We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Fortnum & Mason
from $27.47
More Info
from $73.58
More Info
from $34.76
More Info
from $109.88
More Info
Reviews (4,441)
Filter reviews
4,441 results
Traveler rating
2,743
1,001
293
208
196
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,743
1,001
293
208
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea high tea lemon curd gallery restaurant finger sandwiches diamond jubilee tea salon welsh rarebit tea selection department store food hall beautiful store shopping experience gifts hamper piccadilly harrods queen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 4,441 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful store....feels very British. It’s not just hampers and tea!! The men’s store and the stationary/gift areas are all great as well. It is so much more manageable than going to say, Harrod’s.
Make a reservation for high tea experience and feel like a queen. There’s only one F & M!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank PigDayParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’m a born and bred, working Londoner (and disabled) I never have time to do London things, but today I had the great excuse to show my friends from Norway around. F&M you did me and as a London showcase - proud - and thank you and bless your store and your staff. My guests adored your Christmas shop, the Bombki decorations I’ll be taking to the USA are gorgeous (as is the designer’s other half at the sales desk), the hamper staff on ground level who helped us locate Christmas tea, and smell it before buying (lush!), lead me about gently with my walking stock to find gluten free Xmas pud and biscuits to take to the USA. Pablo and team in the vintners section who sorted ostrich Biltong, and introduced us to Christmas Tea 0’ Alcohol fizzy! Who knew! As for the French Quince - that needed a lot of explaining to my friends :-)

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank paperclipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Afternoon tea here for two was very pleasant: a lovely setting, gracious staff and an attractively presented spread. However, it is outrageously expensive for what it is: £60 each for five finger sandwiches (plates are replenished without charge), two scones and a few pastries (again replenished). It simply is not special enough to merit the very high price. Guests may include in the price a slice of Victoria sponge but ours was extraordinarily sweet, smothered in far, far too much buttercream icing. A late lunch at a top-end London hotel in this area is far better value for money and cheaper.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank ClassicalBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I’d been to F&M many a time before but especially as a result of their excellent social media and emails I was keen to pop back in whilst I was back in Blighty to see some of their changes and additions. Namely their 1st floor, where a substantial part of its footprint is dedicated to the sacred tea ceremony- one can find a Tea Studio with its twice daily tea sampling and where a large section of wall is dedicated to The Great Wall of Teapots (Instagramers indulge). Much of the rest of the area is consumed with tea accoutrements and tea services galore and what an appropriate place to find your perfect set.

The ground floor I found mainly unchanged but I did enjoy the addition of the tea sampling station where you can smell and see the different types of tea easily and make an informed decision.

For the more specialised tea connoisseur of course there is a team of aficionados to guide you at the tea counter. A bonus for connoisseurs is that you can buy loose tea without all the tourist orientated packaging and in resealable bags which are also ideal to travel with.

However cliche it may sound F&M simply is an integral part of British society and even more so for expats and it’s always fun to drop in. The hampers speak for themselves especially around Christmas but it also has become a go to place for picnic hampers and paraphernalia synonymous with the #GreatBritishSummer

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank DonnaWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best part is the ground floor with teas and biscuits though the selection repeats itself in the store. Among cookies my favourite ones are choco-macadamia ones.

I have bought and tried over years quite a variety of Fortnum&Mason teas being a tea geek. Most of them are good (though not excellent), my favourite is Russian Caravan. The dosage of the teas is too little for my taste. Two bags for a small cup are barely enough to have a meaningful taste. The prices are OK (even though there are less know better cheaper brands/teas).

On the underground floor there's a food market, which is OK-ish, nothing particular. Liked the cheese scone, sweet ones not so suitable to my taste.

The shopping floors are less interesting, pretty limited choice of clothes - of mostly upper-mid quality.

There is some nice porcelain selection for teas but somewhat overpriced for the quality.

We set shortly in the cafe on the first floor. The taste of the cake and the avocado/chili sandwich was good (8/10). Coffee was good (8/10), but would expect better from such a place. Ice cream not so good (5/10). The service and the serving plates definitely below the expectation but it is not a particularly expensive place. Did not try the afternoon tea, maybe will do at some point, but not very keen on it given the tastes from the cafe and the food market.

The ambiance of the department store is quite nice, hence would recommend at least to look around. But keep in mind it is a mini-department store.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank sirine313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews