We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Portrait Gallery
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience National Portrait Gallery
from $44.47
More Info
from $85.52
More Info
from $32.94
More Info
from $141.90
More Info
Reviews (5,539)
Filter reviews
5,539 results
Traveler rating
3,528
1,577
360
53
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,528
1,577
360
53
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern portraits taylor wessing british history trafalgar square historical figures henry viii permanent collection on display special exhibition worth a visit free entry couple of hours rainy day audio guide tudor npg artists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 5,539 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

As you can enter the
Museum for free, You may consider visiting this museum to have a look around.
The Tudor and Stuart art isn’t my cup of tea, but I did really enjoy the exhibition we paid for.
There are lockers available, a busy cafe and a shop.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank GlobetrotterNL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPG_London_UK, General Manager at National Portrait Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

This museum was excellent

They have some really good portraits

Entry was free

Was such a good experience

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPG_London_UK, General Manager at National Portrait Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2019

Hello and thank you for your review.

Really pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

One of my favourite museums in London!!
In spite of not being English and not being able to recognize all those people in the portrais I really enjoyed the NPG!!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank carolina75000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPG_London_UK, General Manager at National Portrait Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Thank you so much for your review.

It's really great to read that you hold us in such high esteem and that you enjoy the NPG so much.

We really hope we will be able to welcome you through our doors again very soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Michael Jackson- On the Wall Exhibition 2018
My partner and I love photography and on the off chance popped in to the National Portrait Gallery and enjoyed looking at the free BP portrait Award 2018 and enjoyed our day very much. we stumbled across the Michael Jackson- On the Wall Exhibition and paid £20.00 each and it was worth it. A feast for the eyes and ears cleverly done, brilliant for the Michael Jackson fan or the courious.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank fannyadams2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPG_London_UK, General Manager at National Portrait Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Thank you for leaving this delightful review.

I am so happy to read that you popped by for the BP Portrait Award and took the time to explore and enjoy the Michael Jackson: On The Wall exhibition.

We have some very exciting new exhibitions coming up, so we hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

After visiting the National Gallery, take an hour to go around the corner and visit the National Portrait Gallery. It feature hundreds of years of Kings, priests, politicians, and interesting people. Their portraits are wonderful and their stories are better.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank miller1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPG_London_UK, General Manager at National Portrait Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Thank you for leaving us a review.

We really hope we will be able to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews