We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Unique”
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #260 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This hotel is very beautiful, and infinitely more fun than a chain or even a standard "trendy" boutique. They obviously put a lot of thought into each room, and the history of the hotel is fascinating. The bathrooms are gorgeous, even if you are looking into an office building as you take a bath in the claw foot tub.

The location is great if you are sick of the touristy West End spots. (I prefer the East End, so the location is perfect for me.)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenlite711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 566 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

The rooms were elegant and cozy, each one unique (our group had three rooms). The old-fashioned bathrooms were great and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was always kind and helpful. It's in a great location, and you wouldn't even know it was there from the street! Very close to three tube stations, several pubs and restaurants, and walking distance from St. Paul's Cathedral. Extremely classy and convenient, would definitely stay there again given the chance.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank factnotfiction18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We came to the Rookery for our honeymoon and were very pleased with our stay there. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was pretty awesome; everything was tidy and neat, it was spacious, the decor was lovely. The bathroom was FANTASTIC, as the tub was extra long. Having extra long legs myself, this made it pretty much my favorite feature. We loved the conservatory, which allowed us to come in from the snow and sit in front of a warm fire before heading upstairs to our room. The food from their room service was delicious, always arrived promptly, and was reasonably priced (for room service). The bed was comfortable, as were the sheets, pillows, etc. It was a very cozy, comfortable room in general.

The location was also wonderful. It was literally down the street (2 minutes, TOPS) from Farringdon tube station, making the city very accessible. It was also only about a 5 minute walk from St. Paul's Cathedral, which was also pretty great. It seemed like an area where lots of people have happy hour after work, as there were quite a few bars and pubs around, but we never noticed that it got loud (even late at night). Also, being Americans, we found the stinginess with beverages (we had to pay for water at eating places - and every refill of water. At one place we paid 3 pounds for a glass of warm tap water.) to be the only thing we had difficulty adjusting to. So the little grocery next door came in handy as we were able to grab several bottles of water to carry with us all day.

There were only two minor issues that we encountered:
1) The internet did not work in our room any but two of the days we were there, and there was no internet at all (even on their computer) for three days of our stay. Being on our honeymoon, we had not planned on being on our computer much anyway, but we had planned to use it to help us find some good food places and general info on how to get around. All in all, this wasn't really that bad for us (we had travel books - less efficient, but it works) and it was all fine.
2) Our room was hot. Being there in the middle of 20-30 degree weather, we turned the heat off and it was still warm. So I'm not really sure what was going on there, but we couldn't figure it out. We also couldn't really leave our window open, because we were across from some apartments and didn't really want to have them able to see in. Again, though, not a big deal really.

In all, we really LOVED our stay in London. We found the hotel well worth the money, and would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilybear02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We were very excited about our trip to the Rookery. The website had made it look exactly the sort of place we were looking for: characterful, historic, quirky and exactly the right place for a special break. Clearly, they've got great marketers.

There are some nice little touches around, and the public rooms are pretty, but after all the anticipation we were incredibly disappointed to be ushered into a pokily tiny room. There was an antique bed jammed awkwardly in, and some overly flouncy curtains, but they just looked silly in what was clearly a modern hotel room (beige carpets and walls).

There was nothing complimentary, no tea or coffee making facilities, even (when you're staying three nights, as we were, it's funny how much you miss this hotel basic), and as breakfast isn't included in the room price, we were left to conclude that we'd been conned into forking out £170 a night for the privilege of having an antique bed and an oil painting in our room. There was nothing else to distinguish the room from your average chain hotel - in fact, because the room was stuffy and far too hot all the time, even with air conditioning on full blast (which isn't especially comfortable), we actually had a better night's sleep when we switched to a budget hotel on the last night of our stay. It was a very comfy mattress, but under such a fat duvet in a boiling hot room, sleep was only ever intermittent.

The bath only had a shower attachment - we wouldn't have minded this, but with no screens or shower curtains, the whole room was flooded once one person had taken a shower, which must have been as much of a pain for the chambermaids as us. The promised wifi connection was intermittent at best, and on the last day we were told it just 'wasn't compatible with Macs' - fine, but with work to do while on our stay, it was another inconvenience, and my partner's PC had as much trouble connecting.

The location is fantastic, I've got to admit, and the service was always friendly and spot on, apart from the internet access. But we came prepared to spend extra for a really special break, and just left feeling a bit ripped off. There are so many hotels in London offering much more for far, far less money, and we've now learnt our lesson about choosing a promise of 'style' over value.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lulamae_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I came across The Rookery in the Hip Hotels guide, so my expectations were high, to say the least. My partner and I were looking for a cosy hotel for a one-night stay in London. The Rookery exceeded all expectations, and the weekend rate price, at under £170, was excellent value. This is NOT a hotel for someone looking for an ultra sophisitcated, glossy automaton of a hotel; it is a little enclave of Dickensian charm. Those visiting on business trips who have left less than favourable reviews on this site obviously had unrealistic expectations, as The Rookery is not a hotel with all the latest office gadgetry, under-floor heating, sterile lighting and the latest Turner-prize winning fodder on the walls. We were lucky enough to visit around Christmas time, and this was the most festive experience of my life! The Christmas tree was covered in cinnamon sticks and spices, there were carefully chosen authentic antique fittings, even down to the gas light over the cobbles outside, the whole experience was magic. I was half expecting to see the ghost of Jacob Marley rattling around the coridoors.

We stayed in the William Goldworthy room. Our bed was huge even though we had a standard room;- it felt like marshmallow! The huge oak panels on the bedstead made more of an interesting feature than some of the 4 posters in the superior and deluxe rooms. We had a gorgeous, roll-top, claw-footed bath, (I did specify when booking that I wanted such a bath, as all the rooms are different and some have baths against the walls. The receptionist told me that rooms were allocated on the day, but the staff made every effort to ensure that the room was to my specification). There were Aveda bath and shower products and the staff bring ice buckets for your own drinks on request.

There are only 2 minor criticisms of the hotel; our room was very hot and we kept the windows open all night, despite it being mid December. Fabric nightclub is just around the corner, and Cowcross Street is a rat-run from the club at kicking out time, so make sure that you specify a room away from the main street when booking if you are a light sleeper.

There is no restaurant, and breakfast is available delivered to your room on a tray. Seriously, don't bother, and take the 5 minute walk to Smithfield Market for the best Full English in the country. Also, for fans of fine dining, both Hix Oyster and Chop House, (where Keith Floyd famously had his last supper) and St Johns are literally just around the corner. Make sure you book well in advance.

There are so many other little touches that make this hotel special; the Honesty Bar is very quaint, each room has biographies of the local chatacters and ne're-do-wells that lived around The Rookery, (I particularly liked the one about the useless excecutioner!). The area is perfect for tourists looking for a slice of historical London.

I am already planning a return trip to The Rookery, it is a special little place with a charm all of it's own.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helsbels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

The biggest problem with this hotel is the fact that is is located on a very busy corner near Smithfield Market, close to a nightclub that closes at 6am, and an all-night coffee bar. Noisy revellers gather on the street, shouting, drinking and enjoying their evening along with boisterous taxi touts, unknowing that 1 floor above, guests at The Rookery are trying to sleep. There is secondary double glazing present, except that in our room, some panes were missing (on telling staff at Reception, we were told that the maintenance guy had already been told and that he would be asked to fix it for the next guest. How kind! No apology, and the fact that the problem had already been reported was very poor service).

Rooms are a good size, beds fairly comfortable, and the shower is good. The rooms lack little 'luxury' touches one expects for the sorts of rates being charged.

Breakfast menu is short and lacks options, suggesting an overstretched kitchen staff.

On the subject of staff, there just don't seem to be enough - reception was frequently full of impatient customers, bookings being taken by reception while they juggled credit card machines and requests for ironing boards. They try their best though...

Overall, this boutique hotel should be an oasis from the buzz of London, but fails on a number of key points. Plenty of room for improvement...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falseneutral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

This is my favourite hotel ever. The Rookery is like your home away from home - but better!. Its small and intimate with fabulous period rooms filled with beautiful things, lush bathrooms and supurb deep claw foot baths. In a word it is sumptuous, very discreet but delightfully quirky. I just loved the breakfast in bed with champagne, the conversatory with honesty bar and the little courtyard out the back. As a smoker it was a godsend!. Great location near St Paul's - incredible staff and excellent food and wine. Enough said.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perthangelfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#189 of 1,077 in London
902 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#225 of 1,077 in London
1,599 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#66 of 1,077 in London
191 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#204 of 1,077 in London
668 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#191 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $200 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London
The Rookery Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing