We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bed from hell!!”
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #894 of 1,067 Hotels in London
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The bed from hell!!”
Reviewed December 6, 2007

I was seduced by the witty and attractive website for this hotel....the reality was different!The (triple) room was small and dusty. The bathroom was the size of an average wardrobe, containing a none-too-clean lavatory, a cracked sink and a shower with a plastic sliding door. The door to the bathroom was at the end of the bedroom through a sliding wooden door affording no privacy. THE WARMISH WATER IN THE SINK CAME OUT AT A SLOW TRICKLE
Windows had no double glazing, and the traffic noise was horrendous. Worst of all were the three iron bedsteads, in a row, dormitory-style. The matresses were lumpy, hard and uncomfortable, and the single pillow on each bed thin and hard.Breakfast is served in the room (no surface except the bed to put it on!) and consisted of orange juice, cornflakes, a muffin and a croissant with jam ....no butter. Tea or coffee had to be made in the room.
This hotel should forget the gimmicky decor and concentrate on giving its guest what they are really paying for...COMFORTABLE beds and CLEAN,MODERN AMENITIES.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank surreysuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    80
    72
    50
    97
See reviews for
41
107
54
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Great price & great location. Near Paddington Station and Oxford Street. Chic decoration, but the room is too small. And the staff is friendly. ButI had the most scary experience in my life. The first night around 4-5am, I heard some noise from the ceiling. When I open my eyes, I saw a white guy in my room. I fall asleep again. Im not sure if it was dreaming. And the next day I told my friend, he saw the same thing too. We're sure the guy we saw is not a human!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank moncherique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

I booked to stay at the Pavilion by telephone and was asked to give my credit card details over the telephone. Due to a change in my business schedule I had to to cancel the reservation, which I did by telephone four days beforehand. However the 'hotel' still debited my credit card with the full amount and refused a refund. The manager was impossible to locate, the Receptionist was rude and incompetent and a so called accounts manager sent rude and offensive emails. I would warn anyone against booking to stay here or giving out credit/debit card details as in my opinion they obviously lack any kind of integrity and are out to rob customers/potential customers. Be warned!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NAOMI255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

A terrible experience. This place was so bad that we walked out, despite having already paid for the night. No way were going to risk our health staying in this dive.

Filthy, smelly and run down. These words are not strong enough but will have to suffice.

Save your money and look elsewhere.

  • Liked — walking out
  • Disliked — all of it
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wilson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

This place is an utter dive. The words groovy, trendy, fashion and zany are a million miles from the truth. The claims to celebrity status are a joke. This place is horrible. The bed I slept in was the worse bed I have ever slept in, in any hotel, anywhere in the world.

The room was freezing, it was noisy outside through the rickety single glazed windows and every single movement could be heard.

Anyone who writes anything positive about this hotel is either a liar or associated to the hotel in some way.

If you are used to staying in medium class business hotels such as Novotels then you are likely to be very disapointed.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Entering
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank NEVETSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

This is the first time I have ever felt an obligation to write a review on a hotel so other travelers if they book here will at least be forewarned.

The Pavilion is a dive, a rundown old building badly converted into tiny little rooms. Our room was up four flights of tiny stairs, no lift available. Inside, the "Family Affair" room we had was so tiny you could barely walk around the beds, had only only tiny window and the decoration was so dark it felt like a cave. The "bathroom" was actually just a plastic "all in one" box like you might find in a travel trailer, about 8 square feet total, tacked into a corner of the room, could barely shut the door when inside. Virtually no water pressure for the sink or shower and toilet took three flushes to clear the paper. The "full English breakfast" was just dry croissants, lukewarm milk and a couple boxes of cereal. No coffee available except Nescafe packets on the wall. The only plug for the water heater pot was only the floor behind the dresser. The only bright spot in our stay was the front desk staff who were really pleasant and helpful in finding us taxis, info, etc.

  • Liked — Location in London
  • Disliked — Everyting
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank GulchFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2007

My boyfriend and I wanted to go to a non-stuffy boring hotel. We stayed in the 'Flower power' room in the Pavillion.

I have to say that I've stayed in a lot posher places and eaten nicer food. But I haven't stayed anywhere as quite as groovy as this joint. The room was like something out of a 1960s movie (e.g. Mary Poppins) and it reminded me of being a kid again.

In terms of the price, the location of the hotel and the facilities (friendly staff/excellent cleaning and OK food), I'd definately stay here again.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Raq77el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#268 of 1,067 in London
409 reviews
Stylotel
#554 of 1,067 in London
750 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,067 in London
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#149 of 1,067 in London
533 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#564 of 1,067 in London
727 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#650 of 1,067 in London
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Property: Pavilion Hotel
Address: 34-36 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #894 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pavilion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing