We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming.......................”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #161 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Charming.......................”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here recently as part of a celebration weekend in London. Although not close to our chosen restaurant etc., we were intrigued by the reviews and website.

The hotel is lovely, old, quirky, charming and unique. We had a lovely room 'Alfred Herling', which has a beautiful carved bed and roll top bath. The rooms are very warm and cosy and we were not disturbed even though we stayed at the weekend.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as there are many choices of venue to eat on the main streets outside.

We arrived earlier than the check in time but the hotel kindly took care of our luggage whilst we explored London. Again when we checked out we left our luggage at the hotel until late afternoon.

There is a cosy lounge where you can enjoy a drink throughout the day and an honesty bar to mark your purchases.

The rooms have well equipped mini bars and a selection of snacks to purchase too.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting something a more luxurious and charming than a Premier Inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnshireFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    136
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
37
267
49
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

There were many good features of this unusual hotel. The staff are excellent and the service first rate. The bed was comfortable and the food provided of a very good quality. Each room is different so choose well. And be aware that certain things are lacking. The bathroom products are of good quality but there is no shower cap or body lotion; there is no turndown service; the room may be a little dark as there is not much lighting; and they may not be enough sockets. However the decor is good, the rooms clean and the lounge areas pleasant. I shall consider returning.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a superior double, but each room is different and some singles may be better valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

stayed fri sat sun in a superior double. easy to get to, a 1 minute walk for farringdon tube. a beautifully restored old building, lovely rooms very friendly helpfull staff. although tube is nearby we found ourselves walking nearly everywhere, its that easy from this location, st pauls is 10 mins, the embankment 15. no dining room here but the fox and anchor pub just round the corner does excellent food in old world surroundings, we had breakfast there. there is a nightclub near the hotel, no noise from the club but at chucking out time they all pass the hotel to get to the tube and it can wake you up (it did me anyway). good points, great location, lovely rooms and staff, some great restaurants nearby. bad point, getting woken up fri and sat by clubbers shouting in the street. would stay again if it wasnt fri or sat as sunday was quiet as the grave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Me, my sister and our friend stayed here for 2 nights in February. The hotel is gorgeous- our room was lovely, definitely not lacking in character. The staff were all nice and the location was idea of us - lots of nice places nearby to eat. My only complaint was the heat in the room, I felt as if I was in Greece or something and that was with air conditioning, and it was not hot outside, so it made sleeping/hanging out in the hotel a bit uncomfortable. Apart from that though, it was a really nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent three nights here in the midst of a four day theater-museum blitz, and the Rookery was always a classy, quiet place to return to at night. Very English decor with lots of charm. The bathrooms are gorgeous -- brass fixtures, deep tubs and warm towels. The location is not especially central and requires a tube or taxi ride if you have spent the day in the city center or theater district, but the neighborhood is very interesting in its own right and merits exploration. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwarrenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

It's a small hotel, tucked away in a alley away of another street. On the outside it doesn't look like a hotel at all, you might even miss it. The tube is very close by, so are restaurants, pubs and bars. St Paul Cathedral is around another corner and famous meat market Smithfields (around the third corner). Staff is very polite, the style/design of the hotel is very Victorian, but my Misses calls it "Sherlock Holmes". Room was great, a bit warm. Breakfast is served in your room. The lounge is great for sitting and reading a book. We would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the George Peacock: great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Repko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hard to know how to rate this hotel. It is beautifully fitted out, but we were frustrated by the dim lighting which meant we couldn't read in bed, nor see the aircon controls to alter them. Although the website makes this clear, I was a bit irritated at not having a proper shower (the claw foot bath was lovely to look at). I hadn't realised that they only serve breakfast in your room and had rashly promised my husband he'd get a full English, only to find that wasn't on the menu. The granola was delicious but if you want a big plateful of eggs and bacon, go elsewhere. So in all, I'd rather sacrifice some of the style and antiques for more comfort and practicality, but others may feel very differently.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSarah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#103 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#272 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#215 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#160 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Property: The Rookery Hotel
Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London
The Rookery Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing