We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Portrait Gallery
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Portrait Gallery
from $31.70
More Info
from $91.20
More Info
Reviews (5,338)
Filter reviews
4,418 results
Traveler rating
2,921
1,204
237
37
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,921
1,204
237
37
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern portraits taylor wessing british history trafalgar square historical figures henry viii on display special exhibition free entry couple of hours rainy day audio guide tudor npg art portraiture vogue
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,418 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Really enjoyed my time in the National Portrait Gallery. Free entrance was a bonus. Rooms flows into rooms and there are a lot of beautifully kept oil paintings of famous British people. Very cool!

Thank TimW4356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Portraits old and new from medieval paintings to today. Tudor portraits were very interesting, the details on the ladies gowns was quite amazing, it must have taken hours of work. The Victorian section was mostly business men and politicians with the odd ladies portrait here and there. The modern section was much more varied with lady artists appearing too. Some modern works were quite scary faces, I never imagined Dylan Thomas to look like he did. My favourite was the painting from the 1980s of Paul McCartney, it really caught him down to a tee, brilliant

Thank Olwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

When we entered the museum, some guards checked our bag for security. There were 4 floors with different periods each so you can directly go to the part that interest you. The portraits were welle managed, spaced so it was nice to watch. There is a complete description for each portrait: the date of painting, the name of the artist. There were some bench so you can sit and look the portrait. The only little problem is that the descriptions were a little messy. There were clean and free toilets. The museum was totally free but you could donate to help.

I recommand you the National Potrait Gallery!

Thank makessim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Free entry although they very much appreciate a donation. The portraits are amazing. Look like they could have been painted yesterday although some are 500 years old.
Quality is out of this world.
My only negative is the the prices in the cafe are way too much. I’d grab a bite outside then have a look around.

Thank am231058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Great addition to the National Gallery. Many portraits in different styles, as well as sculptures. I think it would take about 2 hours to visit everything comfortably. I didn’t have so many time (came short before closure), so the next time in London I’m sure going to visit again

Thank Rolshchikov-Dmitry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

In October, I went with my class to London. I have visited a lot of monuments and museums but my favorite is the National Portrait Galery. They are a lot of portraits,
Ed Seeran portrait, Kings and Queens portraits, famous artists portraits...If you realy love art, go in this place for 1~2 hours but if is just for see or if you are with childrens, or teenagers go only for 30 minutes~1 hour. There are a lot of expositions and it's accessible for everyone.

1  Thank Unicorn13666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was really busy, but expected that as it was the Michael Jackson Exhibition, so that couldnt be helped!

Thank Dionne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this museum which is filled with portraits from various periods in history up to the present day. You can be sure you'll see original portraits of historical figures that you will recognize. They are that well known. Highly recommend a visit here. The entrance is around the right side of the National Gallery.

Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Maybe it’s not a must see museum but if you have some time it’s deffinitely worth it. I was surprised that there are a lot of very modern portraits, not only the old ones.

Thank Pawelkowypawcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After visiting the National Gallery this was a must especially because of the "jewelery" and "black and white photographic" displays.
Free entrance. Very very interesting.

Thank jbrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews