We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub lunch”

The Horniman at Hay's
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #910 of 1,665 Quick Bites in London
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southwark
Description: You will find The Horniman at Hays in London Bridge within a short stroll of HMS Belfast, Tooley Street and London Bridge Tube - however you won't find another like it. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality. This area along the south bank of the Thames was historically known as the 'Larder of London'. The pub is on the site of the tea warehouse owned by Frederick Horniman, a famous tea dealer, and Hay's Wharf was the largest and oldest wharf in the Port of London. Inside our pub, attractive friezes depict Horniman's travels to Africa, India and the Americas.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just left HMS Belfast and was en route to the Hays Galleria for lunch before taking a trip to the top of the Shard. Came up on Hornimans at Hays. First impression was "Wow, this looks great!" It was packed and what impressed me was the sunken main area.

Coming in from the walkway and south bank, you descend to the main bar. There is seating at the entrance level but you need to secure a table then go down to the bar and place your order.

I had Fish and Chips and a pint. Just the ticket. Spent about an hour before taking off to wander through Hays Galleria.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scouse1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Horniman at Hay's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Scouse1941, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The Horniman at Hays. Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived for an early lunch.
Wonderful location overlooking the Thames and HMS Belfast.
Very short walk from London Bridge railway station.
Choose to eat inside as a little windy and cold. The tables outside offered great views.
Friendly greeting.
Food arrived in good time, well cooked and portions were of good size.
Ocean Fish and Chips
Six scampi and two nice sized portions of haddock, plenty tartar sauce, mushy peas and chips.
Nelsons Fish and Chips
Again good sized and well cooked.
Tasted fresh and cooked to order.
Friendly service and tables cleaned fairly quickly.
Beer was a little pricey but good.
Enjoyable experience considering it’s central London!
Will be back!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank AandEEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Horniman at Hay's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good evening,

Thank you so much for your awesome review.
I will pass your thanks on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hornimans.
We hope you have a lovely day!

Kind Regards,
The Hornimans management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location is excellent. Stopped here for a quick pint after a mornings Tourist activity.

Ordered a burger and Toad in the whole, which came to £28. Drinks of a pint of Peroni and a pint of coke came to £ 9.45

Server behind the bar was miserable, as was the manager floating around. Ordered the food, and to be fair it was out to the table in 15 minutes. Great speed and my burger was really good. Unfortunately the chips were just oven chips which were okay, but I did expect better.

The toad in the whole had nice sausages but i didn't rate the batter.

The server kindly asked if we wanted any ketchup etc. But the tables were quite dirty outside and it was clear the section was not under supervision as there were empty glasses on a lot of tables. New guests were having to move them themselves.

I would go back, as the location is great and food is okay.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank TUMBO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Horniman at Hay's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good evening,

Thanks for your review, we were very busy yesterday and slightly short-staffed(no excuse, of course!). We do try our very best to stay on top of cleanliness but it can sometimes take a while to get around to all of our tables in our big pub. I do hope you will come back to visit us again soon and I can promise you will be greeted by a smile!
We appreciate your feedback and review.
Have a fabulous evening!

-The Horniman's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

A quirky venue with comfortable (and plentiful) seating and an interior which is pleasant on the eye (old-worldish). The menu is not extensive but sufficient to provide reasonable vegetarian and carnivore offerings, with decent serving sizes at a good price (£40 for 3 main meals). It is located alongside the Thames so makes for a very pleasant walk in view of Tower Bridge.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank EconomynotBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Horniman at Hay's, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Hey there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

I went to the Horniman on a Wednesday night for a couple of beers with friends.
We bought two pints of Wooha, however we had to return them because they both tasted strongly like washing up liquid and they were undrinkable.
The bartender was very helpful and offered to replace them straight away.
I asked for two pints of Truman’s Swift which is a beer that I’m familiar with as I have had it at various pubs and at the Truman’s microbrewery on a tour before. However, the pints were completely flat and tasted strongly like vinegar. I asked the bartender to try them who agreed they were undrinkable, and he took Swift off the tap straight away.
I was next offered a Doombar which was slightly better but still off, so in the end I ended up having two Amstels.
It is disgraceful that a Nicholson’s pub that wants to be known for quality ales sells them in a foul condition. I am also sure the breweries involved wouldn’t be pleased about this.
The staff was very helpful. Somewhat alarmingly they didn’t seem particularly surprised about the issues.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank hotfudgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Horniman at Hay's, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Hi there,
thank you for taking the time leave us a review.
We sincerely apologize for this incident. Due to the hot weather, we had some technical issues that are now resolved.
We hope you will give us another chance to prove you that our premium ales are served correctly, like every other Nicholson's pub..
Regards,
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horniman at Hay's also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Horniman at Hay's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing