We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hideaway”
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #159 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My daughter and son-in-law stayed here on their wedding night and were delighted with the room, the cleanliness and above all how friendly the staff were. How lovely that a bottle of champagne was left for them in their room with the compliments of the hotel. Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for The Rookery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 556 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a hotel with style and history. The owners have turned several old shops into a quirkily hotel. Our room under the eaves had a view of the street. Great bathroom complete with tub well lit from a skylight. Charming. Great location in a very interesting neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kildonan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Rookery for two nights following our wedding on our mini-honeymoon to London. It is the perfect hotel for a romantic get-away with character filled rooms and a great location close to some of London's best restaurants. We stayed in the Mary Lane room at the very top of the building. It was lovely, with a big wooden bed, luxurious bedding, and a lovely bathroom featuring a claw-foot tub. The staff were all wonderful and made our stay very special arranging with my husband to have fresh flowers and a bottle of champagne in the room upon our arrival. We were able to walk all over London from the hotel and had some great breakfasts/brunches just a couple streets away at the Modern Pantry (highly recommended!). All in all, a wonderful stay and we will definitely return next time we are in London.

Room Tip: We loved the Mary Lane room, but they all look lovely and full of character.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is what a small bespoke hotel should be about.
Comfortable-stylish understated and great staff.
Nothing is to much trouble-elegant sitting room with an honesty bar-beautifully furnished.
Immaculately clean.
Great beds.
It's interesting to pick up one some prior reviews.
Someone said the beds are uncomfortable-they aren't.
Someone else said there's no shower-it's true.So go stay somewhere else.
Someone else moaned there's no lift.Get a life- it's a gorgeous Georgian building.
Cannot recommend it to highly.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a terrific stay at the Rookery during a business trip in London. The location is terrific and within walking distance of many great sites. The staff were very friendly and super responsive. The room was very "olde england" which is not to my taste, but the linens were quite good and the room appointments generally excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the third time we have chosen the Rookery Hotel near Clerkenwell as the location is great and it is above all so nice to stay in a Hotel with character! So many London hotels are devoid of any character - but this one is exceptional. Each visit we have stayed in a different rooms and none are the same. The furnishings are exquisite, and the service is second to none. We will be returning - next time we have an early start in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbieblue_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Lack of dining in hotel is not a problem, as I tend to enjoy exploring different places to eat. Room very quiet and comfortable. It was right opposite the offices that the reviewer below described, but I was not in during the day (why would you?) and the curtains were closed at night. It is Farringdon/Clerkenwell after all. It's going to be cosy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#125 of 1,073 in London
889 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#253 of 1,073 in London
1,511 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#141 of 1,073 in London
640 reviews
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#53 of 1,073 in London
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $250 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London
The Rookery Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing