We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Romantic Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #146 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Romantic Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Rookery for two nights following our wedding on our mini-honeymoon to London. It is the perfect hotel for a romantic get-away with character filled rooms and a great location close to some of London's best restaurants. We stayed in the Mary Lane room at the very top of the building. It was lovely, with a big wooden bed, luxurious bedding, and a lovely bathroom featuring a claw-foot tub. The staff were all wonderful and made our stay very special arranging with my husband to have fresh flowers and a bottle of champagne in the room upon our arrival. We were able to walk all over London from the hotel and had some great breakfasts/brunches just a couple streets away at the Modern Pantry (highly recommended!). All in all, a wonderful stay and we will definitely return next time we are in London.

Room Tip: We loved the Mary Lane room, but they all look lovely and full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    140
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
39
275
50
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is what a small bespoke hotel should be about.
Comfortable-stylish understated and great staff.
Nothing is to much trouble-elegant sitting room with an honesty bar-beautifully furnished.
Immaculately clean.
Great beds.
It's interesting to pick up one some prior reviews.
Someone said the beds are uncomfortable-they aren't.
Someone else said there's no shower-it's true.So go stay somewhere else.
Someone else moaned there's no lift.Get a life- it's a gorgeous Georgian building.
Cannot recommend it to highly.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a terrific stay at the Rookery during a business trip in London. The location is terrific and within walking distance of many great sites. The staff were very friendly and super responsive. The room was very "olde england" which is not to my taste, but the linens were quite good and the room appointments generally excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the third time we have chosen the Rookery Hotel near Clerkenwell as the location is great and it is above all so nice to stay in a Hotel with character! So many London hotels are devoid of any character - but this one is exceptional. Each visit we have stayed in a different rooms and none are the same. The furnishings are exquisite, and the service is second to none. We will be returning - next time we have an early start in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbieblue_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Lack of dining in hotel is not a problem, as I tend to enjoy exploring different places to eat. Room very quiet and comfortable. It was right opposite the offices that the reviewer below described, but I was not in during the day (why would you?) and the curtains were closed at night. It is Farringdon/Clerkenwell after all. It's going to be cosy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

First impressions were good - warm decor, friendly staff, great location.
We hadn't expected our room to be quite as small and dark, however it looked comfortable, clean and well appointed. We were overlooking St Peter's Lane and soon realised that the building directly opposite, about 3 metres away was a busy office and we could practically read the pc screens. Net curtains in our bedroom provided a little privacy but not enough to feel comfortable which meant drawing the curtains and shutting out the limited daylight. The bathroom did not have the benefit of nets or shutters so a heavy blind had to be kept down all the time. We had a torn bedsheet, the overflow in the bath was leaking and the hangers did not fit the wardrobe. This trip was a birthday present and it felt like a VERY expensive bed & breakfast without the breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank klaxon2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Without doubt the best experience I have ever had anywhere! It ticks all the boxes on a practical level - easy transport access, great area, good restaurants, etc. Then you walk through the door and your heart sings - and for once it is not just the absolutely beautiful rooms but - more importantly -the truly amazingly friendly, funny, helpful staff! Breakfast was delicious - and served in bed. Despite our tragic Rand/Pound exchange rate - I have had to give myself another night in this GEM!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#114 of 1,068 in London
879 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#265 of 1,068 in London
1,473 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#130 of 1,068 in London
629 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#120 of 1,068 in London
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Property: The Rookery Hotel
Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London
The Rookery Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing