We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Icing on the Cake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
Ranked #14 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Icing on the Cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My birthday treat was a trip to the Opera at Covent Garden so we chose this hotel for its location initially. The location for this area of London was brilliant we walked everywhere! The staff at the hotel were welcoming and helpful and the room was tastefully and artistically decorated, clean and cosy. Breakfast the next morning was presented beautifully and fuelled for most of the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    123
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
187
359
50
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Loved the Covent Garden Hotel. Firmdale really know how to run a hotel. I've recently stayed in London at Browns, the Comnaught and Claridges, but the Firmdale hotels are a cut above. Like the Soho and the Charlotte Street Hotel, where I have also stayed, the Covent Garden is beautifully decorated and thoughtfully designed. However, what sets it apart is the professionalism of its staff...knowledgeable but friendly. The location cannot be beaten, particularly if you are attending performances at the Royal Opera House or at the many theatres in the west end. There are also many excellent restaurants in close proximity. The drawing room is a wonderful haven and a great place to take tea or a pre-dinner drink.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie2886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Covent Garden Hotel is simply outstanding. We were very impressed with every aspect of the hotel. The concierge was very helpful on many occasions, in fact the service in general was very professional and competent. Our rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished. The bathrooms were very modern and tastefully appointed. The hotel is located on a lovely street and is convenient for shopping and sightseeing. We can highly recommend the restaurant at the hotel, Brasserie Max where the food was delicious. I also have to mention that the lounge was very atmospheric and very inviting. We cannot wait to return to the Covent Garden Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The location is good: just off Shaftesbury Avenue you can stroll to Covent Garden, Leicester Square, Chinatown, Royal Opera House and a long etcetera. The area is upmarket London with some nice cafes and restaurants around but the Hotel itself is worth the price. Every room is unique; the one we were allocated was extremely spacious with excellent features and a first class King Size bed as you good as we have had. Picking your way through the corridors is part of the fun as there is nothing 'chain hotel' or 'uniform' about the whole facility. Great service, we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very comfortable stay ,spacious room beautifully furnished ,crisp linen and a bathroom to match these standards .Convenient location ,plenty of eating venues in walking distance.Not that the hotel is incapable of serving a great breakfast or lunches,but covent garden is an area worth exploring .Great spot if you find yourself in London on business or pleaser .

Room Tip: Make early booking,and inset on a room with a view ,because you could find yourself in a good room,b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sakher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
1,037 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms are really individually decorated, no two the same. Pricey, but the quality of service and comfort goes with it as well. The front desk folks remember the last visit you made, no matter how far in the past. Nice.

Room Tip: room 417 - faces the back of the hotel and has a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel was part of a Christmas present which included a west end show. The hotel was very good and the staff very pleasant and helpful. It was only a short walk to the theatre so we expected to pay a premium for this location. Our room was sumptious, clean and warm, as was the bathroom. The "turn down" service was a nice surprise. My niggle was the absence of tea/coffee making facilities in the room which for a £300 plus a night hotel I find an unecessary and avoidable ommission which spoiled the warm and personable welcome we received. The mini bar prices are ridiculous and deserve the boycott I imagine all but the desperate enact. The breakfast was included in the room rate (fortunately) and was very good also. I would stay again - if they will provide tea/coffee in room!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ritchie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Property: Covent Garden Hotel
Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing