We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed - now added to my A List”
Review of The Hide London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hide London
Ranked #62 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very impressed - now added to my A List”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

It is a 20 minute tube journey out of the centre but it couldn't be more handy for the Northern Line with a train every 4 minutes or so.
I was impressed. It has a very nice decor, pleasant and efficient receptionist; very nicely presented continental breakfast (includes meat and cheese with sliced bread not rolls). There is road noise in the rooms on the front but nowhere near as bad as what I have experienced on Gower Street in Bloomsbury and, with ear-plugs, I slept well on both nights in a comfy bed (executive double for single occupancy). The bathroom worked fine with good water pressure. Providing an IPOD dock was a real bonus.
Thank you Tripadvisor contributors - I would never have looked at Hendon if my usual hotels in the centre hadn't been booked up and I only booked it based upon previous contributors' recommendations. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank firtreecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    224
    38
    6
    4
See reviews for
82
565
48
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I trusted Tripadvisor on this one and it paid off. Let's start with something slightly negative. The location is a bit off from the center of the city. However, I was just in town for shopping and found everything I needed and more very close to this hotel. There's a great mall called Brent Cross close by which had some really great stores and great food places like Wagama. If you want to travel a couple of bus stops further you can find the Staples center with really great bargains in places like Argos. I am a bit embarrassed to say that I never actually went downtown on this trip (but I've seen Big Ben about a million times already).
The single room was really tidy and and there was some nice L'Occitane bathroom amenities and complimentary Fortnum & Mason tea which shows they pay attention to detail. I noticed the same thing during breakfast with some nice exquisite brand marmelade and good coffee. Staff was helpful and accomodated my every wish and I had a couple. Thank you for a short but pleasant stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_S_Sjogren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Value for money is unreal when compared with most hotels in London. The place is spotless, and the attention to detail is unreal. Hendon Central Tube station is two minutes walk and there are plenty of free car parking spaces at the hotel. One of the best hotels i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisuk1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I've stayed in the Hide hotel with a friend at the beginning of the month. The hotel is located a 2 min walk from the tube station. The hotel is very nice and clean, the room was a good size, complimentary water and teas, l'octaine essentials all were great!! The breakfast was very fresh and the selection was good. The friendly staff made our stay pleasurable!!! Definitely will be staying there again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalGalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

This is my first review...I have never felt compelled to review a hotel before so please read and you will see why...
My Wife treated me to a Birthday theatre trip in London and found the Hide online. The hotel looked very swish in the photos and the reviews looked good so she booked it.
What an inspired choice of hotel.
When we arrived our room was not quite ready and the manager gave us complementary tea whilst we waited...not like the big chain hotels I have stayed in who have fleeced you for this tea....when the room was ready the Manager showed us around the room (I think he was the owner as you genuinely got the impression he was very proud of his hotel and really wanted you to enjoy your stay...it wasn’t like an American hotel where they are just after a tip). On our way out to go into the city I overheard one of the cleaners say.."When I have finished here I Want to clean in the reception"...The staff obviously take great pride in their work (I have worked in hotels often you just hear complaining from cleaners) and it was very refreshing to hear.
At breakfast we were met with a very happy waitress who kept the tea coming. We were sat near a couple who I assume were either Jewish or Muslim who asked for non pork meat with their breakfast as the cold meats on offer were mainly pork based...this was met with a very friendly and helpful response and a plate of the requested meat and a separate salad soon appeared for them.

I have never known such a friendly, helpful and work proud staff in a hotel.

There was a little noise from the road out side...but it was not enough to disturb.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Central London hotels are often ridiculously priced so we were looking for something within easy striking distance of the centre by tube and free parking was also a good idea.

This small boutique style hotel has been fully renovated and custom created from two large houses on Hendon Way. the finish is excellent and the staff very helpful and accomodating. we arrived with friends and one of the rooms were not ready but we were all given coffee and biscuits even though we only had to wait 15 minutes for the second room to be ready.

The decor is modern with good facilities, wifi, lots of complimentary toileteries etc.
Good shower even if the bathroom was a little snug.
There is no restaurant but the breakfast in the lounge was very good with fresh coffee, pastries, cold meats and cereals to suit most tastes.

The location is not the most scenic and it is on a busy road but with good sound proofed windows and air conditioned rooms there is very little noise. Dont let google maps or similar put you off.

2 minute walk to Hendon Central on the Northern line makes travelling anywhere on the tube a very simple option. Free access to a local commercial Gym also included

Ideal for visiting London if you dont mind a short tube ride to the centre.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevs_and_Deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for only one night but I can honesty say I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the tube station and I found the staff were the most friendliest and helpful that I've ever come across-from checking in to asking for help to breakfast to checking out. When I was shown my room it was very clean and tidy and all the little extra touches like providing toothbrushes and toothpaste, bottles of water in the mini fridge, not just tea and coffee but hot chocolate and cookies aswell!! Just shows that they care and cater for different tastes. I liked the fact that the bed was more than big enough to sleep two people who like alot a space. The breakfast was continental style with bread, jams, cheese and cold cuts etc and although a hot breakfast would have been nice (especially on such a cold morning) it was enough to fill us up until lunch.

My only minor complaint was that I could hear the traffic outside (as my room was facing the main road) but all in all a very pleasant experience with this hotel.

I'd like to thank the staff for making it an enjoyable stay and I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heartshaped_cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#103 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#64 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide London

Property: The Hide London
Address: 230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in London
#56 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Business Hotel in London
#134 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hide London 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hide London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide London Hotel London
The Hide London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing