We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed”

National Portrait Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.19*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
More Info
$31.80*
and up
London Royal Parks Bike Tour including Hyde Park
Ranked #40 of 1,651 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world-famous museum houses portraits of noted Britons from the Tudors to the present day.
Avon, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am really into history so I really enjoyed this museum. Same as the other museums if you have extra time in London and can enjoy some museums then do it. This is probably my favorite, some would probably find it boring but if you can get away from the touristy things and enjoy some "extras" I would recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,967
    1,333
    305
    43
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of london's many free attractions the national portrait gallery is a must do. Its so beautifully laid out, I could have spent hours wandering the rooms getting lost in the beautiful paintings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ingrids24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Elizabeth exhibition poor value for money”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I love the National Portrait Gallery and visit every time I am in London. This time it was the first day of a new exhibition and having been impressed by previous - Lucien Freud for example - decided to go to this one. It costs £12.50 standard adult - £13.50 with gift aid. My friend and I both felt this Is excessive for the exhibition - there are only 5 rooms and though interesting, there wasn't much to see of note. We felt £5 would have been a fair price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KfromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Drop in and Out When You Have the Time”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is an amazing free attraction. We decided not to do it all in one marathon session but started on level 3 (oldest), then did other things, then returned again to do another part of the gallery whenever we were in the Trafalgar Square area with some time to spare.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MindtheGap1996to2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Compact size, interesting portaits”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A great little gallery to visit, perhaps if you've just finished the National Gallery, as its right beside it. It's fun to see all the different portraits of famous people through the years, including recent celebrities. The small size makes it easy to go through and feel like you've seen it all without getting museum fatigue. Worth a visit for sure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TorontoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 

Been to National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing