We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hide London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hide London
Ranked #55 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived at the hotel about 11.30am and realised our room wouldn't be ready as check out wasn't til 12pm. That was fine though, the gentleman at reception checked us in, offered us fruit and water and introduced us to the hotel and parking arrangements.
We then headed to the local tube station, only a two minute walk away - however over the weekend the tube was closed due to works on the line. However, there was a free replacement bus that took us to Finchley Road (the gentleman at the hotel reception explained how it would work and where to catch the bus from).
The stay at the hotel was fantastic, the room had lovely decor, a very comfy bed, a very powerful shower, very clean. Free chocolates on arrival, free water and cans of coke/7up in the fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities (oh and biscuits).
The hotel is on a busy main road, but they must have triple glazing as it is so quiet in the hotel.
The breakfast was lovely, coffee (inc latte, cappuccino), tea, fruit, fruit salad, yoghurts, cereal, danishes, bread, cheese, ham, pate etc etc.
The staff were polite and always said good morning/evening.
Would recommend and stay again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    204
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
525
44
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For the £100 we paid we felt we got every penny's worth. Warm welcome on reception, easy check in, room and decor all over is lovely and to a high standard, and the breakfast was a good choice and staff were attentive. The nice touches were the truffles upon arrival, the toiletries and complimentary drinks were that of a 5* hotel for at least £175. The hotel was very helpful when having to catch a replacement bus because the tubes were out. We stayed in room 14 and it was lovely and quiet. Free parking and wifi which was hassle free and easy.

Room Tip: Room 14 was good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Leicester101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This review is going to be short and sweet. For the £100 that I paid, I felt like I got my money's worth and then some. The decor is beautiful, the complimentary items are more reminiscent of a £150/175 hotel, the continental breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We slept beautifully.

The only catch was that we were in room 2. It was very close to the reception and we could frequently hear people moving in the hall and the staff moving around. Not because they were loud but because we were so close. As a couple on a break for our anniversary we were looking for... intimacy, so this was a little off putting at times. We got there in the end, but for a moment it did look like it would rather ruin the mood. The only other downside was the the fact that we had to catch a 35 minute bus ride to get to the hotel, but that was my fault for not checking the tube tables to look for scheduled maintenance.

All in all though, a great stay and an amazing hotel, especially for the money.

Room Tip: Try and get one that's upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Youngcouplefromlondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We wanted a hotel which was good value, easy to access and exit via the motorway and not too far from central London and with (preferably free) parking.
We were not disappointed. We are a well traveled couple who have high expectations for service and cleanliness, The Hide excelled on both accounts.
Upon arriving, we headed straight to the Tube, which is approx 2 minutes walk - to our complete disappointment, the Northern line was undergoing essential works, which ,meant we had to catch the buses to the nearest tube which added approx 45 mins to our journey - it was a real headache and taught us a lesson to check next time.
When we got back to the hotel after a tough day shopping! - we were helped to our room with our cases - the room was fantastic - extra clean, nicely appointed, super comfy bed and a wonderful shower. What made this hotel extra special was the little extras, the complimentary l'occitane toiletries, the complimentary drinks, the fantastic free tea and coffee and the super indulgent hand made chocolates - such a lovely touch.
The staff we so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, sadly i did not get the member of staffs name that helped us so much when we forgot to print a voucher we were going to use, but Thank you! - so helpful.
Lastly - the breakfast was probably one of the best breakfast buffets i have enjoyed at this type of hotel and it was all included in the price.
As you can probably tell, we loved this hotel, so much so, we booked it again as we were heading home in the car.
One last thing, i had read on previous reviews, some people thought this hotel was too far out of Central London - i don't understand this, once you are on the tube, you are in Camden in 5 minutes which is Zone 2 - so don't let this put you off.
Don't hesitate to book - many hotels we have visited could learn a lot from this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HoppyKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1,269 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,025 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Hide London is a boutique hotel located in Hendon. Hence, if you want to go anywhere in Central London, you need to work out how to get there. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the Underground station.

It's a modern hotel, with attractive furnishings. It's clean and comfortable, and with several luxury touches, such as L'Occitaine toiletries.

They have a bar/ guest lounge, where they serve a complimentary continental breakfast.

The staff are pleasant and hospitable.

Within the vicinity, there are several modestly priced restaurants. The hotel does not serve dinner.

It's a nice place to stay.

The only reservation I had is that the room I stayed in was quite small, and with a very small bathroom. Hence, it's an unusual hotel: the decor, furnishings and service is of a high standard- personal and much like a B&B- but the size of the room is akin to a budget hotel/motel.

However, I must stress the standards of cleanliness and housekeeping are high!

You need to take into account the size of the rooms and the location of the hotel before you decide to stay here. If these are not a deal breaker, then I suspect you'll enjoy the positive aspects of the hotel. Certainly, it's a good option in its immediate area.

Room Tip: Consider the small size of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I did write e review on the hide on 14\12\2011 so i am not about to write again all the great things about the hotel(location\room size\friendly staff).
I returned to the Hide again with my wife for 3 nights on November 20212 and was amazed to find that the place is so well kept-the room and the bathroom spotless clean,the tea tray in the room and the refrigrator are loaded with plenty of good staff.Above all i would like to mention the great service you get (from the manager down to the last night clerk) they managed to give us the same room we stayed in last time, every thing you ask for is answerd immeditely with a smile and nothing is to hard (on our last day we had to leave the hotel at 07:15 neverthe less they insistead that we will have brekfast before although breakfast is seved from 07:30). I was also pleased to find that they got free entery for the hotel gusts to the Virgin gym that is 1 minute walk form the hotel.
I can just say that for me the Hide is THE PLACE to stay in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyes1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel perfectly meets the need of any traveller. Rooms are comfortable, well decorated and cared to the detail.

Friendly staff, and free internet access make the choice worth it. Breakfast will be more than enough to calm the appetite of the most demanding stomachs.

Everything at an affordable price.

Location may be at first, a concern. However, it is easy to get the hotel by tube. Hendon Central is only 2 min walk. Commuting for instance, to Leicester Square Station will take 25-30 min.

Definitely is the best option for those who do not want to waste money in expensive hotels in London, but want to have a good rest at the end of the day.

There is also a small Italian restaurant (L´Artista) which is also worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#90 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#65 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Premier Inn London Archway
#88 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hide London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hide London

Property: The Hide London
Address: 230 Hendon Way, London NW4 3NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in London
#56 Romantic Hotel in London
#97 Business Hotel in London
#134 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Hide London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hide London Hotel London
The Hide London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing