snacks"--much food. There is a person on duty in the lounge 24/7 for making reservations, answering questions etc. Will stay again should we decide to go bak to London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atheroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have never been one to stay in small, intimate hotels nor relatively obscure branded properties. But, I learned how wrong and misguided I've been during a most special trip to London.

This I the best place, with the most amazing staff, I have ever stayed. There is no close second.

To have a large, modern equipped room in a small, intimate hotel in London is quite atypical. To discover such space accompanied by impeccable service from extraordinarily talented, accommodating and beautiful staff, however, makes it even more special and unique. Hotel 41, with service, quality and comfortable accommodations that surpass expectations, has been so much more than expected that I felt I had to write about it.

Need theater tickets? They'll print them. Need "tube" directions? Expect a map as you leave the front door, without asking. Need to confirm a dining reservation at a local establishment? Merely mention the restaurant's name. Afternoon tea? As beautiful and intimate an affair in a spectacular and private setting as any at the larger hotels. Breakfast? You'll leave full and content.

If you want grand luxury in a casual setting where everyone smiles, keeps matters private and discreet and knows your name, Hotel 41's the place. Part of a small, privately-owned chain I had previously never heard of - Red Carnations Hotel - I may never ever stay anywhere else. This particular hotel is the hotel of the future today.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I am currently lying on my bed in my room here in Hotel 41 and had to write a review. This place is fabulous. Arriving yesterday after a very long week of traveling throughout Europe, I was greeted by a smile and a glass of champagne, then shown to my room which is sizable by European standards and immaculately furnished. The service here could not be any better. Everyone is so nice, whether it be for breakfast, lunch, room service, helping me mail something to relatives elsewhere in England, or providing assistance with a business meeting. This is a very small hotel with only 20 rooms, I believe, so all the staff seem to know me by name even though i haven't seen or talked to all of them previously. The hotel is ideally located, and has a very discrete entrance. After being greeted at the door, one takes the elevator to the 5th floor where the rooms are located, along with the executive lounge where all meals are available, as well as champagne and snacks throughout the day. The honesty bar is a nice touch too - a full bar where up you help yourself and then just jut down your room number and what you took. I will definitely look to come here again. Wonderful experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank wjr06831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#7 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 41

Property: Hotel 41
Address: 41 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in London
#1 Luxury Hotel in London
#1 Family Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel 41 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel with club like atmosphere & 21st century business technology; near Buckingham Palace & Westend theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
41 Hotel London
Hotel 41 London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing