We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A really lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
Ranked #15 of 1,070 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A really lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed overnight in deluxe room (8), beautiful room with the largest bathroom in the hotel, some may have issue with double decker buses going past frequently but windows
are triple glazed windows and have one way blinds. Great location, attention to detail in room unsurpassed: museums, galleries, theatre, shopping etc all up to date and listed. Luxury night cream gift also welcome. Upstairs sitting room stunning with log fire & honesty bar.
Staff wonderful. I was ill overnight and they allowed me to stay uncharged until I was able to travel later in the afternoon. Room service were also helpful suggesting what I could eat; a very personal service and a lovely hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for room 8 but imagine all rooms lovely. Only snag that windows huge and double decker buses pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrancophileCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    112
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
150
320
47
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

As other reviewers have said - great location, gorgeous rooms, very helpful staff, comfy beds, exceptionally clean, cinema in the basement a hidden gem. This would have had a five star rating but .... charging for breakfast when the room rate is £400 plus per night is a disgrace. Charging £10 for a tea tray in the room is another rip off. Having scaffolding up and roof repairs underway without mentioning this on thier website is poor customer relations. If you have money to burn then this hotel is for you. If you are looking for real value for your money then there are other 5 star hotels in London that won't treat you as a money pit. Come on Covent Garden - you could be outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank avidtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I think the best thing about ths hotel are the staff and location.
we couldn't ask for a better location in the center of London.

The hotel was clean and nice, the cleaning staff did a great job.

The breakfast was good like all breakfasts in London.

I would like to thank the staff for such a nice visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrieane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After years of enjoying this great hotel I have decided to move on. Why? They charge me extra for breakfast, even though each stay comes to over a grand, they hardly ever include breakfast (I accepted it because The Delauney in the Strand do a brilliant Brunch) but when I sat back and thought about it, I decided that no breakfast and no upgrade (once in 10 years?) Why should I give them my business in these tough times. So, will not be returning. The staff were beyond great, better than The Ritz and Claridges, but the owners, were a little short sighted in my personal view. Everyone loves a deal once in a while, rich or not!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank cc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed over for my wife 's Birthday. What a lovely welcome.! What a gem of a hotel! All the staff are friendly but very competent, the rooms are wonderful, the interior design outstanding.My breakfast was individually cooked, none of these steaming tureens here! Very highly recommended and worth every penny. A real star!! A real must for staying in central London. Right in the heart of Theatreland! You will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: No need to add anything. It is all a wonderful place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My birthday treat was a trip to the Opera at Covent Garden so we chose this hotel for its location initially. The location for this area of London was brilliant we walked everywhere! The staff at the hotel were welcoming and helpful and the room was tastefully and artistically decorated, clean and cosy. Breakfast the next morning was presented beautifully and fuelled for most of the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Loved the Covent Garden Hotel. Firmdale really know how to run a hotel. I've recently stayed in London at Browns, the Comnaught and Claridges, but the Firmdale hotels are a cut above. Like the Soho and the Charlotte Street Hotel, where I have also stayed, the Covent Garden is beautifully decorated and thoughtfully designed. However, what sets it apart is the professionalism of its staff...knowledgeable but friendly. The location cannot be beaten, particularly if you are attending performances at the Royal Opera House or at the many theatres in the west end. There are also many excellent restaurants in close proximity. The drawing room is a wonderful haven and a great place to take tea or a pre-dinner drink.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie2886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#14 of 1,070 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#9 of 1,070 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,070 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,366 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#8 of 1,070 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,070 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Property: Covent Garden Hotel
Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in London
#15 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing