We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teenage dreams” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #914 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Teenage dreams”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel will not be to everyone's taste, you will not be getting a run of the mill hotel, , my sister and I stayed in the honky Tonk Afro room we loved it, took me back to my youth every thing I loved about that era, plus a framed photo of Marc bolan on the door just like my old bed room, just one down side I think the bed was from the 70's, but other than that we were very happy, the staff were very friendly , very easy going, you can not go by the reviews you just have to judge for yourself, you will either love it or hate it,.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhatter164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    79
    69
    48
    97
See reviews for
40
105
53
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked this hotel last minute.... and then checked trip adviser and was very nervous after reading the reviews. I was however pleasantly surprised. The reception area was interesting and really quirky, The guy on reception was friendly and helpful. Our original booked room (highland fling) was not ready so he moved us to the funky zebra. we were taking photos and uploading to facebook straight away, when was the last time you did that in a travel lodge? Yes the rooms were small, but they were okay. The decor was different, fun & quirky, and although it lacks a little in area's that you would get in a travel lodge, it more than makes up for in personality, I would stay here again, if I was on a budget, and looking for something a bit more interesting than a travel lodge. Location was great, personality of hotel was great.

Room Tip: funky zebra was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charleneroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed recently at this establishment. I can’t call it an hotel its more like a boarding house. Does anyone inspect these premises? Who granted them Hotel status? I wonder has a Fire Inspector passed this premises. There is no fire escape. One way up and the same way down. A surly indifferent welcome. We stayed in the Indian Summer room. Cramped room with little room to move around. Tiny bathroom. Shabby decor and furnishings. No toiletries. Bulb gone in the bedroom, bulb gone in the shower. TV had half the screen working. You put the kettle on the floor to reach the available socket. Bed and bed clothes were absolutely dreadful. See picture of mattress and pillow. At all costs avoid this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CorkVisitor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Avoid this hotel, unless you're really cash-strapped and need to stay near Paddington station. The experience of staying there seriously took from my enjoyment of my holiday in London. I was exhausted due to the rock-hard, stained and ultra-narrow mattress in my cramped, claustrophic room, The Highland Fling, and put on edge by the decor -- all antlers on the wall, mounted fish, pictures of Henry VIII and dark drapes that blocked natural light.
The noise from the street wasn't terrible, so that was a plus, and they had made an effort to hoover the room and the sheets on the bed seemed to be okay -- but the colours of the room were so dark that it was difficult to see how clean anything was -- and the visible end-of-bed base had a large stain on it that was probably red wine, but made you think of blood.
There were other small problems (the breakfast left outside door couldn't be considered edible, the bathroom was teensy and the wash-basin was in the bedroom itself, rather than the bathroom; plus the floorboards under carpet creaked badly), but really it boiled down to two big problems -- horrifying, claustrophic decor, horrible bed. Otherwise the receptionist was fine, and the location was good. But don't do this to yourself -- pay a bit more and enjoy your stay. . . somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We decided not be be put off by some negative reviews as the hotel looked full of character and a bit special for a fair price. How glad we were! Cosy, old curiosity-filled reception area, very helpful staff and a charming bedroom with an eastern touch - we stayed in 'Enter the Dragon' which had Chinese wallpaper on the ceiling, a comfy sleigh bed with silk hangings on the headboard, lanterns, and a lovely red Chinese wardrobe. The bathroom would not be suitable for a large person as the little entrance passage to the shower was narrow. The room was very clean and was kept so. Breakfast was left outside the door - two packs of cereal, a jug of milk, two croissants, two muffins and two glasses of juice. Tea and coffee-making facilities were provided in the room. OK maybe the croissants were not the best French kind but they were perfectly acceptable. I find most muffins too sweet and the ones on our tray were true to type. My husband was working some of the time so it was a part-business, part-holiday trip. I think this hotel would be attractive for people travelling alone as well as couples as it has a homely feel. If you're looking for a bland boring room in a chain hotel this is not for you, but if you'd like a bit of personality, character and quirkiness you really won't do better at this price. Tip - if you're staying more than one night, ask for a discount. We stayed three nights and were able to negotiate.

Room Tip: Enter the Dragon was lovely, the Secret Garden was a very pretty single. We didn't see any other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is located next to Edgware Road tube stop, which is nice.

There is no formal reception so you have to sort of guess what the front desk in. I was early and although they were checking in another guest early, they told me I had to come back at two. When I asked to leave my bags they agreed, but wanted me to leave them in the hallway with zero security.

Additionally, when you leave the hotel, you have to drop your keys at reception. Although they are there 24 hours, it's a little uncomfortable leaving your valuables with someone else having the key. I did not have any problems with theft, but I also took my passport with me just in case.

Speaking of uncomfortable, the beds are awful. Absolutely miserable. I probably slept two hours total. The rooms themselves are super small, but manageable. The bathrooms were an afterthought but understandable given the age of the hotel. Very small. I did not have problems with water pressure.

They seem to have upgraded their breakfast since the other reviews. I had a croissant, chocolate muffin, and cereal waiting for me outside my door. The tea and coffee is a nice touch.

It's a cheap hotel, and it shows. It's manageable if it's just for one night. Perhaps if there were good mattresses it'd be different but if you're staying more than one day, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked this Hotel due to location as attending a music gig at Finsbury Park, 5 minutes walk from Paddington train station, and then 3-4 minutes to get to nearest Tube Station. Room was nice but bathroom needed updating. Continental breakfasy very basic. Staff friendly enough and looked after bags for us while we toured London during the day. If you only want a good location and bed for the night then this Hotel is fine if your wanting more you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#360 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
South Kensington
Blakes Hotel
Blakes Hotel
#447 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stylotel
#536 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#139 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#559 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 34-36 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #914 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing