We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot to stop when shopping”

Royal Academy of Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.63*
and up
Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London
Ranked #96 of 1,591 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1768, this thriving center of artistic excellence is the oldest fine arts institution in Britain, whose exhibitions attract over a million people each year.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
159 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot to stop when shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Royal Academy is a lovely place to stop when shopping in Piccadilly, and I was also fortunate enough to be invited to a private viewing of the Summer Exhibition with plenty of champagne flowing, so that made the pictures much better! Seriously, it was an exhibition of up and coming artists and so I could see myself buying a couple of pieces but generally not to my taste but a great experience nonetheless.

At the front of the building they have a lovely courtyard which you can access from Picadilly. See my photo from the inside.

In the summer the fountains will be operating which the kids love!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tycariadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    393
    128
    51
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Summer exhibition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

My first time visiting the Summer Exhibition. There was so much to take in and I could easily go again and spot new things each time. It wasn't too crowded so I spent a really pleasant few hours there. Also ate lunch at the restaurant there. The food and service were lovely and the setting was wonderful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nagsSuffolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Summer Exhibition - zany as usual. But must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Annual visit to the Summer Exhibition on preview day. Once again the RA staff have done a brilliant job of providing a thought-provoking, entertaining and a little controversial exhibition. My congratulations to everyone.

Although very busy the exhibition rooms did not feel too crowded. I recommend all visitors to make the effort to go to the RA during this exhibition.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibition but the catering is terrible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the 6th June opening of the Summer Exhibition. So so much to see, do go and enjoy the huge range of diverse talent.
However.....
The catering in the Keeper's House is never anything to charm the palate. But on the Big Day of the year there is no excuse for running out of food by 2pm and the service was pathetic. And.
In the cocktail bar later in the afternoon there was no tea or coffee available as they had run out of cups.
Frankly, the catering team need to visit the Turner in Margate for a lesson in providing a wide range of good quality food, promptly and catering for special dietary needs, gf for example.
Well done for the exhibition but a bit fat zero for the catering.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyDinerYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Madness yet again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

My rant of last year continues. I didn't think the Summer Exhibition could ever be worse than last year but hey-ho....! Just got back.

To be honest I'm exhausted from venting my anger at what I saw. I think the selection committee of the RA, responsible for the work on display, need labotomy's at the worst or an optician at best.

Dreadful doesn't do it justice. I couldn't leave quickly enough.

From discussions around me, as with last year, it seems I'm was not alone

I love the RA. The exhibitions are interesting and well curated. But those responsible for ensuring the strengthening of this signature and highly anticipated exhibition, have, frankly, lost the plot..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Academy of Arts also viewed

 

Been to Royal Academy of Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing