We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Hotel, Outstanding Service, Supber Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Covent Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Covent Garden Hotel
Ranked #11 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Outstanding Service, Supber Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Following a friends recommendation I decided to book here for my mums surprise visit to London and I have to say, the staff, the establishment and the whole experience made this break super special. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special. The staff are a credit to the hotel, particularly the Restaurant Manager, (Renton). He really does go beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay is just perfect.

The rooms were outstanding. Quality, cleanliness and attention to detail again are exemplary. I have stayed in many hotels throughout the UK and have to say, the Covent Garden is up there with the best of them. I was so very impressed with every aspect of our stay. Wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone at the Covent Garden.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    116
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
169
341
49
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in December 2012 as somewhere very central to stay following a work Christmas party. The location is awesome. The room we had was a great size, right on the street but no road noise owing to the double windows they have installed. Breakfast was excellent, staff so relaxed with their guests and the overall atmosphere is one of relaxed sophistication. We had afternoon tea on the Saturday with our 5 year old son and we felt very comfortable and had a wonderful time.

Summary - this place is awesome. We will without a doubt be back again when needing to stay centrally. The staff are great, the location is great, the food was great, the lounge is great...... Need I say more.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeteSimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Second time here. As before the staff are super-helpful and friendly; the room was extremely comfortable (as good or better than the best we've stayed at eg. Claridges); the atmosphere is just right; and the price is reasonable given the location and quality. Both rooms have been surprisingly peaceful at night given the central location, which is perfect for Soho and Covent Garden. Warning: the cocktails are exceedingly moreish.
Two minor criticisms, for which I nearly knocked off a star: the breakfast is expensive but not really good enough to justify it; and the WiFi charging and access is excessively complicated in an age where we carry three always-on WiFi devices between 2 - just make it free (ie. built into the room price!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hand2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Covent Garden hotel like all the Firmdale group hotels and has the most amazingly comfortable beds, I wish ours at home was like it .
Everything these guys do is better than good, their hotels feel special, the decor is cool and stylish but relaxing, service is friendly but sharp, the concierge knows his stuff and the bar is one of the best in town. Maybe we were a bit fazed after seeing the Stones the night before but found the breakfast menu a little confusing, hence managed a £62 bill. Excellent quality, but it took 40 minutes to arrive and was warm not hot. I'm sure they would have put it right if told but by now we were in a hurry. It's still the best in the area and we'll go back.

Room Tip: Our fourth floor room looked across the roofs of Coventry Garden, no Mary Poppins though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had a 3-night stay at this hotel, fantastic staff, wonderful rooms and perfect location within walking distance of Soho and many great restaurants and shops. Being charged £20 a day for the Internet in such a pricey hotel is always a downer but not much else to complain about. Wonderful staff as well. Super comfy beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Only dropped in for lunch on Sunday and can't wait to find an excuse to stay, staff were ever so helpful even with 5 children they satisfied each one, food was perfect. Only problem was no where to change a nappy however this didn't detract from the fabulous experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HTTOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed only part of my trip in this hotel as I joined my husband at his hotel for his business trip. I was amazed how his hotel was only $75 USD cheaper but was so underwhelming. This hotel is not inexpensive but it is a great value compared to other London hotels in central locations.

There is no where else I want to stay my next trip. They really notice the details. The staff are very respectful and attentive. The restaurant in the hotel is really lovely. The guest lounge put things over the top for me.

The location is also wonderful.

Loved it! I would take it over a Four Seasons any day!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADOdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#21 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covent Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covent Garden Hotel

Property: Covent Garden Hotel
Address: 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covent Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covent Garden Hotel opened in April 1996 but the building dates back to the 1890’s when it operated as a French hospital. It is located in Monmouth Street, a charming cobbled street in the heart of the theatre district and surrounded by interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes and bars. Covent Garden Hotel is "a quirky modern take on traditional English style." The hotel's interior has been dramatically designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp, and reflects her personal attention to detail. The ground floor is just like a stage set. A quietly bustling lobby leads into Brasserie Max, the hotel’s bar and restaurant. Up a sweeping stone staircase and into a sumptuous wood paneled drawing room and library, each with a log burning fireplace, quirky furniture and vivid upholstery. Downstairs there is a gym, private event space and a screening room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Covent Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covent Garden London
Hotel Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing