We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Gallery

National Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.36*
and up
Small-Group Guided Tour of the National Gallery in London
Ranked #2 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Gallery houses the national collection of paintings in the Western European tradition from the 13th to the 19th centuries. It is on show 361 days a year, free of charge.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

It's just overall wonderful to be in that place. The best art to lift your spirit. Such a good selection of Dutch, Flemish, Italian art. I sat a while for a rest in various places in the building- many comfortable couches to sit on and have a rest. The café is really nice and the service so pleasant. The other people there must have felt the same, because everyone seemed uplifted.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 12aliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19,548
    6,115
    1,089
    180
    91
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“so much to see in a spectacular setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Loved it here, great building and so many old and priceless paintings to inspire. Entry if free with a suggested donation of 4 pounds and it is well worth that if you can spare it. Nice gift shop with friendly staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank spud387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

What can I say!! This was a really fine museum. Many famous and beautiful paintings. Everything tidy and clean. Loved it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kumcretirednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never Tire of the National Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I am lucky I can visit the National Gallery on a regular basis, and there always appears to be something different to see even if you're not going to a special exhibition. It is great to wander around to see what grabs your attention and then spend time with your favourites. I would reccomend joining one of the free tours that starts in the Sainsbury Wing entrance, they last an hour and take in several paintings around the different rooms, giving a much more detailed insight into the art.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CJW125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Culture and a pleasant change of pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My partner and I visited on a whim and were wry glad we did. There is plenty to see and a wide variety of artists to suit every taste. Well worth a couple hours of your time if you fancy some culture.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beechbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing