We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL!”
Review of The Hide London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hide London
Ranked #56 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AWFUL!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had high hopes for this hotel due to the great reviews but were sorely disappointed to say the least. The staff were extremely unhappy & unhelpful except one young man who helped us with directions. The room itself was hot & humid...& when we asked at reception about the lack of air con, we were told the "whole hotel was warm" & that "nothing could be done". Our flight wasn't until early evening so we had asked the previous night for a late checkout...the receptionist assured us we could check out at anytime the following day. To clarify, we asked again to make sure & were told "anytime would do". The following day, we recieved a call advising us to leave the room ASAP as the hotel was fully booked. We informed him that we had requested a late checkout the previous night & were told it wasn't a problem. He then said he was the manager & he " needed the room for someone else". We had nothing packed or organised but, he wasn't interested & advised us to leave now. On approaching reception, the manager himself was there with the extremely rude female receptionist. The manager kept his head down & the female receptionist muttered "sign there" & pointed with a pen to the invoice. Nothing else was said & they both walked away from the reception desk, leaving us standing there.

Overall, it was a horrible experience & somewhere we will NEVER visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    226
    38
    6
    5
See reviews for
84
584
48
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Litherland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for my mini moon in March and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stylish, modern friendly hotel.

When we arrived the staff were helpful and informative about how to get around as the nearest tube station was closed. Then we had in our room some lovely chocolates, complimentary soft drinks in a fridge and especially for us for the occasion a large tin of Italian biscuits. The room was very modern and had a very comfortable bed, slippers and robes and was cleaned daily with fresh towels. The room was a good size for us although the bathroom could have been a bit bigger.

The hotel does not have the facilities for hot food,therefore the breakfast was continental, which I prefer to 'The full English' breakfasts, but that may not be to everyone's taste. The young lady serving in there was very helpful and friendly bringing fresh tea and coffee and keeping all the food topped up, which is excellent as I have stayed in many hotels where there is hardly any food left by the end of serving. There is no bar at the hotel, but opposite is a pub/restaurant which looked nice although we did not go there and a Chinese restaurant just up the road.

The hotels location was great as it is very close to Hendon tube station about a 3min walk, which was ideal when having sore feet from trekking around the sights of London, and a bus station for when the tube has problems as we discovered. The hotel is about a 20minute tube ride into London. Some people may not like that the hotel is on a duel carriage way, but this is did not bother us and we had a room at the front of the hotel and were not bothered by the traffic noise.

As I said earlier I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Hotel just a very short walk from the tube. Had a room at the back of the hotel (room 11), it was very quiet. Very comfy bed, powerful double shower with excellent range of complimentary toiletries. Free wifi and mini fridge with complimentary water and fizzy drinks. Only downside was very weak O2 signal, not sure of other networks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jibbsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for London Marathon. Just off the end of the M1 and free parking was a bonus. All the the Staff were very helpful. 2 mins walk from Hendon Central Tube and a 20 mins into London going through most of the major stations on the Northern Line but dont rely on Transport for London website for up-to-date rail times during rail works over the weekend. This meant I had to get a cab at 7:00 on a Sunday morning. However the hotel has a good rate with a taxi firm and this was only £20 to Charing Cross - black cab may have been a lot more.

Breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as its much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Small boutique hotel, very clean and pleasant -- one of the cleanest hotels I ever stayed at. Nice room and 5 minute walk to the Hendon Tube station. Room is large and the bath is very nice with a very nice shower and design. If you are coming by railway from Luton airport you should take a taxi as it is a little far to walk with luggage. Only comment is that TV set in room is a little small (although new). Overall, a great experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Danf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very nice hotel. We were concerned before booking regarding how far away it was from the major sites in London. Its not bad at all. Its like a 20 min tube ride from the hotel to central london. The tube station is also a 2 min walk from the hotel as well. The room was modern and spacious for this price range in london. There was free breakfast as well which was nice to start the day. Staff was very friendly and professional. The neighborhood was very safe and we took walks around for dinner at a nearby indian restaurant. There was also a big mall nearby that we walked to. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cvhs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at The Hide on 21st &22nd April and would recommend it without reservation. From arrival when we were welcomed by the courteous,friendly,efficient and helpful receptionist our stay was without fault . I heartily agree with all of the positive comments made by previous reviewers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubyandcassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,069 in London
1,420 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#46 of 1,069 in London
241 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#91 of 1,069 in London
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,069 in London
1,232 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,069 in London
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide London

Property: The Hide London
Address: 230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in London
#56 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Business Hotel in London
#134 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hide London 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Hide London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide London Hotel London
The Hide London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing