We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location”
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #240 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel was very nice. Room was spacious, free wifi. They have a very odd toilet with a chain. You must get out of the way or you get wet. Shower has no curtain so you will soak the floor and walls. Very nice staff and an honesty bar in the lobby. The hotel was in a great location for getting around London. No elevator so try not to stay on the 3rd floor

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobshifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 562 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in a superior double for one night only, but I would happily sell my car to spend more time in this wonderful hotel! I booked on a whim because we wanted to prolong a holiday a little longer, it turned out to be the nicest part of the whole trip thanks to the tranquility, the quality of the surroundings and the wonderful staff.
From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and the staff could not have been more welcoming, but also with a sense of humour and none of the 'stiffness' that can come with hotels of this quality. Our room was large, comfortable and furnished with period furniture but also well equipped with an iPod doc, TV and DVD.
There is no restaurant but after dinner in a nearby restaurant we could relax in the cosy conservatory, whose name doesn't do justice to the reality of the cosy room and log fire.
I couldn't recommend this hotel more, go on and treat yourselves, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pigdog42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while on vacation, and all I can say is that if you're thinking about going...go! The Rookery is charming, the service and staff were wonderful and if you're looking for a place to stay that makes you feel like you're in the UK (rather than a generic hotel experience) I just can't find enough enough nice things to say about the place. The room-service breakfast was excellent, and the conservatory was the perfect place for afternoon tea (or a gin & tonic from the honesty bar.) Furthermore, the hotel is within walking distance to a number of excellent restaurants (we chose Fox & Anchor for some traditional pub food, and then Hix Tavern, which I'd highly recommend) and sites such as St. Pauls, Charing Cross, Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery to name a few. If that isn't enough, Farringdon underground station is only about a block away, and I for one preferred this section of London to the more touristy west end. And it was less expensive. I would definitely go back! The only downside (and to me, it was a small one because the rest of our experience was so good) is that the rooms are rather dimly lit, which was only an issue when I was trying to apply makeup.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morningdove225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here recently as part of a celebration weekend in London. Although not close to our chosen restaurant etc., we were intrigued by the reviews and website.

The hotel is lovely, old, quirky, charming and unique. We had a lovely room 'Alfred Herling', which has a beautiful carved bed and roll top bath. The rooms are very warm and cosy and we were not disturbed even though we stayed at the weekend.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as there are many choices of venue to eat on the main streets outside.

We arrived earlier than the check in time but the hotel kindly took care of our luggage whilst we explored London. Again when we checked out we left our luggage at the hotel until late afternoon.

There is a cosy lounge where you can enjoy a drink throughout the day and an honesty bar to mark your purchases.

The rooms have well equipped mini bars and a selection of snacks to purchase too.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting something a more luxurious and charming than a Premier Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnshireFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

There were many good features of this unusual hotel. The staff are excellent and the service first rate. The bed was comfortable and the food provided of a very good quality. Each room is different so choose well. And be aware that certain things are lacking. The bathroom products are of good quality but there is no shower cap or body lotion; there is no turndown service; the room may be a little dark as there is not much lighting; and they may not be enough sockets. However the decor is good, the rooms clean and the lounge areas pleasant. I shall consider returning.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a superior double, but each room is different and some singles may be better valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

stayed fri sat sun in a superior double. easy to get to, a 1 minute walk for farringdon tube. a beautifully restored old building, lovely rooms very friendly helpfull staff. although tube is nearby we found ourselves walking nearly everywhere, its that easy from this location, st pauls is 10 mins, the embankment 15. no dining room here but the fox and anchor pub just round the corner does excellent food in old world surroundings, we had breakfast there. there is a nightclub near the hotel, no noise from the club but at chucking out time they all pass the hotel to get to the tube and it can wake you up (it did me anyway). good points, great location, lovely rooms and staff, some great restaurants nearby. bad point, getting woken up fri and sat by clubbers shouting in the street. would stay again if it wasnt fri or sat as sunday was quiet as the grave.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Me, my sister and our friend stayed here for 2 nights in February. The hotel is gorgeous- our room was lovely, definitely not lacking in character. The staff were all nice and the location was idea of us - lots of nice places nearby to eat. My only complaint was the heat in the room, I felt as if I was in Greece or something and that was with air conditioning, and it was not hot outside, so it made sleeping/hanging out in the hotel a bit uncomfortable. Apart from that though, it was a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#211 of 1,078 in London
897 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#247 of 1,078 in London
1,559 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#71 of 1,078 in London
185 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#225 of 1,078 in London
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $201 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London
The Rookery Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing