We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect central London oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a total of 10 nights at this hotel, in 2 different rooms. A brilliant hotel. Everything was great.
Sited on a quiet side street in the middle of bustling Covent Garden: a zone of small cobbled streets converging on Seven Dials, many trendy shops (especially shoes and fashion clothing) and a very good choice of adjacent cafes and restaurants.
A stylish boutique hotel with a very good restaurant: restrained chic; very friendly and helpful staff with a strong customer focus.
Most of our time was in a deluxe room, at the back of the hotel, looking out on to green trees and totally insulated by double-glazed windows; quiet air conditioning - an oasis of serenity, hard to believe that we were in central London.
Bed was large very comfortable King with great pillows, the bathroom was excellent - marble, walk-in shower with plenty of hot water at good pressure; heated towel rail, bidet and toilet; great toiletries from an adjacent specialty shop.
Spacious cupboards and shelves, good sized room safe, wonderful furnishings, comfortable chairs, felt spacious. Wi-fi is somewhat expensive (maxes out at 20 GBP per day).
An unexpected bonus: an excellent specialist coffee shop, Monmouth Cofee, is only 3 doors away: superb espresso coffee (as good as anything I have tried in Auckland or Melbourne - the ultimate compliment).
10 minutes walk to a choice of 3 metro stations, lots of trendy shops, multiple theatres and easy access to the main sights of London.
Overall a superb hotel in an excellent site.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conferencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for Covent Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2010

over the years we have stayed at the covent garden and other firmdale properties hundreds and hundreds of nights, we stay months at a time. we also arrange for scores of co-workers to stay very long periods as well. last night was it. the main problems with the hotel is terrible food service and theft. money and electronics like your ipod, always disappear if you forget to lock them up. room service never gets the order right. last night in the bras. restaurant we waited over an hour for an appetizer med. platter and finally had to leave to get to our show. the entire waitstaff in the restaurant know us well, but still can't get it together. happens all the time here. the kitchen staff terrible, you always here them shouting when you use the gym. too bad. voting with our wallet and moving on to greener pastures.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank princess10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I have been to London a dozen of times mostly for work. Staying at this boutique hotel made a big difference in terms of being able to relax and to enjoy the limited time left after day-long meetings. The hotel was centrally located, and was only a short walk to the Covent Garden area and the tube station was nearby. There were lots of small restaurants and cafes just around the corner including a wonderful French restaurant and a little aromatic coffee shop immediately opposite the street. The complementary apples tray at the reception counter was a fine touch particularly for business travellers who never get enough greens or fruits.

The hotel was beautifully and tastefully decorated. It was a perfect mix of traditional and chic decor. My room was comfortable and plush, although a little small for me as I was six months pregnant at the time with a big suit case, but for London standard the space was fine. The bathroom was very clean, and the double showers were a luxury.

The staffs were mostly friendly and helpful, although part of the time a concierge staff was a little preoccupied by the World Cup when the England team was losing but I honestly can't hold that against him.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for work as well as holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToroFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This hotel is a smaller sister of the Soho Hotel, but still very stylish everywhere, top quality decor and furnishings, great bathrooms, comfortable large beds, friendly
staff, great service, kept immaculately clean and within walking distance to many Theatres, shops and restaurants. I actually prefer it to The Soho Hotel only because it has
some outside seating area to the front and it's still chic but cosier. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that likes quality and comfort whilst enjoying a weekend in London..........Oh and the breakfast is fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusieFx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

we have previously stayed at the sister hotel The Soho, which was fully booked on this occasion and choose to stay here, let me tell you The Covent Garden is by no means the poor relation, rooms are glorious, the location is perfect for theatre, shopping and restaurants and the staff are delightful! we could not find fault anywhere and had a truly relaxing weekend with first class service.
my girlfriend loved it that much we are going there again next weekend! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, well done to all of the staff for such a magnificent effort

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rohas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed with my partner. Facilities of the room is very good with a very comfortable bed. Just when coming in, we get a warmly welcoming of the staff. The staff is friendly and helpful. You can find internet access in the lobby. The hotel is located conveniently. It's such a very beautiful and good value one in London. Excellent overall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borgir72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The hotel is located in convenient area,so close to Covent Garden,and few minutes from the centre.The rooms are fabulous,the fabrics,the furnishing.I liked the bath that was spacious and had also a bath tab.There's no internet access in the rooms,but in the lobby you can have a connection.I had a weekend there and it was very good choice.L ondon is my favorite destination and the hotel made the stay perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rade_Sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#19 of 1,072 in London
1,488 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,072 in London
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#18 of 1,072 in London
1,753 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,072 in London
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in London
#17 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $455 - $2,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing