We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to take in the outlying sites”

British Tours - Day Tours from London
Ranked #29 of 711 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: British Tours Ltd. is Britain's longest-established personal tour operator established in 1958. If you are looking for personally guided day tours in and around London, extended tours of England, Scotland & Wales, and excellent tour guides, you have come to the right place.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have been to London each of the last 5 years for business and have brought my wife along as we extend the stay to enjoy some personal time. After taking in all the "easy to get to" points of interest on our own, we wanted to venture out for some day trips that are not easiy reached by train. A business acquaitance had used British Tours in 2012 and had a very good experience. We booked two different trips, one that included Oxford, the Cotswolds area, and a stop at Belnheim Palace. The other took us to Salsibury and Sonehenge.

Alistair was our guide and he hosted us to two terrrific days. HIs knowledge of British history was extremely informative and enjoyable. He helped us create the tour that made most sense to us. We did not have to be tied downto a preconceived set schedule. We had him for the set 9 or 10 hour tour, and saw what we wanted to see.

1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello David,

Thanks for your feedback. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your tours with us: private tours are the perfect way to get to those hidden locations that train and coach tours don't cover.

We are always happy to suggest the best itineraries that make sense for our clients, according to their interests and their schedule.

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for British Tours - Day Tours from London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 416 of 549 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

We took our three children (ages 17, 20, 22) to London for a week in June, 2013. Harri from British Tours was our guide. He was WONDERFUL. He had encyclopedic knowledge, an engaging personality and dry wit (that we all loved). He was able to adjust the tour to address all our particular interests. We've been home for several months and still talk of him and the tours he took us on frequently. We loved Harri--you will too! He was awesome and made the sites and history so accessible for all of us. We'd book another tour with Harri and British Tours with out hesitation.

Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritishTours, Manager at British Tours - Day Tours from London, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello Pam,

Thanks for the great review! We hope to welcome you again to London very soon.

Best regards,

The British Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I asked British Tours to create a private tour so that we could see Oxford and Bletchley Park in one day. Our guide, Nigel, was terrific. He is extremely knowledgeable, very articulate and a wonderful traveling companion. The day was everything we had hoped it would be.

3  Thank Arnold Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We allowed for a day of sightseeing from London before embaking on a cruise from Southampton, last summer and again just last month. We booked with British Tours for each visit, and were pleased both times to be picked up at our hotel lobby and driven through our private tours by a knowledgeable and personable guide. This year Keith guided us through Oxford and Blenheim (booked with Aline), and last year Nigel researched a requested stop between Chartwell and Leeds Castle for our customized tour (booked with Angela). The booking office staff were very accommodating and our tourguides were prompt, courteous and helpful. The guides are professional and mature, with varied and interesting backgrounds, and offer a thoughtful guided tour without the madness of a large group. We appreciate all the courtesies provided us and plan to continue booking with them when we again visit London and nearby sites. (Sharon and Ken W)

1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My mom and I were in London July 2013 for the first time and wanted a tour that would show us the highlights we wanted to see and have that personal touch. We got just that though British Tours. Our driver, Keith, was extremely knowledgeable and made the tour ver enjoyable. We would highly recommend it!

1  Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Tours - Day Tours from London also viewed

 

Been to British Tours - Day Tours from London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing