We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My 3rd stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hide London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hide London
Ranked #55 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“My 3rd stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is the 3rd time in 3 years and we are happy with our stay at the Hide London. Rooms may be small but the design and layout makes them very comfortable. Anyway we use the room only for sleeping and are out most of the day so it serves its purpose. Even 3 years later, I find the standards of cleanliness and service are just as good.

They offer complimentary mini bars and free wifi. It is nice to have chocolates and drinks. If I rememebr correctly, 6 cans of soft drinks, 2 bottles each of sparkiing and still water and a large bottle of Evian water on the table. In additon tea and coffee are complimentary as well. Car parking is free.

The Hide London is a very small boutique hotel and it is actually 2 houses combined. Breakfast is self service, comes with a lot of choices of fresh fruits, pasty, cold cuts, jam, pate and cereals. No eggs but there are enough varieties.

They can arrange for a mini cab to the airport, depending on the number of luggages and people, the fare ranges from GBP30 to 40. Travelling time to the airport is between 30 to 40 mins during off peak period. It is nice to see that they maintain the hotel very well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug32_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    204
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
525
44
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at The Hide for 2 nights and found it perfect for our needs. The staff were welcoming on arrival and helpful during the stay with advise of where to eat out etc. The room was clean and comfortable with accompanying mini fridge along with the welcoming chocolates and wine.Car parking is a bonus. Wifi is also available. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Collectandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the hide for 3 nights over the May day bank holiday weekend. Last minute deal I got on booking.com was pretty reasonable and I thought I would try somewhere new. Overall the hotel is situated very close to a tube station (Hendon Central). It wasn't the hotel's fault but just our luck there was maintenance being done on the underground lines the same weekend so therefore certain lines weren't fully operational so we had to use rail replacement buses. When I asked the hotel staff about where to get the buses etc they weren't helpful at all.
The woman that checked us in was friendly, she showed us to our room etc.
Getting down to the room. Yes they're small but it's what you would expect in any thriving city unless you're willing to spend crazy money per night. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the furnishings were new and the bathroom was nice. Complimentary drinks were included in the mini fridge which was nice, tea / coffee facilities also available. There were L'occtaine products in the bathroom such as shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, shaving kit, tooth brushes, nail file.
Breakfast is ok. Continental as expected so it's the same as every other hotel offers only if you leave it to near finish they don't seem to put any extra plates out so it's best to get there about 45 minutes before it finishes. I still didn't mind breakfast because it was included in the room rate, if there had of been an extra charge for breakfast I would've went somewhere else.
Looking at how high up the Hide rates on tripadvisor I would say it was overrated, I've stayed in better hotels for similar money and I also wouldn't classify it as a 4 star but if you get a good deal and it's near where you wanna be...go for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armedwithamind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had high hopes for this hotel due to the great reviews but were sorely disappointed to say the least. The staff were extremely unhappy & unhelpful except one young man who helped us with directions. The room itself was hot & humid...& when we asked at reception about the lack of air con, we were told the "whole hotel was warm" & that "nothing could be done". Our flight wasn't until early evening so we had asked the previous night for a late checkout...the receptionist assured us we could check out at anytime the following day. To clarify, we asked again to make sure & were told "anytime would do". The following day, we recieved a call advising us to leave the room ASAP as the hotel was fully booked. We informed him that we had requested a late checkout the previous night & were told it wasn't a problem. He then said he was the manager & he " needed the room for someone else". We had nothing packed or organised but, he wasn't interested & advised us to leave now. On approaching reception, the manager himself was there with the extremely rude female receptionist. The manager kept his head down & the female receptionist muttered "sign there" & pointed with a pen to the invoice. Nothing else was said & they both walked away from the reception desk, leaving us standing there.

Overall, it was a horrible experience & somewhere we will NEVER visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litherland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for my mini moon in March and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stylish, modern friendly hotel.

When we arrived the staff were helpful and informative about how to get around as the nearest tube station was closed. Then we had in our room some lovely chocolates, complimentary soft drinks in a fridge and especially for us for the occasion a large tin of Italian biscuits. The room was very modern and had a very comfortable bed, slippers and robes and was cleaned daily with fresh towels. The room was a good size for us although the bathroom could have been a bit bigger.

The hotel does not have the facilities for hot food,therefore the breakfast was continental, which I prefer to 'The full English' breakfasts, but that may not be to everyone's taste. The young lady serving in there was very helpful and friendly bringing fresh tea and coffee and keeping all the food topped up, which is excellent as I have stayed in many hotels where there is hardly any food left by the end of serving. There is no bar at the hotel, but opposite is a pub/restaurant which looked nice although we did not go there and a Chinese restaurant just up the road.

The hotels location was great as it is very close to Hendon tube station about a 3min walk, which was ideal when having sore feet from trekking around the sights of London, and a bus station for when the tube has problems as we discovered. The hotel is about a 20minute tube ride into London. Some people may not like that the hotel is on a duel carriage way, but this is did not bother us and we had a room at the front of the hotel and were not bothered by the traffic noise.

As I said earlier I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Hotel just a very short walk from the tube. Had a room at the back of the hotel (room 11), it was very quiet. Very comfy bed, powerful double shower with excellent range of complimentary toiletries. Free wifi and mini fridge with complimentary water and fizzy drinks. Only downside was very weak O2 signal, not sure of other networks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jibbsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for London Marathon. Just off the end of the M1 and free parking was a bonus. All the the Staff were very helpful. 2 mins walk from Hendon Central Tube and a 20 mins into London going through most of the major stations on the Northern Line but dont rely on Transport for London website for up-to-date rail times during rail works over the weekend. This meant I had to get a cab at 7:00 on a Sunday morning. However the hotel has a good rate with a taxi firm and this was only £20 to Charing Cross - black cab may have been a lot more.

Breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as its much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#90 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#65 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Premier Inn London Archway
#88 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide London

Property: The Hide London
Address: 230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in London
#56 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Business Hotel in London
#134 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Hide London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide London Hotel London
The Hide London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing