We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bland”
Review of My Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
My Bloomsbury
Ranked #435 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 23, 2007

its ok. Just ok. But god at that price Id want more than ok. Bland central. The staff were fine - but I wouldnt go crazy about it. For this price you can stay at the Milestone hotel - and their staff are good.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank wipeout75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
There are newer reviews for My Bloomsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 999 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2007

the location of MyHotel Bloomsbury is definately good, but comparing the price and quality it should be hovering above oxford circus to be considered reasonably priced.

We stayed at the hotel for a week and overall had no major problems with our stay. the room, a deluxe sized one, was small but decent for London. some setbacks included a squeaky floor, which made loud noices everytime I walked over certain parts of it. the room door had quite a gap underneath it and was poorly sealed, making even small sounds form the hallway hearable inside the room - probably the other way around too. service was ok but not special in any way, breakfast was good. considering the location, it would be a good deal for half the price.

recently I stayed at Radisson Sussex, which is located a block or so from selfridges - actually a better location in my opinion. price was almost half of this one, and considering the fact that hotels share even a rather similar style, I very much prefered the Radisson.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DrBeuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2006

One of the worst hotels I have ever had the misfortune to stay in.

First of all, my partner and I were allocated a room with a single bed...thats correct, a single bed in a four star hotel in Central London. Naturally we pointed out their error and we were then given a double room, overlooking the street. The room was absolutely tiny, when one of us was getting ready to go out, the other had to lay on the bed, as both if us couldn't stand up at the same time!

The worst thing however was the window. The one window in the room which was at head height when you were sitting on the bed (the only place to sit) had approx 3 inches of pigeon crap on the sill, which had endless cigarette ends sticking out of it...it looked like somekind of dirty protesters birthday cake! Vile

Service not good, bar staff outside on street chatting whilst waiting for a drink.

Avoid if possible.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank InAllTheRightPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

Oh dear. This qualifies for my duff hotel of the year so far and I have stayed at dozens of places this year.

Things I liked: Plenty of wardrobe space (between the eaves); Bulbous drinking glasses in the bathroom; The bathrobes; Cleanliness was fine.

Things I did not like: Hard and uncomfortable seats that are meant to be used with the desks- mine looked as if it had been found in a skip (I did report it to reception but got no sympathy); Claustrophobic attic rooms Extortionate price (£220); Lack of mobility in phone (have to hit my head to answer it); Not being offered a non smoking room;
Not being able to see the TV from the bed; Solvent smelling towels; Awful desk to work at with slidey glass top
Noise from street (ok its London, forgiven); Paying for the internet with this room price! A bit worn feel about it (bathroom edging missing, holes in some tiles where old hardware had been?)
Fuzzy TV

So the price and this particular grotty room made this a disaster that I will not be repeating. Beware!.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ziry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JAAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#283 of 1,073 in London
1,099 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,073 in London
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#540 of 1,073 in London
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Bloomsbury

Address: 11-13 Bayley Street, London WC1B 3HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Romantic Hotel in London
#294 Luxury Hotel in London
#321 Family Hotel in London
#336 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $150 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — My Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Classic in the Heart of the Action With its history of literature, philosophy and the arts, Bloomsbury is the central London sanctuary that inspires creative thought. My Bloomsbury is designed to do the same. Serene contemporary design guestrooms, comfortable hot desks and fine gastronomy give you a personal hub that is welcoming, laid back and easy. And with Soho, Oxford St. and Covent Garden just a stroll away; and trains from Euston and King’s Cross close too – the location is perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Bloomsbury London
Myhotel Bloomsbury Hotel London
My Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing