We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Ways to Tour . . . This is the Classic Way!”

London Black Taxi Tours
Ranked #16 of 678 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: London Black Taxi Tours offers you the opportunity to visit and explore the sights of London from the comfort and convenience of an iconic London Black Taxi. My tours will show you some of London's greatest sights, providing you with wonderful memories of this magnificent city. I have been a licensed London Hackney Carriage Taxi driver for 30 years having passed the world renowned 'Knowledge of London' which involves several years of studying London. I am also a fully qualified Worshipful Company of Hackney Carriage Drivers, London Tour Guide. My aim is to provide you with a fantastic day out and an unforgettable tour of this great City.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“3 Ways to Tour . . . This is the Classic Way!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Took this tour within 2 hours of our arrival in London. Took another tour next day covering the same things, but completely different perspective. Heard about the double decker tours from other companions. Here are the differences . . . . . . . . .

We took an after dark evening tour with Michael. Before the tour, Michael was easy to work with, responding very promptly to all queries. He even kept us informed of the weather situation before our flight arrivals!

He arrived early to pick us up at our hotel, in his clean, wonderful, warm taxi and we had a great tour thereafter, seeing and hearing about all the major sites within the next 2 hours. He stopped, letting us out of the taxi, to experience any site we wished. However, touring time is shortened, if you stop. (This is primarily a ‘driving by sites’ tour). He offered many recommendations (based on his own experiences of sites) and surprising tidbits that were perfectly timed upon delivery that sold his tour even more!

Michael's tour is for those who want much more than the double-decker tour will provide in a relaxing, truly personalized setting. The fee is very fair, and you can probably see all that you want within 2 to 3 hours, (excluding traffic time and stopping time). Michael's tour offers a traditional London feel, with a classic Gentleman at the helm. By taking his tour, 2 hours later, we were acclimated, knowing want to revisit, and how to get there.

As we were told by others, on the double-decker tour, 2 hours later, you are either waiting to get on/off the bus, stuck in traffic or wasting valuable vacation time while hearing a discussion of something you would have seen in Michael's tour within 15 minutes. If you can afford it, Michael’s tour is so much more practical and covers so much more, especially as time is of the essence when on vacation!

Advice Michael of your must sees before hand and your plans after the tour to assist with his planning of your route. As our tour with Michael was in the evening, seeing London on a Saturday night, with much less traffic, (meaning we could cover more in our time) gave us an entirely different look and feel (more "royal") then when we took another less traditional tour, which was also exhiliarating great fun, the next day.

We often use tour guides when visiting new locations. Michael's tour ranks up there with the best. Michael's style is very service orientated as he is a one man show, and he strives very hard to please. Michael’s tour will delight anyone who wants to experience London in classic style and ease!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HopesandDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst NSW
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great insight of London for our first visit.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I must start this review by saying "Thanks Michael!" From the moment we were picked up from the door of our hotel to the time we were dropped off in the afternoon, we felt very comfortable touring the sights of London with Michael and his Black Taxi Tour. Very knowledgeable, informative, comfortable and accommodating are the best words to describe our experience. Travelling around in an impeccably clean 'London Taxi' was easy, in and out all day at the major sights, and then ringing Michael to signal that we were ready to be picked up, worked very well (especially after we used his local phone, instead of my international one. AS soon as we realized we were having trouble working out our new phone, Michael lent us one of his. The system worked well. On our return yesterday, we found some photos in out inbox from Micheal that he took of our party. The gifts we received, including a DVD and a pack of information about the places we visited were unexpected, and appreciated.

In all, this was a great experience for us to see as much of London during our whirlwind 3 day visit between Christmas and New Year. BOOK THIS TOUR!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish Wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tour”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Thank you Michael Churchill you are the best informed tour guide and
driver that we have encountered in all the years of travel.
Out of the way places that most people don't encounter and all the fantastic information that goes with it. We never would have been able to see and learn about the city in the short time we had in London.. We will book another tour on our next visit...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River Region, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great day out. highly recommended.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Did the whole day tour with hubby and our 8yr old daughter. We all had such a great day. We visited all of the big touristy places like Big Ben, The Tower Bridge, Picadilly Circus etc etc but also visited a lot of smaller places that people don't usually see- Margaret Thatcher's house, Nigela Lawson's old house, The Princess Diana Memorial and the spot where public hangings used to take place. Michael is a very knowledgable man. We had a great day out and would reccommend it to everyone! Oh and- the heating in the taxi is so good! It kept us warm on the coldest day we had on our UK holiday.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SKH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great way to appreciate London!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I took my Mom to London mid-December 2012 as a surprise birthday present. After reading several reviews on TripAdvisor about London Black Taxi Tours, and how great Michael was at describing the city, I booked a 1/2 day tour via email. Michael made the arrangements easy to set up and we met at the appointed time in front of our hotel. What a wonderful experience over the next 4 hours! Michael drove us all over London, pointing out both better and lesser known attractions, and providing a detailed and interesting narrative throughout the tour. Whenever we wanted to stop and take pictures, or spend some time walking, he'd drop us off for whatever time we wanted to spend. I'd simply call his cell phone, let it ring three times, and then hang up as a signal for him to pick us up. Michael took us through many interesting sites and housing areas where celebrities either lived now or had lived in the past. Our final stop was the Grenadier pub where we enjoyed a traditional meal and local brew. He also provided us with various items to take home with us, and we appreciated his humor and tremendous knowledge of the city and it's history. I suggest you book with Michael early and take his tour at the beginning of the London adventure--it provides a great overview!!! Well done, Michael!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Black Taxi Tours also viewed

 

Been to London Black Taxi Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing