We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #170 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely, unique place. Amazing room, nice to be trusted with the honesty bar, staff unobtrusive but helpful when needed, set in a nice bit of London with plenty of choice for food, and a tube stop at the end of the road. Ideal really

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffy123064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 557 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

I'm late with this review (I stayed there in July 2012 just prior to the Olympics)

The hotel is wonderful. Unobtrusive yet excellent service; you are left alone which suits me perfectly, but there were staff readily available should you need them (I didn't).

The room was terrific, after dozens of stays in identikit corporate hotel rooms this was so refreshing. Very nicely furnished with a comfy bed. The bathroom was lovely, however if you are used to a quick shower, then factor in a few more minutes to have a bath with a shower attachment.

I ordered breakfast that arrived on time and while pricier than getting it locally, I had jet lag and didn't feel like getting up to get food (there's several good cafes and sandwich ships within 5 seconds of the front door)

The sitting room, terrace and honesty bar were lovely too. Sitting outside on a warm London summer evening was great and if you bump into a fellow guest, then it's nice to have a chat and swap stories.

I'd stay here again!

One comment - for those who have complained about noise after 11pm - this part of London is high-density and lively. That's why it's great. I think all rooms have double-glazing which should make it quiet

Room Tip: Although there may be street noise from the many pubs / clubs nearby, if you are jet lagged you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strangey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and our friends booked a room as well. The beds were the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in. We told the front reception and the response was " we can't please everyone." That was it. I thought his response was beyond rude. Since we were only there a short stay we decided to tough it out the second night....not good.
We had 2 nights of no sleep and so did our friends. When we checked out we mentioned the beds again and another couple was checking out and said the same thing. Hard as a rock!

There is also a night club near by and all you hear at night is drunk people outside the hotel.

I thought it was a cute, funky hotel, but would not stay there again based on the response we got about the beds. You also have to OK with no showers...claw foot tubs in the bathrooms.

The room service breakfast was just fair...nothing great for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

this place is great. totally unexpected in the slog of a long business trip to be able to have a almost holiday-like experience just because of how the hotel is set up.

the room i stayed in had such a fun bathroom (weird, right?) that it added character to my whole stay in london. the food was great (i recommend the open-face ham sandwiches. perfectly crispy bread, yum. skip the ravioli though.) and the wifi was fast enough to download a few new shows. they were also accommodating enough when my plans changed and managed to keep me in the same room, at a great rate, for an extra night.

definitely will return.

Room Tip: the one i had, up on the top, with the funky toilet, was great. it had a name, but i don't remem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed recently for a child free weekend in London with my wife. Came highly recommended from brother in law, and didn't disappoint.

In the heart of historic Smithfield I love the way the rooms are named after some if the more (in)famous characters of clerkenwells past.

The hotel has a very tranquil atmosphere and the rooms are very quiet given the proximity to the railway and the meat market!

The honesty bar is great with a good selection drinks, but it felt a bit like raiding mum and dads drink cabinet as a teenager (not a bad thing though as added to the fun-I checked but they hadn't marked the bottles!).

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but went to smiths of Smithfield (about two minutes walk away), which is highly recommended. Lumberjack stacks rock.

Loads of local pubs and places to eat nearby, we loved the burgers at the slaughtered lamb and the Sunday roast at the fox and anchor.

All in all a great hotel and so close to the tube makes it great for getting wherever you need to go when you've finished in clerkenwell.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisjamesbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in a Horace Jones room for a couple of rainy days in July and it was quite enjoyable.

Our room was spacious enough, it had a baldachin bed, two windows, antique furniture and gorgeous bathroom with claw-footed bathtub that we really adored.

Breakfast seemed a bit limited (if my memory serves me right, you have 3 options to choose - healthy variant wich would be a bowl yougourt with cereals and fruit, french type - croissants and jams and a meaty one - fried bacon and ham in half a baguette) but it was compensated by the fact that it was served right to your room.

The location of the hotel is great. We had umbrellas in our room which was great because it was raining every day.

The only flaws were the lack of light in the room, both natural and artificial even given the fact that there were two big windows in the room and one in the bathroom. Not enough light for a make up. And also not enough air, I opened all the three windows but couldn't even understand whether it was cold or warm outside, fresh air simply refused to get in - still a mystery for me.

Some of the reviewers mentioned creaky floors, I can remember hearing the sound sometimes as well as the sound of slamming front door but I also remember that it was not disturbing at all, not the thing you concentrate your attention on, and the hotel was very quiet in general.

It is quite possible that on our next trip to London we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: we liked our Horace Jones room - comfortable bed with a baldachin and gorgeous claw-footed bathtub
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

One of the best hotels in London. You could feel the London history in the walls.
It is easy to get there, train tub stations rounde the corner.
Lot of good resturangs close.
The rooms are very nice and comftably.
Very godd breakfast served in your room.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Lennart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#149 of 1,076 in London
892 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#249 of 1,076 in London
1,530 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#229 of 1,076 in London
647 reviews
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#77 of 1,076 in London
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#137 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $220 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London
The Rookery Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing