We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Charm”
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #139 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here a few days at the very end of our trip last June. Our favorite B&B in Knightsbridge closed a few years ago and we were hoping to find a new favorite at the Rookery, and we sure did. The staff was excellent, exceptionally friendly and down to earth. The hotel itself was well designed with old world charm. The hotel was also peaceful and quite despite Smithfield Market being just around the corner.

Room Tip: Most rooms do not have a shower - ask if this is a necessity. However the tubs and bathrooms are bea...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andriana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for The Rookery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 555 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over New Year's Eve and had a wonderful time! The Rookery was the perfect hotel to experience London for the first time. The staff was great and the bar lounge area was a great place to rest each night as we recounted the days events. We loved it and will be back!

Thank ChrisGallivan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a fantastic little hotel in the vibrant area of Clerkenwell, which is a good location for visitors to London. It has a distinctly English charm to it and is quite sumptuosly decorated as a result.
There are few facilities in the hotel but it more than makes up for it in style and comfort. The staff were also accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've just had a wonderful stay at this little treasure of a hotel. The room was cosy and beautiful with antique furniture and bags of character. The bed was really comfortable and we didn't hear a thing all night either, from the street below or from other rooms. The service was excellent; reception staff were welcoming and allowed us to check in early and our room service was friendly and efficient. We generally only get to stay in London once a year and this hotel was the best one yet. The only slight niggle is that there was no kettle in the room, so we had to pay for room service when we needed a cuppa, but the coffee and homemade biscuits we had were delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is on cow cross street adjacent to farringdon tube station, i stayed there for 5 night in March 2012, It's a nice small and very well organized hotel. Hotel entrance look's like an apartment entrance, so i got confused but this is wat u get in business streets of London. There wont' be any big arrival lounge but room was fantastic.

Instead of room numbers, this hotel puts English names to each room. most of the rooms are small but decorated in royal style and i was having feeling of a king in my room. they serve breakfast in the rooms, which was very nice for me.

this hotel is very good for what you pay and you will not be disappointed incase you are not looking for other big facilities in the hotel, likes of swimming pool, clubs e.t.c...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mukesh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A beautiful hotel with fantastic rooms. We live in London and was taken here as a surprise by my fiancé - he actually proposed to me in our room! The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were upgraded to Sir Walter De Manny on arrival and it couldn't have been more romantic.
I would highly recommend The Rookery and plan on returning soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_crawf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel to me when I was looking for somewhere for myself and my husband to stay on our wedding night after getting married in Islington. I knew when we went to view the place it was perfect. I spent two nights there and my Mum did too - we had one double room and one single. My mother and I ate room service the night before the wedding (yummy) and the hotel accomodated me having my bouquet delivered there the morning of. Myself and my husband delivered ourselves back there in the evening for a drink in the honesty bar before bed and th4en breakfast.

It is utterly unique and excellently located - I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a stay in London away from the usual giant hotel / West End options.

Plus the free standing baths are extraordinary!

Thank you Rookery!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley_GLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#126 of 1,072 in London
889 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#257 of 1,072 in London
1,510 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#71 of 1,072 in London
172 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#154 of 1,072 in London
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#116 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $252 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London
The Rookery Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing