We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of The Hide London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hide London
Ranked #59 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Hide is excellent for our needs, especially when driving from the North into London.
Excellent customer service - not only are all the staff friendly and helpful, there are free drinks in the fridge and chocolates for your arrival.
We understand the rooms are a little small, but we don't mind that, they are very clean and tidy, and have stayed 3 times so far and will certainly be going back.
Good quality and choice breakfast buffet included in the price, which you don't get now a days at many hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukebonbuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    226
    38
    6
    5
See reviews for
83
579
48
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly. The free drinks in the fridge and chocolates on arrival were a lovely touch. This hotel would have been in a fine location if the tube station nearby hadn't been closed meaning we had to get an overground train first making our journey into the centre of London take well over an hour rather than the 20 minutes on the tube we'd thought it'd be. That isn't the hotels fault though, we were just unfortunate. The walls are also clearly very thin as every door that was opened in the morning woke us up!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kaiiak321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 days at the Hide Hotel in Hendon. Of course, being outside the city proper does limit your spontaneous access. The hotel is about 20 minutes outside London proper but is just 2-3 minutes from the Hendon Central tube stop and trains come every 2-5 minutes. You are about 5 minutes from a large mall to supply any needs you have locally and there is a small store just outside the tube station for any short term supplies. We stayed in a room in the back (#15). It was EXTREMELY quiet!! We were warned that the rooms were small so anticipated this...this was true but the rooms were well appointed although would have to say that the bath towels were a little "skimpy" in nature. The breakfast (which is included) was exceptional for a hotel this size...also we had the rare experience of having a "frig" stocked with drinks that were complimentary. It was definitely a place we would use again...

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are smaller but are definitely quieter than the rooms that border the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just a short walk from Hendon tube station is The Hide. We arrived for our overnight stay a little early but the receptionist was very kind in checking us in and placing our luggage in our room so we could enjoy the rest of our day.

The staff that we spoke to were very friendly and asked if we had come to stay for a special occasion. We mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary and decided to treat ourselves to a weekend away. When we returned to the hotel in the evening, we went to our room to find two bottles of champagne, strawberries and chocolates.......we were absolutely speechless! What a lovely gesture!

Our room was excellent, a good size with a comfortable bed and spotless. The decor was also pleasing on the eye. The bathroom had a large walk in shower which was also very clean. The breakfast is continental and the room where you eat has a lovely buzzing atmosphere.

I cannot recommend The Hide enough. Wonderful people, great room and the best weekend that we have had away in a very long time. Hope to go back sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived at our hotel and were instantly impressed with the location and exterior of the hotel. The hotel is on a main road and parking is limited but we were able to let them know we wanted a car parking space and there was one there for us. The hotel is very close to the Brent Cross Shopping centre and there are plenty of restaurants, pubs and shops nearby. There is a 24hr convenience shop a few doors up.

Our check in was great, we had actually arrived 2 hours before the official check in time but this was not a problem and we received a very warm welcome and with just a 5 minute wait while our room was checked over. We were shown to our room which was a little bigger than expected after reading reviews (although we have stayed in Japan where rooms really are tiny, so maybe this is what we had imagined). The hotel decor is lovely, very modern and clean.

The rooms had plenty of space to walk on either side of the bed, there were bedside tables on either side of the bed, a lamp and reading light on each, a phone to contact reception and make calls, a dressing table, TV and wardrobe, complete with safe and complimentary mini bar fridge (contents of mini bar were non alcoholic drinks),a kettle with the options of tea, coffee and hot chocolate, which I was very happy with plus 2 options of biscuits. Also there was a hairdryer in the room and an iron and ironing board was just a phone call away! The bathroom was lovely, clean and well set out. The sink was large and the mirror above was anti fog which is great after a hot shower! The bathroom was stocked with towels, hand towels and slippers, L'Occtaine products including toothbrushes, emery board, cotton wool pads and cotton buds, shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion. There was no bath but the shower was great, good pressure, plenty of hot water,

The bed was very comfortable, the bedding was clean and fresh, my only niggle was the blinds didn't quite block out the amazing 7am sunshine!! We did not encounter any problems with exterior noise even though we were on a main road. This may be down to the fact our bedroom faced the back of the hotel.

We were staying as a birthday treat and were visiting London to see a show. The hotel is not central London but the Hendon Central underground is literally up the road, 2 mins walk and is a short ride into London. Using the Northern line you are 7 stops away from London Kings Cross and using a day pass for zones 1-4, you will have no problem using the underground to get around and the underground runs to almost midnight so you can spend the full day in central London if you are wanting to see the sights and take in a show.

Thank you again to the staff for a lovely birthday getaway and especially for the lovely treat of chocolates and strawberries. Hopefully we will be staying again soon!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liggylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsberg, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hide. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and big enough to stay for a few days. Breakfast was also very good. Good connection to get to the city by tube (station less than 5 minute walk away from hotel). It takes you 20-25 minutes to get to London city by tube. But the hotel is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Arrived and was greeted by friendly, helpful staff. Executive room was lovely. Not a big room however, it was more than adequate for what we needed. The bathroom was quite large and the shower was great. Complimentary soft drinks in the mini bar. Alcohol in the hotel bar was very cheap for a hotel, especially in London and the mixers/soft drinks were also complimentary. The continental breakfast was thrown in, which was great. Staff were superb. Highly recommend this hotel and will be staying again when visiting London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellow_Pinky_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,069 in London
1,389 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#52 of 1,069 in London
223 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#106 of 1,069 in London
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#127 of 1,069 in London
1,220 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#104 of 1,069 in London
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide London

Property: The Hide London
Address: 230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in London
#56 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Business Hotel in London
#134 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hide London 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Hide London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide London Hotel London
The Hide London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing