We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Astonishing value, a brilliant experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hide London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hide London
Ranked #59 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Astonishing value, a brilliant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel was astonishing value for money at £85. We have paid twice as much for half as good an experience elsewhere.
The decor was a lesson on how fantastic a place can look if you let an interior designer really use their creative talents and give them their head. I normally prefer old style tradition but I was truly impressed by the lighting, the upholstery and the bathroom fitments. Parking -always a challenge 100 yards from a tube - was fine and the hotel even let us park there for the whole of the day after our stay. Belgian chocolates were provided in the room to welcome us (usually the preserve of the best 5 star hotels) and, amazingly, soft drinks in the fridge were complimentary, as was use of the easy to use in-room safe. Breakfast was delicious with a huge choice of fruit, cakes, savouries and even large fresh strawberries. The only issue was the traffic noise from Hendon Way, which was, however effectively muffled by high-quality double glazing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be best for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrscherylsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    214
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
545
45
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Perfectly located and just a short distance away from the tube station, this hotel is charming and well equipped.
Very clean and comfy and will certainly come back when I am on business in London.
Staff at reception were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. An added advantage is free onsite parking which is a real winner in london.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Very good breakfast, very nice room and very attentive service. Free mini bar with perfect content.

The location was useful as I was working in walking distance.

The hotel was very flexible when we had to change flights, stay longer and sleep in the day.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NightTrain_FRA-LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel feels like my home in the UK. The friendly team with very high professional standards ensures that this is the hotel that I choose to stay when in London. My biggest worry is that everyone will choose to stay at this gem and I won't be able to get a room!! Close to the tube and Brent Cross shopping centre, this exceptional boutique hotel ensures that I feel safe, secure and well looked after whilst enjoying all London has to offer. Fantastic find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lis2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is a small, boutique hotel, with very well appointed rooms. The facility is only 2-3 years old, so everything is very new. The place is spotless and very well maintained. You can tell that they really care about what they are doing. This is not a chain hotel with staff that just does their job half-heartedly. The attention to detail is present everywhere you look. Without a doubt, the most impressive part of this place is the staff; every single one of them treated us like family and was attentive and helpful. The hotel is not in the heart of the city as one reviewer pointed out, but it is not that far either. The tube station is just down the road. I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeVesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Wow, upon arrival all the way through the stay it has been amazing. First of all location, it is literally a 5 minute walk from Hendon Central, just leave the station and turn left and you'll find it. Really easy to get to- just don't trust google or apple maps as it puts you on the wrong side of the road next to the pub and you end up in the residential area looking lost.

We were greeted by the lovely man on the desk who was amazing in the fact that as they'd changed the hotel rates (to lower than what i agreed to pay) he'd knock the difference off my bill...what a start! But then, more surprise, along with the usual hotel bits of breakfast times etc...he took my bag and walked us to our room.

Everything is clean, crisp, modern and with purpose. The bed is the comfiest bed, and the shower, both powerful and hot.
You don't need to take any toiletries! All supplied by l'occitaine (sp?) there was shower gel, shampoo, toothbrush kit, shaving kit, nail kit, slippers, shower cap etc etc. All incredibly well thought out for business travellers perhaps... either way i got excited. The only 'drawback' (only for some) is that the only brightly lit mirror is in the bathroom, and to dry your hair you need to sit on the floor by the wardrobe (as the dryer is connected in there). Not a problem for me, but maybe for those who prefer a dressing table. But there is a seat and small table provided next to it, near plug sockets too should you so wish to move over there.

Free wifi, yay, fully air conditioned (not necessary as its january, but great in the summer i bet)..but one of my favourites..blackout blinds, and of course plug sockets by the bed (awesome when mobile phone is also your alarm)

Greeted with a plate of guilian chocolates and complimentary drinks in the fridge (that were replaced free of charge the next day). Everything was a delight.

Breakfast was impressive. There is a vast variety of choice, from fresh fruit, cereal, pastries to the more eclectic varieties of cheese and meats for the more european palette.

The staff were exceedingly helpful, and the little touches (such as the tea being fortnum and mason) made you feel like you were staying in pure luxury for a bargain and only 20 mins tops to the centre.

Will definately be returning, and will recommend it to you all

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Okay a nice little bijou hotel but honestly what is it with everyone? I have spent time in hundreds of hotels due to my work and personal trips but cannot understand why this is so high up in the London ratings. It is right on the outskirts of London, and for the right customer who wants free parking for the day and then spends 30 minutes taking the tube into zone 1, it is fine. But I can stay at a central zone 1 hotel, with the convenience of walking to my hotel and paying the difference for a car park space and congestion charge. I just do not want to commute at the end of a nice evening or day of shopping/trips all the way back out to Hendon Central station!
The clerks are all friendly and nice but there is NO ROOM service, I mean come on the number of rooms is minimal and I can only think the overheads are being kept to a minimum for kitchen staff. Not impresesed and a really good bit of marketing but not for me!

Room Tip: The hotel faces a major London A-road that filters onto the North Circular and M1, so all fron facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Homepsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#93 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#57 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#99 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide London

Property: The Hide London
Address: 230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in London
#56 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Business Hotel in London
#134 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hide London 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Hide London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide London Hotel London
The Hide London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing