We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“They don't get better than this” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
Ranked #13 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They don't get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here on numerous occasions when I lived in France and travelled to London regularly for business and pleasure. This hotel is the benchmark by which every other hotel should judge itself. Fabulous staff throughout the hotel; fabulous food; fabulous rooms; fabulous location. When people ask what I miss about Europe since I relocated to the US, I say the Covent Garden Hotel.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter. You won't ever be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    120
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
177
351
50
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I must mention the building work going on at the front of the hotel, and it would have been nice to be told this when we booked.we did have a couple of workman walk past our room!!
Just come back from our 4th stay at this Hotel and it still is as good as the first time we went there.
Nothing is a problem for the staff, they are very very friendly and very polite.
A very nice touch is that they remember your name and it seems that everyone knows you and they always give you a warm welcome.
The hotel is in a great location, perfect for the shops and all the attractions of convent garden and just a short stroll from theatre land.
You must do the breakfast the choice is vast.(again I must mention the great staff ).
There is a large lounge on the first floor that offers a honesty box,if you just fancy a night cap in front of a large fire before getting into the very comfortable , large bed.
All the rooms are individual styled , we have never been in the same twice but all very nice.

Room Tip: While the work is going on, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I am frequent hotel resident in London so know many different Hotel types but the Covent Garden always seems to draw me back
I stayed recenty with my family and they looked after us superbly as usual
It is not big or complex just straight forward and delivers on everything you need to make you feel at home

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SD600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked the Covent Garden Hotel unaware that there were works going on - scaffolding spoiling the lovely facade with works on the roof. However sensing my disapointment the reception staff did all that they could to accomodate me in a good room - ending in a small suite.
On this occassion I found the drawing room - a lovely spot to unwind, and the movie nights that are held in their private cinema (Les Mis) for just 10 pounds. The CGH remains a firm favourite with a cosy homely feel - it really is a home away from home. Yes this is an expensive London hotel however its in an EXCELLENT choice with charm aplenty. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If the works are still happening try and book a room on the first floor facing Monmouth street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sydneywinelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed overnight in deluxe room (8), beautiful room with the largest bathroom in the hotel, some may have issue with double decker buses going past frequently but windows
are triple glazed windows and have one way blinds. Great location, attention to detail in room unsurpassed: museums, galleries, theatre, shopping etc all up to date and listed. Luxury night cream gift also welcome. Upstairs sitting room stunning with log fire & honesty bar.
Staff wonderful. I was ill overnight and they allowed me to stay uncharged until I was able to travel later in the afternoon. Room service were also helpful suggesting what I could eat; a very personal service and a lovely hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for room 8 but imagine all rooms lovely. Only snag that windows huge and double decker buses pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancophileCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

As other reviewers have said - great location, gorgeous rooms, very helpful staff, comfy beds, exceptionally clean, cinema in the basement a hidden gem. This would have had a five star rating but .... charging for breakfast when the room rate is £400 plus per night is a disgrace. Charging £10 for a tea tray in the room is another rip off. Having scaffolding up and roof repairs underway without mentioning this on thier website is poor customer relations. If you have money to burn then this hotel is for you. If you are looking for real value for your money then there are other 5 star hotels in London that won't treat you as a money pit. Come on Covent Garden - you could be outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank avidtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I think the best thing about ths hotel are the staff and location.
we couldn't ask for a better location in the center of London.

The hotel was clean and nice, the cleaning staff did a great job.

The breakfast was good like all breakfasts in London.

I would like to thank the staff for such a nice visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrieane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#2 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#24 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#16 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Property: Covent Garden Hotel
Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing