We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best luxury shopping in London”
Review of Harrods

Harrods
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.84*
and up
Independent Shopping Tour of London with Private Driver
Ranked #80 of 1,633 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Harrods remains at the height of British luxury retail, attracting millions of loyal customers from across the globe with its unrivalled product selection, world-class service, innovative retail theatre and historic setting. The store was opened in 1849 by Charles Henry Harrod as an expansion of his humble East End grocery and tea business. Today, it is one of the most distinguished names in the world. Seven floors and 330 departments showcase the best of luxury merchandise, from high-end fashion and accessories to the finest homewares and the latest technology. There are 28 restaurants in-store; we continue to enhance our portfolio with Galvin Demoiselle, Bentley's Sea Grill, and the institution that is The Georgian. Customers enjoy a wealth of exclusive services, such as By Appointment Personal Shopping and The Penthouse, a private suite dedicated to unsurpassed bespoke service in a beautiful environment. Other departments include the Urban Retreat at Harrods spa, a theatre ticket bureau, and The Studio, the store's interior-design service. Qatar Holding acquired the business in 2010, and it continues to guide - and invest strongly in - the store according to its philosophy: Anything is possible. Harrods continuously seeks to surpass the desires and expectations of its customers, staying true to its original motto: Omnia omnibus ubique (everything for everyone, everywhere). Harrods is located on Brompton Road, near the Knightsbridge London Underground station.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best luxury shopping in London”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just as you have the 7 star Burj Al Arab in Dubai, Harrods can be considered as a 7 star shopping experience in London. Luxury shopping does not get any better than Harrods. To experience this properly, you will need to make more than one visit as there are over 300 different departments. Just walking into my favourite section which is the menswear on the ground floor, you will see Prada, Gucci, Ralph Lauren and many more brands exhibiting the finest clothing that money can buy. You just don't want to leave this section. However, I wanted to have lunch and went to the food court on the ground floor and enjoyed half a roast duck, with some saffron rice and a glass of Rioja. The portions are surprisingly large, and looking around, lots were wasted.
After lunch I went to visit the special wine world downstairs to see where my clients get their vintage champagne from. Not only did they have all the best champagne and the large 6 litre bottles, but there was also a seating area where you can have a drink. They also had a separate spirits section and I found a nice XO Cognac called Tesseron amongst all the other more popular names. If you are having a dinner party, then this is the place to get the absolute finest spirits and wine. You can also buy the best caviar to make luxury canapes with salmon. Harrods also provides excellent services for weddings and you can expect to find everything that you need, especially jewels which is located on the ground floor. You will not want to leave this section.
The store is easy to find and there are buses which stop outside (see image). Knightsbridge tube station is about 100 metres away and the exit says Harrods. By car it is not recommended as the spaces to park are limited, the signs are ambiguous and the enforcing authority will not hesitate to give you a ticket.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Ratcliffe, Guest Relations Manager at Harrods, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I was so delighted to read your fantastic comments about Harrods. We are very pleased that you feel Harrods is a 7 star shopping destination and that you enjoyed the Food Halls and the Wine Rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the store very soon and hope you enjoy a similar experience on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,648
    3,819
    1,866
    638
    512
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's a must!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although it's an experience in itself going to harrods, to go there is a must! I go to harrods quite a few times and I love christmas shopping in there! It's just so magical, however, the last time I went was in April for my birthday, while it was enjoyable walking around the store, I found the staff to be quite rude. I then proceeded to go to the Tiffany jewellery section where I wanted to buy some jewellery, the lady who was helping us wasn't very helpful. This is the only time I have had a bad experience and I will be going back for Christmas shopping.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cait2695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,058 reviews
675 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Its a Must Visit. And they know how to do Christmas”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Harrods is always on our list when in London and we normally do a fair bit of spending there. The food halls are worth a visit on their own merits. Try out a glass of champagne at the Champagne Bar on Level 1. At Christmas the store is decked out throughout and they have more toys on offer as well as giving over a section of the store for Xmas decors etc.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CorneliusfudgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Ratcliffe, Guest Relations Manager at Harrods, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your positive experience in store. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Food Halls and your champagne in the Champagne Bar. I hope you are able to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of most luxurious shopping centres”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was walking in this shopping center one day, passing through the men`s perfumery. Accidentally I spotted a perfume I was looking for for some time, which is nowhere to be found at another place in London. The store assistant was kind and helpful.I did not buy the perfume at this time, but went back on the same day just before closing time and bought it. The center has a very nice "Egyptian" called area, where you can make some nice photos to have a good memory of it. They even house a nice memorial for Princess Diana and Dodi. Must see when in London!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zsoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Ratcliffe, Guest Relations Manager at Harrods, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments about your experience in Harrods. I am very pleased that you found the perfume you were looking for and that you enjoyed your time in store.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing department store”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This department store is in the league of its own. We live in New York City and not Bloomingdales, Saks, and Bergdorf come close. Harrod's is beautiful, elegant, and has variety like there is no tomorrow. You can spend the whole day there browsing food, wine, clothing, electronics, furniture. If you are in London it is a must!

Helpful?
Thank Maxz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Ratcliffe, Guest Relations Manager at Harrods, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
It was such a delight to read your fantastic comments about Harrods. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrods also viewed

 

Been to Harrods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing