We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Gallery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Portrait Gallery

National Portrait Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.55*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #37 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world-famous museum houses portraits of noted Britons from the Tudors to the present day.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I don't know about you but I can't spend too long in a museum or gallery without a feeling of overload! The National Portrait gallery seems to hold your attention more than most because you are seeing people you know/artists you know. We went last Friday to see the Tudor portraits - fascinating and well worth popping in to see them. Only downside was that the venue was VERY hot and stuffy, should have checked to see if they had a cloakroom.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,798
    1,269
    283
    41
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Drop in, must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We happened to come across the National Portrait Gallery while walking around and decided to check it out. What a wonderful gallery it was! So many portraits and photographs to see. They feature many important people throughout history.

Dutchess Catherine Middleton's official portrait is also on display right now at the gallery as well as other official royal portraits (such as their engagement photos)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbug0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A National Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Every time I am in London I have to 'pop-into' the Portrait Gallery.
What a treasure it is...and no charge to enter. I love that it is solely dedicated to the art of portraiture...painting or photography...historic or contemporary. This trip I had a quick pre-theatre lunch at the bar in Gallery's top floor restaurant. Reservations are definitely recommended during tourist season and weekends. What a view - next trip I'm going back for a glass of wine and watch the sunset.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nannort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“interesting... british history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice little section on the tudors . Not just an art museum brilliant in the fact they backed up there art with information. I did have little expectations but was really Suprised. Really enjoyed. Thanks .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maz57SouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really good, even for a Philistine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The title says it all really. I was very impressed by the Renaissance art, which could even give the Uffizi gallery in Florence a run for its money. The advantage of the National Portrait Gallery, however, is that is all free to view. I would return here, though like lots of London attraxtions, your feet will ache and there is never enough time to do it all in one day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pirret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 

Been to National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing