We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, odd, convenient... wouldn't like to be the cleaner”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #920 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The photographs flatter the place. It is basically like a junk shop with lots of shiny things glued onto other things and hangings to make it look a bit like a bedouin tent, and the bathrooms appear to be ex-caravan single plastic mouldings. I didn't disturb any of the furnishings for fear of what might emerge from behind them. The mattress felt like it had been salvaged from someone's great great granny. Having said that, considering it was walking distance from Marble Arch deep in Londonistan, it was pretty cheap.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank spencerisright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 346 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

A quirky hotel just 5 mins walk from Edgware Rd Station.eclectic rooms, clean and comfy with en suite. continental breakfast delivered to your room each day and is quite generous. Tea making facilities could improve. We were on the 3 rd floor an no lifts, so pack light!
Short walk to HydePark, Marble Arch and the Mall. 3 mins to shops( including Tescos) handy to buy picnic foods.nero cafe very close and do great coffee. Stalk friendly. Wifi available but one had to find the right spot to sit in.would re visit for a casual laid back holiday. No gym or pool. No specific kids activities.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet but there is no lift. Street facing rooms were light and airy, ours had a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_Longhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Strange place, but I was prepared for that because of the other reviews. What I was not prepared for was the bed - the worst ever! It felt like you were sleeping - or rather trying to sleep - on rocks and stones. And the police cars going past the window every fifteen minutes didn't help either. What makes the grade go up from "terrible" to "poor" was the decoration of the room - quite outstanding, never seen anything like it. My little boy liked it too. And the location is good - close to Hyde Park, etc. But to try and get some sleep - impossible. If you have children, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaN7320132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is eclectic, fun, unique and romantic. It is a little dated in parts. But it is so much fun. The walls are painted and decorated in various interesting styles and there are antiques everywhere. I picked up one book in the office and it was a record of the Popes meetings from the time of the first Pope. It is close to Edgeware Road tube (Metro, underground). Cose to Hyde Park. I loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelJCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place is well located. Easy to get into city centre by bus (bus stop less than 1 min from hotel) & tube (tube station 5 min from hotel). There are minimarts and M&S close by if you wanna grab something.

For the room, I stayed in Monochrome room. It was quite small but it's normal size for London hotel. The bathroom was unacceptable; very tiny. The shower made noise like it was going to explode and the shower flow was low. took forever to wash my hair!

Staffs were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maylide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel will not be to everyone's taste, you will not be getting a run of the mill hotel, , my sister and I stayed in the honky Tonk Afro room we loved it, took me back to my youth every thing I loved about that era, plus a framed photo of Marc bolan on the door just like my old bed room, just one down side I think the bed was from the 70's, but other than that we were very happy, the staff were very friendly , very easy going, you can not go by the reviews you just have to judge for yourself, you will either love it or hate it,.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madhatter164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked this hotel last minute.... and then checked trip adviser and was very nervous after reading the reviews. I was however pleasantly surprised. The reception area was interesting and really quirky, The guy on reception was friendly and helpful. Our original booked room (highland fling) was not ready so he moved us to the funky zebra. we were taking photos and uploading to facebook straight away, when was the last time you did that in a travel lodge? Yes the rooms were small, but they were okay. The decor was different, fun & quirky, and although it lacks a little in area's that you would get in a travel lodge, it more than makes up for in personality, I would stay here again, if I was on a budget, and looking for something a bit more interesting than a travel lodge. Location was great, personality of hotel was great.

Room Tip: funky zebra was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleneroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#224 of 1,077 in London
518 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
Blakes Hotel
Blakes Hotel
#412 of 1,077 in London
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic House Hotel
#802 of 1,077 in London
346 reviews
easyHotel Paddington London
#653 of 1,077 in London
873 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#205 of 1,077 in London
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 34-36 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #920 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $83 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing