We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“metra club”
Review of Comedy Carnival

Comedy Carnival
Ranked #14 of 1,290 Nightlife in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: London's Comedy Carnival features award-winning, international comedians from around the world, every Thursday, Friday and Saturday night. Acts that have performed at the club include Russell Brand, Flight of the Conchords, Jim Jefferies, Michael McIntyre, Micky Flanagan, Milton Jones, Sarah Millican and Jack Whitehall. Comedy Carnival is located in Central London, off Leicester Square. Tickets include entry to the fantastic club night afterwards, open until 3am. "High-class entertainment you can count on" TIME OUT MAGAZINE.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

visited the metra club for family birthdays, great entertainment and all enjoyed the show,lovely atmosphere and well worth a visit, situated in leicester bsquare london , ideal for a good night out and we all had a great laugh

Thank sscham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteGionis, Manager at Comedy Carnival, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thanks for your excellent review of our comedy night. It seems like you had a great birthday night out with us. We have a different line up of comedians every week so please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 283 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went here Friday 12th Oct with friends & had a great evening. For us the best comedian was the headline act - extremely funny & typical english humour. Drinks were fairly pricey in there even though it was happy hour (£2.50 small glass of coke!) however that didn't stop us from having a good time. Would recommend for couples (HOWEVER DON'T SIT FRONT ROW!! - one guy on a date was embarrased by having his lunchbox pulled out of his bag) & friends. Competition for these sort of events is high in London, but booked this through Lastminute.com & @ £5 a ticket, you could really complain.

Thank jow452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteGionis, Manager at Comedy Carnival, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thanks for your review of our comedy club Jo. We're really glad you and your partner enjoyed the show. We offer show & dinner packages which are popular with couples that we recommend you book next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Whilst the price was not too bad for a central London venue, the place itself was dirty and felt quite seedy. My biggest gripe was how misleading the advertising was which suggested the venue was a proper theatre holding a large audience, in reality it was a small room with some fold out chairs, so paying for priority seating was pointless. The staff weren't friendly and the price of drinks varied considerably from round to round ranging from quite reasonable to ridiculously expensive. We left as soon as the show was over as the 'nightclub' which it turned into looked seedy and the price of drinks shot up considerably. Comedians were OK but I've seen far better at other venues. Not a badly priced night (if you exclude the expensive rounds) but very different to how it is protrayed on the website.

3  Thank Girl_in_her_thirties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteGionis, Manager at Comedy Carnival, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

We always aim to please and take all feedback on board. Please note that Comedy Carnival is now hosted at Bar Rumba (Metra Club closed at the end of 2012). Seating at all our venues is arranged 'theatre style', meaning rows of seats. Whilst these seats are not fixed, Bar Rumba can hold 200 people when arranged this way.

If you're looking for comedy in a bigger, more theatrical venue, please come to our shows at The Grand in Clapham. It is a restored Victorian theatre seating hundreds of people. There are photos of the venue here: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g186338-d1887341-Reviews-Comedy_Carnival_at_The_Grand-London_England.html.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Went for a good night out to celebrate a birthday. We had an excellent evening until we were upstairs in the nightclub and after being there for an hour and a half a foreign jobsworth security guy comes up to us and tried to make us check our coats in - we had them way out of the way on a ledge whilst we were enjoying the evening in our own corner at the end of the bar. He proceeded to tell us that "it is policy" that you have to check in your coats. Nobody told us and there is no notice anywhere to be seen. The argument went on and we were told that if we didn't check our coats in we would have to leave!!! We are a party of middle aged women! He even called for back up (ha ha!) and two little men with curly earpieces and dark suits came over. My friend insisted on seeing the manager and he eventually offered his apologies and said we could stay. By then my friend was so p'd off that our evening had been so unnecessarily spoiled she told him to shove it and we were leaving. The foreign yellow-vested man with the curly earpiece even followed us out!! It's obvious these places pick out who is either too old or doesn't spend enough money and decide to make some pathetic excuse up just to get rid of them. We were absolutely disgusted and very angry at being subjected to this treatment. SHAME ON YOU 1 LEICESTER SQUARE!!!

3  Thank Hartmansessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteGionis, Manager at Comedy Carnival, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thanks for your good review of our comedy club. We're really pleased you had a great birthday celebration at the comedy club and thought the show was excellent. Please note that Comedy Carnival is now hosted at Bar Rumba. The nightclub you referred to has closed. Bar Rumba is a friendly club with excellent staff and a great place to continue your birthday night out after the show. We hope you visit us at our new location soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This place was better than we expected. It was £12 to get in, which is pretty good considering the quality of the show and the venue. Great value for these tough times!

2  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteGionis, Manager at Comedy Carnival, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thanks for your excellent review of our comedy club Kelly. We hope to see you at the club again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comedy Carnival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing