We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #107 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
East Preston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“magical weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Booked this hotel purely based on trip advisor reviews! I was not disappointed!! wonderful hotel, fantastic room and lovely lovely staff. They could not do enough for us. It was my husband's 60th birthday surprise and it was a perfect choice. Although the mattress was a little firm , oak beds don't have much spring!!! everything was wonderful. The staff are so friendly and helpful making us feel very special, thank you to them all, and much love to the resident kitty cat Lady grey, a very special girl. If you want a magical weekend in a romantic setting then the Rookery is for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    122
    27
    15
    5
See reviews for
34
232
46
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed at The Rookery for one night (business trip). The place is really characteristic if you like to step back to the georgian period but with modern facilities. The hotel staff is very caring and kind and they are at your disposal all time. The room are very quiet and bed are comfortable; some of the rooms have very particular ensuite, no door but with velvet draping with a cast iron bath tube in the middle (pity there is nowhere to hung the hand shower, not very practical). Is definitely a nice place to stay if you are on a romantic break or on holiday not really the best if you are in a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexUga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

First off, let me be clear. I'm a business user. If I was looking for a quirky hotel/B&B in a hip area for a weekend away with my wife, it might have worked. But I wasn't. As a business user my wants are pretty simple:

1. Pleasant staff that check me in quickly? Check.
2. An ironing board so I can iron my shirt for the next day? Check.
3. A nice shower to get me going in the morning... er, no. A cast iron bath tub in fact. And a hand shower. But no curtain around the bath and nowhere to hang the hand shower. Sorry. I don't have time for a bath in the morning. I want to get up, shower, read my emails over breakfast and go. Fail.
4. A breakfast buffet with a reasonable choice (I try to keep my carb intake very low so scrambled egg and fish are my preference)? Er, no. a choice of cereal, granola or a bacon sandwich which you have to order by midnight and is delivered to your room in the morning. Fail.
5. A light breakfast room so I can read my emails while I have coffee before I take off for the day's madness. Er, no. There is no restaurant. Fail.

So given the above, I'm afraid it was overall a fail from me.

In the interest of a balanced report though... If you are on holiday/vacation, have the time to relax in a bath, and like the 'quaint' victorian feel, small windows and dim lighting, it might be for you. The staff were both pleasant and efficient. The place was clean. The bed was relatively comfortable. It was just the wrong place for me. And as it wasn't cheap it left me feeling a bit disappointed.

Room Tip: Unless you want the exercise note that there is no elevator and ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trev550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I was treated to a night as a birthday pressy this is truly the most special hotel I've stayed in wiyhin London.

Staff are amazing, the hotel cat is laid back, I love the concept of the honesty bar but the night we were there the seating was already tsken by other guests so we headed back to ohr room. But what a room. We were in the mist basic room yet it was filled with antique furniture and art. I loved the rolltop bath.


Unusual concept for breakfast as it was only room service so we didn't bother and went to the reasonably near by breakfast club instead.

For the first time in years we left london feeling relaxed.

I cant wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank firefairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have to agree with other reviewers. The welcome from the staff is excellent and you are made relaxed from the moment you enter. Our room was big with a very large double bed and we had a lovely bathroom with a roll top bath. The room and the hotel itself are spotless.

There is an honesty bar in the lounge which works really well and has a large selection of drinks.

The location of The Rookery is great. It is a 2 minute walk from Farringdon station. There are many restaurants nearby and plenty of pubs to drink in.

I would highly recommend staying here, either for shopping in town or as a romantic break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvic140908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A stunning hotel full of character and characters, the staff are the icing on the cake to this beautiful hotel. The welcome and helpfulness of all the team are to be commended, everyone was smiling and you could see they truly loved their jobs. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have the most comfortable of beds which is very much welcomed after a hard days work. A relaxing atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble, I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel to anyone for any occasion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJB1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My fiancee booked us a night at the Rookery the evening before we got engaged and it was the perfect romantic location! Gorgeous rooms and possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The staff were very helpful and friendly. I was surprised there weren't tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but when I phoned reception they very kindly brought me up some tea and didn't charge us for this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#115 of 1,071 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#217 of 1,071 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,232 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,071 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#48 of 1,071 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Property: The Rookery Hotel
Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London
The Rookery Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing