We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience National Gallery
from $66.51
More Info
from $94.86
More Info
from $39.71
More Info
from $44.39
More Info
Reviews (38,468)
Filter reviews
38,468 results
Traveler rating
28,345
8,329
1,456
222
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28,345
8,329
1,456
222
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van gogh trafalgar square famous paintings sainsbury wing da vinci art lovers love art great art works of art free admission amazing collection on display audio guide beautiful building few hours rainy day couple of hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 38,468 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2019

The National Gallery contains more than 2,000 Western European paintings, dating from the Middle Ages to the early 20th century. My wife and daughter thoroughly enjoyed their visit of this gallery.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Gregory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

Great place to stop in for a 2-3 hour visit. Lots to see and admire, large selection of Italian art as well as many others. Enjoy in the afternoon, then go to Trafalgar square to enjoy the music before heading off into Soho or Covent Garden for some great food.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

I often come her to admire the paintings and I love that you can go at your own pace. There are plenty of seats in front of some of the most incredible paintings. You see all sorts of people and you can watch them too. Staff are always helpful.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank AnuNim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019 via mobile

I went with my teens even though they're not normally into museums or art, they did find it interesting seeing how even hundreds of years ago people were very talented, and although they didn't have cameras they could make some pretty realistic paintings. It was nice seeing famous paintings I had only seen in book's or in other media. The museum itself was very busy but everybody wants respectfully enough to give each other room, it was full of tourists which is to be expected. The staff were polite and friendly but in the background. It is free to visit to this museum and I highly recommended. There is a lot to see so if you are looking for particular painter or artist it's probably best to look online and see what paintings they have and what flow the situated on. They do have toilets and lived in the building.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank LondonBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

Superb collection of some iconic artwork, many examples of the best of British and international artists work

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank london1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews