We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't set your expectations too high, this place is a bit of fun.”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #894 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't set your expectations too high, this place is a bit of fun.”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Their website describes the hotel as "a groovy 30 room hotel in central London targeted at a discerning, artistically minded clientele. Rooms are themed to project a funky and glamorous image. "Honky Tonky Afro" is a tribute to the 1970's while "Casablanca Nights" is a deco inspired Moorish fantasy."

There is mixed reviews about this hotel on Trip Adviser however, so long as you don't set your expectations too high, this place is a bit of fun. To find a hotel for £90 that is clean, tidy, and just 10 minute walk from Hyde Park, and 2 minutes from Oxford Street is awesome. I am not sure I could stay there for more than three night as the breakfast is pretty lame, the mattress was a tad thin and the bathroom was the worlds smallest

Room Tip: If you're taller than 5' 10" or slightly fat (and i mean this in the nicest possible wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilliLOUNGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    80
    72
    50
    97
See reviews for
41
107
54
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We went with the Three's Company room, since we travelled as a trio. Our intention with the trip was to attend a concert, so our choice of hotel didn't really matter, and therefore we had no expectations. The nearness of it all was great, but the actual location itself were terrible. For us though, it made it all up with the lovely room we stayed in. I would recommend the place if you're on a budget and want something different.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhantasmagoriaIn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed in Up Up and Away room. Yes its small and doesnt have a shower (has bath), but great for 1 night! The room was very clean, and came with tea, coffee and a new fan, which was greatly appreciated on hottest weekend of year!
The staff were extremely friendly helping with directions for our trip.
We were provided with a continental breakfast which was delivered to our door, so nice breakfast in bed!
If your looking for a hotel thats a little different and very quirky, Pavilion is the one for you!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smenchie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed in the Up Up And Away room which is balloon themed.Strange since it is tucked away in the corner of the ground floor. The room was very small and dark and the bathroom was tiny.It was quite quirky though and the staff seemed ok even if they were a bit obsessed about leaving your key with them even if you were only going out for a minute.Breakfast appeared outside the bedroom door but it was hard to find enough room to sit and eat it. I do think they could be a bit more generous with the tea bags as there were only three left each day and they had to count towards your breakfast so if you pay a visit here make sure you bring some with you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlypinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Can't believe the negative comments. Most people profer Hilton or Holiday Inn. If you want to stay at a rather eccentric place, this is it. It is cheap, creative and individualistic. Amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amandi207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Check in service was so-so, not a whole lot of information, everything very informal. Was not a fan of the fact that you have to leave your keys at the office every time you leave. I came back one time and my keys were gone, found out 10 minutes late a couple had taken my keys by accident.
My room was at the very top floor and I had to haul my bag all the way up (I'm a 5'0 100 lbs woman). One of the people who worked there watch me struggle to drag my stuff up the stairs and offered no help.
The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, I could feel every spring in my back. The comforter looked as though it hadn't been washed in ages.
A breakfast tray is left outside your door in the morning at 6 am. Not very good. I had a stale croissant and muffin.
I wasn't expecting a really nice hotel, it's London and I didn't pay a whole bunch. However I don't think basic cleanliness and service is too much to ask for. This hotel decor is unique and that's about the only thing going for it. Would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Maybe it's not for a long term stay, but we found our room (Enter the Dragon) very quaint, clean, and affordable for the amount of time we stayed. We were looking for quirky, and we found it! The only thing we thought of as uncomfortable was the shower. A bit stuffy, but we found it kind of funny, so made the best of it. Continental breakfast at our door when we woke up, which was a nice surprise and pretty filling!

The staff was pleasant and accommodating. We were asked to leave our key when we left the room, but that was standard throughout our trip (unless it was a chain).

We give it a thumbs up. Would definitely return. Our first hotel in London was much much smaller, dirtier, and about the same price. This was something we will always remember.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#266 of 1,067 in London
409 reviews
Stylotel
#555 of 1,067 in London
750 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,067 in London
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#148 of 1,067 in London
533 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#567 of 1,067 in London
727 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#644 of 1,067 in London
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 34-36 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #894 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing